Kodi Community Forum
WeTek Play2 - 4K PVR - HD Audio - Dual Boot - Specs & Reviews - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Hardware (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
--- Thread: WeTek Play2 - 4K PVR - HD Audio - Dual Boot - Specs & Reviews (/showthread.php?tid=263373)



RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - Ned Scott - 2016-08-20

I don't know if S912 is true. Last I heard it was still S905, but I'm only a support guy, so I might not have the latest info.


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - noggin - 2016-08-21

(2016-08-20, 17:05)Ned Scott Wrote: IIRC, Play2S will have an internal SATA connection, dual internal tuner options, and some kind of slot that is used over in Europe for satellite. Also, a really nice remote with keyboard.

Ned - when you say 'dual internal tuner' - do you mean two tuner module slots - allowing you to fit 2 x DVB-T/T2/C or 2xDVB-S2 modules or 2 x ATSC modules (or possibly a combination of the three)?

AIUI the DVB-S2 tuner in the Play and Play 2 is a dual-tuner module (the ATSC and DVB-T/T2/C modules are single tuners I think - though the latter is a single combo), so this would effectively let you fit 4 x DVB-S2 tuners in a single box? (This is assuming the Play and Play 2 share a common tuner module design?)


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - Tó Madeira - 2016-08-21

(2016-08-21, 01:33)noggin Wrote:
(2016-08-20, 17:05)Ned Scott Wrote: IIRC, Play2S will have an internal SATA connection, dual internal tuner options, and some kind of slot that is used over in Europe for satellite. Also, a really nice remote with keyboard.

Ned - when you say 'dual internal tuner' - do you mean two tuner module slots - allowing you to fit 2 x DVB-T/T2/C or 2xDVB-S2 modules or 2 x ATSC modules (or possibly a combination of the three)?

AIUI the DVB-S2 tuner in the Play and Play 2 is a dual-tuner module (the ATSC and DVB-T/T2/C modules are single tuners I think - though the latter is a single combo), so this would effectively let you fit 4 x DVB-S2 tuners in a single box? (This is assuming the Play and Play 2 share a common tuner module design?)
I have already read at their forum, that tuner are not compatible.

Play tuners will not work at Play2 and vice versa.


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - komplex - 2016-08-21

@noggin http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=263373&pid=2395594#pid2395594 is this what you're after


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - arrbee99 - 2016-08-21

Does anyone know if Play 2 will happily collect OTA TV guide info via DVB-S, especially in New Zealand ?


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - Sheppard - 2016-08-21

Humm

I had the wrong idea

I thought the play tuners has some kind of compatibility with play 2


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - arrbee99 - 2016-08-21

(2016-08-21, 02:55)Sheppard Wrote: Humm

I had the wrong idea

I thought the play tuners has some kind of compatibility with play 2

Nope, that would be way too convenient.


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - arrbee99 - 2016-08-21

(2016-08-20, 13:04)Ned Scott Wrote: HD Amazon Prime video is actually possible using the Chrome browser. Use "request desktop site" and just go to the normal Amazon Prime website. I think it's using software decoding because it stutters sometimes on the Hub. Might be able to coax better performance on it with another browser, because Chrome was acting really buggy for me for any site. It was slow just to load the page.

EDIT: might not be 1080. Looks like maybe 720. Better than the tablet app, but not 1080.

I guess that Amazon Video app https://www.amazon.co.uk/Amazon-com-Amazon-Video/dp/B00N28818A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1471747913&sr=8-1&keywords=amazon+video+app wouldn't work, or it would need a touch screen ?


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - Ned Scott - 2016-08-21

The tablet version works, but it is in SD. It's pretty fuzzy. 480 or lower, I would guess


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - arrbee99 - 2016-08-21

Oh well, so much for that brilliant idea....


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - Ned Scott - 2016-08-21

Well, the good news is that there is a proof of concept Kodi add-on for Kodi v17 that does 720P Amazon Prime video ;)

https://www.reddit.com/r/kodi/comments/4hz6qj/kodi_17_on_a_raspberry_pi_with_support_of_amazon/

In theory it should be possible to get it to even do 1080, since Chrome on ARM can do 1080. Maybe.


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - wrxtasy - 2016-08-21

(2016-08-21, 02:41)arrbee99 Wrote: Does anyone know if Play 2 will happily collect OTA TV guide info via DVB-S, especially in New Zealand ?
If you currently receive EIT programme data via normal DVB-T / Terrestrial TV then you will also receive the same for DVB-S in NZed. The TvHeadend backend server can use this seamlessly for a full 7 day EPG.

More details see Freeview here:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freeview_(New_Zealand)

I use the TvHeadend server software in Oz this way for 7 day EPG data. Works really well. Smile


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - noggin - 2016-08-21

(2016-08-21, 02:30)komplex Wrote: @noggin http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=263373&pid=2395594#pid2395594 is this what you're after

So there are now three different arrangements across the Play / Play 2 / Play 2S line :

Play has 2 x DVB-S/S2 or 1 x DVB-T/T2/C combo (or 1xATSC)
Play 2 has 1 x DVB-S/S2 or 1 x DVB-T/T2/C combo. (And unlike the Play doesn't have 2 x DVB-S/S2 on a single module)
Play 2S as 2 x DVB-S/S2 or 2 x DVB-T/T2/C combo. (But no option for 1 x DVB-S/S2 and 1 x DVB-T/T2/C as the tuners are dual-tuners on a single module, with just one module slot)

So this mean either three different tuner modules across the line-up (though I guess the Play and Play 2S could share a DVB-S/S2 design as both have 2 x DVB-S/S2) or integrated tuners? I'd hoped the Play 2 would offer the same DVB-S/S2 functionality as the Play - but it appears that it is reduced. I'd also hoped that the Play 2S would offer improved DVB-S/S2 functionality over the original Play, but it appears they are the same.


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - arrbee99 - 2016-08-21

(2016-08-21, 09:01)Ned Scott Wrote: Well, the good news is that there is a proof of concept Kodi add-on for Kodi v17 that does 720P Amazon Prime video Wink

https://www.reddit.com/r/kodi/comments/4hz6qj/kodi_17_on_a_raspberry_pi_with_support_of_amazon/

In theory it should be possible to get it to even do 1080, since Chrome on ARM can do 1080. Maybe.

That looks very clever. Hope is a success.


RE: WeTek's ** New ** AMLogic Mediaplayers - 2016 - Play2 - Streamer - HUB - arrbee99 - 2016-08-21

(2016-08-21, 09:43)wrxtasy Wrote:
(2016-08-21, 02:41)arrbee99 Wrote: Does anyone know if Play 2 will happily collect OTA TV guide info via DVB-S, especially in New Zealand ?
If you currently receive EIT programme data via normal DVB-T / Terrestrial TV then you will also receive the same for DVB-S in NZed. The TvHeadend backend server can use this seamlessly for a full 7 day EPG.

More details see Freeview here:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freeview_(New_Zealand)

I use the TvHeadend server software in Oz this way for 7 day EPG data. Works really well. Smile

The normal TV DVB-S box picks it up and the DVB-S card in the main PC does as well for 7 days. Shows up well in Emby.. Thanks, its good to know it shouldn't be a problem with the Play 2.


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.