Kodi Community Forum
Python and MythTV (a MythTV Front-End) - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: Python and MythTV (a MythTV Front-End) (/showthread.php?tid=2349)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39


- smurf2 - 2005-02-04

lol i know that this is all running under xbmc a native app for xboxen

my question was ... has anyone gotten the xebian myth install working with the current cvs.if so how

as i want a fall back if the myth script isn't working


- sgtstadanko - 2005-02-05

hey i haven't run this in a long time and am having trouble getting the cvs xmbcmyth to work with the latest cvs of xbmc. i am using the .16 backend and when i run mythtv.py from script folder it never loads. here is the error in my xbmc.log file:

04-02-2005 20:49:03 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtv.py", line 1167, in ?
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info unittest.main()
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info file "q:\python\python23.zlib\unittest.py", line 714, in
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info attributeerror
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info :
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info 'module' object has no attribute 'argv'
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info
04-02-2005 20:55:04 info debug level set to 31


i have also tried loading mythtvmain.py but i just get the interface and the buttons all generate error messages. it looks like i am missing something simple. any help would be greatly appreciated.

cheers,
william


- madtw - 2005-02-05

(sgtstadanko @ feb. 04 2005,20:11 Wrote:hey i haven't run this in a long time and am having trouble getting the cvs xmbcmyth to work with the latest cvs of xbmc. i am using the .16 backend and when i run mythtv.py from script folder it never loads. here is the error in my xbmc.log file:

04-02-2005 20:49:03 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtv.py", line 1167, in ?
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info unittest.main()
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info file "q:\python\python23.zlib\unittest.py", line 714, in
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info attributeerror
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info :
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info 'module' object has no attribute 'argv'
04-02-2005 20:49:03 info
04-02-2005 20:55:04 info debug level set to 31


i have also tried loading mythtvmain.py but i just get the interface and the buttons all generate error messages. it looks like i am missing something simple. any help would be greatly appreciated.

cheers,
william
the mythtv.py script is a module containing myth tv protocol logic. it is not meant to be run standalone... if you get errors in there, then hopefully it is just with the unit test stuff as opposed to the objects being tested in the unit test.

the main starting point for the myth tv scripts in the latest cvs is mythtvmain.py. at the moment, only the "recorded shows", "status", and "settings" buttons work. the rest will just popup a dialog with a message. the reason for this is that these screens were recently rewritten to support skinning and language translations. the remaining screens have not been updated to use the new framework. they will be looked at over the next little while...


- madtw - 2005-02-06

(hpx @ jan. 17 2005,21:05 Wrote:two quick questions,

i don't use smb on my backend, but rather xns. is it possible to use xns rather than smb. i'm also getting prompted for the live prefix, however i haven't been able to find out what that means. what is it?

any help is appreciated.
i just removed the explicit dependencies on smb in the scripts in the latest cvs code. this means that if you specify a xns path prefix in the settings, you should also be able to playback shows. if anyone has xns or xbms setup and can verify it, let us know...

note: you still need some other protocol besides the myth protocol to playback shows (i.e. smb, xns, or xbms)


- sgtstadanko - 2005-02-06

ok.. ran the right one and got this error:

5-02-2005 17:24:24 info attributeerror: 'status' object has no attribute 'dom'
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info traceback (most recent call last):
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvmain.py", line 52, in oncontrol
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info mythtvrecordedshows.showwindow()
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvrecordedshows.py", line 54, in showwindow
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info win.loadshowlist()
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvrecordedshows.py", line 138, in loadshowlist
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info self.controls['free_space'].control.setlabel( \
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtv.py", line 970, in diskspacefree
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info return self.diskstatus()['space free']
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtv.py", line 955, in diskstatus
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info divnodes = self._machineinfodivelements()
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtv.py", line 1060, in _machineinfodivelements
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info node = self._getdivelementbyh2value( "machine information" )
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtv.py", line 991, in _getdivelementbyh2value
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info tmpnodes = self.dom.getelementsbytagname( "div" )
05-02-2005 17:24:32 info attributeerror: 'status' object has no attribute 'dom'


any ideas


- madtw - 2005-02-06

ok, it looks like there is something wrong with obtaining status from your myth backend. i added a try/except in the recorded shows screen so that if it fails getting the free disk space status, it will continue creating the window. also, i added code to initialize the "dom" member in the status class - i'm not sure why i never got this error on my version of xbmc. which version are you running? i'm running a 2005-01-15 build still because the newer ones seemed a bit unstable.

does the status screen fail for you entirely? i would expect it to if it failed to display the free disk space on the recorded shows screen...


- sgtstadanko - 2005-02-06

i rolled back my xbmc version to 1.1.0 . i grabbed the new code from cvs ...status screen fails completely with this error now:
expaterror: not well-formed (invalid token): line 17, column 51
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info traceback (most recent call last):
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvmain.py", line 52, in oncontrol
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info mythtvrecordedshows.showwindow()
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvrecordedshows.py", line 54, in showwindow
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info win.loadshowlist()
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvrecordedshows.py", line 138, in loadshowlist
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info self.controls['free_space'].control.setlabel( \
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtv.py", line 1023, in diskspacefree
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info return self.diskstatus()['space free']
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtv.py", line 1008, in diskstatus
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info divnodes = self._machineinfodivelements()
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtv.py", line 1113, in _machineinfodivelements
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info node = self._getdivelementbyh2value( "machine information" )
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtv.py", line 1044, in _getdivelementbyh2value
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info tmpnodes = self.dom.getelementsbytagname( "div" )
05-02-2005 20:20:38 info attributeerror: 'status' object has no attribute 'dom'


- madtw - 2005-02-06

ok, can you connect to the status port on your mythbackend using a browser, save the generated html to a file and send it to me? i'm guessing the html that is being generated is missing some end tags that the xml parser is expecting to find... hence the expaterror error being reported.


- sgtstadanko - 2005-02-06

thanks,i pm'ed it to you


- Levia - 2005-02-08

are there any website for this? i tried to install it on my xbox (from cvs) but had no luck. could not find out what script to actually start.

if no website, can someone give me the 101 to start experimenting with this?

christian...


- madtw - 2005-02-08

(levia @ feb. 07 2005,15:36 Wrote:are there any website for this? i tried to install it on my xbox (from cvs) but had no luck. could not find out what script to actually start.

if no website, can someone give me the 101 to start experimenting with this?

christian...
the installation instructions are a little out of date in cvs. here are some quick installation instructions:

1. upload the entire contents of the xbmcmythtv directory to your xbmc/scripts directory on your xbox.
2. run the mythtvmain.py script and go into the settings screen to specify your connection details and paths.
3. on the settings screen, make sure that the connections test successfully then save your settings.
4. you should now be able to use the rest of the buttons on the main menu displayed by mythtvmain.py.

optional installation includes adding a shortcut to the main xbmc menu:

1. add a new button entry into your xboxmediacenter.xml file that executes q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvmain.py
2. update the xbmc/skin/project mayhem/pal/home.xml (or equivalent for your skin) to increase numbuttons by 1.
3. reboot xbox to show the skin change.


- Levia - 2005-02-08

ok. got it working. the "recorded shows" part that is.

the other just does not do anything.

christian...


- sgtstadanko - 2005-02-08

recorded shows, status and settings are all that is working now (i think)...


- EuphoricaL - 2005-02-08

hi,
i'm not going to get the chance to update the upcoming shows interface for the new skinned layout. so if anyone wants to do it, go for it, it will require a complete rewrite of the whole interface from scratch. i'm not sure if rubenonrye will get round to doing a complete rewrite of the livetv interface.
so if anyone wants these features then checkout a old version from the cvs.

cheers


- madtw - 2005-02-09

(euphorical @ feb. 08 2005,02:32 Wrote:hi,
i'm not going to get the chance to update the upcoming shows interface for the new skinned layout. so if anyone wants to do it, go for it, it will require a complete rewrite of the whole interface from scratch. i'm not sure if rubenonrye will get round to doing a complete rewrite of the livetv interface.
so if anyone wants these features then checkout a old version from the cvs.

cheers
rubenonrye has already rewritten the live tv interface. i have been able to test it on my setup whereas the old scripts caused my box to lock up.

if no one else picks up the upcoming shows screens, i may take a look at it in a few days.