Kodi Community Forum
WeTek Play2 - 4K PVR - HD Audio - Dual Boot - Specs & Reviews - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Hardware (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
--- Thread: WeTek Play2 - 4K PVR - HD Audio - Dual Boot - Specs & Reviews (/showthread.php?tid=263373)



RE: WeTek's - AMLogic Mediaplayer Invasion - CabSat 2016 - Dubai - looun - 2016-03-09

(2016-03-09, 12:26)droidelec Wrote: looun, belive me device is so snappy and responsive Smile

good ... so.. i am very curious to compared with himedia Q5/Q10 Pro and other device, when will release in EU( italy) ?


RE: WeTek's - AMLogic Mediaplayer Invasion - CabSat 2016 - Dubai - Ned Scott - 2016-03-09

(2016-03-09, 12:21)looun Wrote: i'm NOT quote..
Which is the difference of price for manufacture from 1GB or 2GB of RAM? 3-5 $? .. less
1GB it's good for linux/openelec system
Android NEED 2GB of RAM... no way

I have no idea how much the cost difference is, but no, you are wrong, Android does not need 2GB of RAM. Even Windows 10 running Kodi does not need 2GB of RAM. I use 1GB Android boxes daily. My current bedroom system is a Google Nexus Player, and it doesn't have a single issue running Kodi. Heck, it doesn't even have an issue playing most games from the Google Play store that are Android TV enabled (GTA: SA plays pretty nice on it).


RE: WeTek's - AMLogic Mediaplayer Invasion - CabSat 2016 - Dubai - loladas - 2016-03-09

Its AMLogic S905-H

http://kodiportugal.pt/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/fabc5541d9f3d7045e7446308dbce1e9.jpg

Posted on http://kodiportugal.pt/novidades-wetek-na-cabsat-2016-dubai/


RE: WeTek's - AMLogic Mediaplayer Invasion - CabSat 2016 - Dubai - looun - 2016-03-09

(2016-03-09, 12:37)Ned Scott Wrote:
(2016-03-09, 12:21)looun Wrote: i'm NOT quote..
Which is the difference of price for manufacture from 1GB or 2GB of RAM? 3-5 $? .. less
1GB it's good for linux/openelec system
Android NEED 2GB of RAM... no way

I have no idea how much the cost difference is, but no, you are wrong, Android does not need 2GB of RAM. Even Windows 10 running Kodi does not need 2GB of RAM. I use 1GB Android boxes daily. My current bedroom system is a Google Nexus Player, and it doesn't have a single issue running Kodi. Heck, it doesn't even have an issue playing most games from the Google Play store that are Android TV enabled (GTA: SA plays pretty nice on it).
for my little experience on startup Android (system,launcher ecc.) it's always occupied 600-700mb it's very close to limit of 1GB of ram. May be i am be in wrong , some device can be better optimized.


RE: WeTek's - AMLogic Mediaplayer Invasion - CabSat 2016 - Dubai - anthonytex - 2016-03-09

(2016-03-09, 13:09)loladas Wrote: Its AMLogic S905-H

http://kodiportugal.pt/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/fabc5541d9f3d7045e7446308dbce1e9.jpg

Posted on http://kodiportugal.pt/novidades-wetek-na-cabsat-2016-dubai/
Nice!! Thank you!Smile


RE: WeTek's - AMLogic Mediaplayer Invasion - CabSat 2016 - Dubai - jteeuw - 2016-03-09

Wil there be Netflix audio 5.1 or does these boxes have the same Netflix restriction ?


RE: WeTek's - AMLogic Mediaplayer Invasion - CabSat 2016 - Dubai - wrxtasy - 2016-03-09

(2016-03-09, 10:00)anthonytex Wrote: So if the revision C of Amlogic s905 is confirmed for wetek play 2 what about wetek hub? are there more information? Because i'm oriented with that device Smile thank you Smile
Just enquired about that as well and 100% confirmed its a S905-H Revision C in the Hub.


RE: WeTek's - AMLogic Mediaplayer Invasion - CabSat 2016 - Dubai - anthonytex - 2016-03-09

(2016-03-09, 13:18)wrxtasy Wrote:
(2016-03-09, 10:00)anthonytex Wrote: So if the revision C of Amlogic s905 is confirmed for wetek play 2 what about wetek hub? are there more information? Because i'm oriented with that device Smile thank you Smile
Just enquired about that as well and 100% confirmed its a S905-H Revision C in the Hub.
Thank you very much this is a wonderful news!Smile


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - CabSat - Dubai - wasguy - 2016-03-09

When are these boxes coming out?


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - CabSat - Dubai - pyrodex - 2016-03-09

Love the new announcement and I think I will be able to finally ditch my custom built AMD A6-3500 APU OpenELEC box with this platform.

Here are my needs:

Passthrough HD audio 5.1 at least
MPEG2 TV (Mythtv backend with HDHR Primes)
Decent Network speeds since all my media is on a NAS
4K Proof (not there yet but looking to invest in late 2016)

I do have a few questions since I read the other WETEK split thread and maybe someone can help answer them here:

1) I saw the dual boot option mentioned but what is the value add for that? Would it be better to just live in the Android space purely to get the full media experience and use kodi out of that place?
2) Do you think there will be an upgrade to Marshmallow in the future here before the release?
3) I saw mention in the WETEK split thread of some Video sync issues potentially but will that not be the case here and what is the likely hood in this newer SoC chipset or release?

Thanks!


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - CabSat - Dubai - anthonytex - 2016-03-09

http://wetek.com/blog/view/53/news-from-cabsat-2016-dubai#
So here revision C is disappeared for wetek hub and also wetek streamer 4K without "H" in the processor name... A bit ConfusingWink


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - CabSat - Dubai - JoBcn - 2016-03-09

(2016-03-08, 19:41)nsomlai Wrote: Does anyone have the spec comparison table in this article in better quality?

http://kodiportugal.pt/novidades-wetek-na-cabsat-2016-dubai/

https://issuu.com/wetek/docs/leaflet_online6?e=23926481/34014092

Here u have the brochure with the new products and comparison table


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - CabSat - Dubai - hdmkv - 2016-03-09

Just made this hopefully handy & legible version of that comparison table so you don't have to go there, page next, zoom, etc.


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - CabSat - Dubai - Roby77 - 2016-03-09

Extra 1gb of memory between play2 / play2s gives 265 in 10p profile...strange

What about video quality vs open elec Intel egl version ?

Does play2s support ir6 mce remote ?


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - CabSat - Dubai - nsomlai - 2016-03-09

I honestly don't see the target market for the Core after the Hub is released. Less features for twice the price? Am I missing something?


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.