Kodi Community Forum
Release Kanzi: Amazon Alexa skill for Kodi - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Supplementary Tools for Kodi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=116)
+--- Thread: Release Kanzi: Amazon Alexa skill for Kodi (/showthread.php?tid=254502)



RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - jaysmith2 - 2017-06-16

Would it help narrow the issue down if someone else tried to deploy a package into my AWS account(for test purposes only)? That may help determine if the problem is in the way it is being deployed, or if the problem is in the AWS environment. Would that help?


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - jingai - 2017-06-16

I broke down and set this up with aws just to see what's going on for you guys.

I ended up running into the same problem (Alexa would not connect to the skill and there's no real indication as to why), and it turned out I had forgotten to change the SSL Certificate settings. Specifically, you need to tick the box that says My development endpoint is a sub-domain of a domain that has a wildcard certificate from a certificate authority.

This is indicated in the README toward the end of the Skill Setup Section. Hopefully this does the trick for you guys.. if not, at least know that it does work if you follow the README exactly Smile


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - jaysmith2 - 2017-06-16

Hi Jingai - Thanks for the suggestion- But, I just checked and confirmed that it is checked off on my end.


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - jingai - 2017-06-16

Try this (while in your virtual environment):

Code:
pip install packaging
zappa update dev

I'm pretty sure the dependency should have been resolved by another, but I did notice I needed it on my own deployment.


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - jaysmith2 - 2017-06-16

Hi Jingai - Hey - that fixed it!! Do I need to add that for any new deployments in the future?

When using the skill, about half the time, Alexa responds with "I cannot resolve the hostname for the requested skill" - the other times, it works fine. Do you know what may cause that?

Thanks for all of your continuing help!


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - jingai - 2017-06-16

(2017-06-16, 21:59)jaysmith2 Wrote: Hi Jingai - Hey - that fixed it!! Do I need to add that for any new deployments in the future?

No, unless you re-install from scratch. Something else should have required it (flask probably) and didn't seem to have done that. But I can add it to the README as a precaution.

In the future, we'd have figured this out in a lot less time if you hadn't trimmed the logs -- there should have been a Traceback showing the problem before the snippet that you posted Smile

(2017-06-16, 21:59)jaysmith2 Wrote: When using the skill, about half the time, Alexa responds with "I cannot resolve the hostname for the requested skill" - the other times, it works fine. Do you know what may cause that?

It could be just DNS still propagating. I'd just wait a few hours and see if it goes away.


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - darkmadda - 2017-06-16

Jingai, it worked.

Code:
pip install packaging
zappa update dev

That is exactly what my build needed. Is that in the readme and i missed it? If not we should really add that.


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - jingai - 2017-06-16

@darkmadda, already made a PR to add it.


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - m0ngr31 - 2017-06-16

Thanks jingai for finding that fix! The docs are updated for that as of now.


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - jaysmith2 - 2017-06-16

Thanks so much to all - I really appreciate everyone's efforts to get this resolved!!

This skill rocks!


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - digiltd - 2017-06-17

Cool glad it's sorted. I did a 'pip list' in both the venv and the system python and it wasn't listed, but still deploys fine. But computers are rarely consistent Smile


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - jingai - 2017-06-17

From a tiny bit of digging, it's got something to do with a particular version of setuptools. It'll probably be a non-problem on its own shortly, but it won't hurt anything to instruct people to manually install it for now.


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - bill_orange - 2017-06-17

Are there are changes to the 2.6.4 / 2.6.5 code that could result in more frequent "the requested skill took too long to respond' replies?

The problem could be changes to the nightly builds of Kodi 18. "Alexa, ask Kodi media to shuffle classical" worked before, now on 6 out of 7 tries I get the familiar "the requested ...... "

The problem is likely on the likely the Kodi end but I thought I would ask.


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - jingai - 2017-06-17

There are changes in 2.6.5 that would reduce it. Shuffle commands are particularly expensive because calls to Playlist.Add are slow in Kodi, but it shouldn't be the fault of the skill itself.

Kodi 18 may be slower or faster -- I don't know. edit: it also depends on the size of the playlist. Did you recently add more items to it?

I'd need to see logs if you think there's a problem in the skill.


RE: Amazon Echo skill for Kodi - bill_orange - 2017-06-17

I am thinking this is a Kodi problem rather than a skill problem. I may go back to version 17. Another more expensive but less time consuming alternative would be to switch to a solid state drive for my 100+gig music library.


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.