Kodi Community Forum
Beta Spotify for Kodi - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Music Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=148)
---- Thread: Beta Spotify for Kodi (/showthread.php?tid=265356)



RE: Spotify for Kodi - marcelveldt - 2017-01-07

(2017-01-07, 00:23)htpcero Wrote: Is there a way to prevent this addon from caching?

Or to limit the cache size to a very small value? Used with default settings I'm seeing close ~350MB of use (and I use it rarely), of content that I don't need cached. For a small RPi running off of an SDCard this is not needed.

Also is the cache (.kodi/userdata/addon_data/plugin.audio.spotify/libspotify/cache/Storage)
safe to delete without breaking the addon? (it would be nice to have UI for this)

Caching is required by Spotify and maintained by libspotify itself.
No worries, it won't drain your disk, it's only a limited amount of space taken.

You can safely delete the cache files but that's kind of useless.


RE: Spotify for Kodi - htpcero - 2017-01-07

(2017-01-07, 02:20)marcelveldt Wrote:
(2017-01-07, 00:23)htpcero Wrote: Is there a way to prevent this addon from caching?

Or to limit the cache size to a very small value? Used with default settings I'm seeing close ~350MB of use (and I use it rarely), of content that I don't need cached. For a small RPi running off of an SDCard this is not needed.

Also is the cache (.kodi/userdata/addon_data/plugin.audio.spotify/libspotify/cache/Storage)
safe to delete without breaking the addon? (it would be nice to have UI for this)

Caching is required by Spotify and maintained by libspotify itself.
No worries, it won't drain your disk, it's only a limited amount of space taken.

You can safely delete the cache files but that's kind of useless.

Thanks - fair enough. Reason I wanted to get rid of the cache content is that I backup the .kodi folder every once in a while, and it became giant.


RE: Spotify for Kodi - sal.p60 - 2017-01-07

Hi,
Thanks a lot the plugin is working almost ok for me.Only one problem at the moment.
When I browse my music by artist i get albums that are not in my Library (I think i get a list of all albums for this artist).
If I browse by albums everything is ok, I get only the albums in my library.


RE: Spotify for Kodi - MrInternetJunkie - 2017-01-07

Such an awesome Addon.
Thank you very much for all your efforts marcelveldt. Big Grin

This Addon runs great on my Windows PC's but I would really like to get it running on my Android TV's.
I get the unfortunate "Platform not supported for playback, continuing without playback support.."
And then it just plays random 30s of each song buth otherwise works great.

These are pretty ordinary armeabi-v7a devices so it should be supported by libspotify or have I gotten that wrong?

Thanks!


RE: Spotify for Kodi - MrInternetJunkie - 2017-01-07

(2017-01-07, 11:20)MrInternetJunkie Wrote: Such an awesome Addon.
Thank you very much for all your efforts marcelveldt. Big Grin

This Addon runs great on my Windows PC's but I would really like to get it running on my Android TV's.
I get the unfortunate "Platform not supported for playback, continuing without playback support.."
And then it just plays random 30s of each song buth otherwise works great.

These are pretty ordinary armeabi-v7a devices so it should be supported by libspotify or have I gotten that wrong?

Thanks!

Sorry... I realize that this is probably because I'm using Krypton RC2.

Get this in the logs
Code:
7:42:28.326 T:18446744071872458368  NOTICE: Spotify --> Your platform (armv7 System.Platform.Android)
17:42:28.820 T:18446744071987841408   DEBUG: Spotify --> waiting for service...
17:42:29.228 T:18446744071872458368  NOTICE: Spotify --> Starting background service...
17:42:29.256 T:18446744071872458368  NOTICE: Spotify --> TRACE:   File "/storage/emulated/0/Android/data/org.xbmc.kodi/files/.kodi/addons/plugin.audio.spotify/spotifyservice.py", line 9, in <module>
                                                service.main()
                                              File "/storage/emulated/0/Android/data/org.xbmc.kodi/files/.kodi/addons/plugin.audio.spotify/resources/playbackservice.py", line 285, in main
                                                logMsg("TRACE: " + ( ''.join(traceback.format_stack()) ) )
17:42:29.257 T:18446744071872458368  NOTICE: Spotify --> EXCEPTION in background service: Unable to find 'libspotify'
17:42:29.266 T:18446744071872458368   ERROR: Exception
17:42:29.266 T:18446744071872458368   ERROR: OSError
17:42:29.266 T:18446744071872458368   ERROR: :
17:42:29.266 T:18446744071872458368   ERROR: OSError("Unable to find 'libspotify'",)
17:42:29.267 T:18446744071872458368   ERROR:  in
17:42:29.267 T:18446744071872458368   ERROR: <bound method ?.? of <spotify.session.Session instance at 0x90e11c78>>
17:42:29.267 T:18446744071872458368   ERROR:  ignored
17:42:29.269 T:18446744071872458368  NOTICE: Spotify --> Background service stopped
17:42:29.270 T:18446744071872458368    INFO: CPythonInvoker(23, /storage/emulated/0/Android/data/org.xbmc.kodi/files/.kodi/addons/plugin.audio.spotify/spotifyservice.py): script successfully run
17:42:29.539 T:18446744071872458368    INFO: Python script stopped

I however run Krypton on my Windows PC's too.
And there it works.
So I assume it's the combination of Android and Krypton that causes this.

If anyone can confirm this it would be appreciated.
Cheers!


RE: Spotify for Kodi - Jönke - 2017-01-07

(2016-12-18, 22:24)spacebug2 Wrote: Jönke you are right! I have the same experience with S905 SoC (running on Libreelec), so the songs plays for 30 seconds only.
marcelveldt: Could you please change the platform detection part? Seems it's not a big issue to add the same behavior (identical with S802) for S905...
Thank you very much for your kind support!

@kszaq has made it possible now to run Spotify addon on s905 in latest build
https://forum.libreelec.tv/thread-3588.html


RE: Spotify for Kodi - dumtratt - 2017-01-10

Hello and thank you for your awesome work, all the time and effort you've put in to the plugin and the support on here. Thanks again

I might be daft.. I have an RPi3 with OpenElec and kodi Jarvis 16.1 working great. I followed your instructions for installation, and I can choose to install the plugin from the repository, but when I press install nothing happens. I read through this entire thread and found a zip-file with an old version (1.0.22 I think) I installed that and now it shows as an add-on in my music part of kodi, but I can't enter the app due to authentification issue. I have authenticated on Windows and copied the folder to Rpi3, but the versions of the plugin don't match obviously.

Was there a problem with your repo last night? Hard to get a log methinks, since the press of the install button (when trying to install from repository) only exited the menu.

The issue with daftness still may be applicable...
Thanks again


RE: Spotify for Kodi - Quisa - 2017-01-11

Hey all,

Awesome to see so much content on this add-on and to see the dedication of @marcelveldt.

I have a question considering the log in with Facebook: what is the current status? I have read posts of @sagrath who I think had exactly the same problem, but I can't find if the installation of a web browser was the solution in the end...

I run Kodi Jarvis on a Raspberry Pi 3b with OpenElec and I have a premium Spotify account linked with my Facebook account (why I ever did that... -_- )
Hope to hearing from you! Smile


RE: Spotify for Kodi - MrInternetJunkie - 2017-01-11

Can anyone please confirm if they have this addon running on Android and Krypton?

Thanks!


RE: Spotify for Kodi - marcelveldt - 2017-01-12

Hi all, I've been busy lately with some other stuff but later this week I'll reply to all questions/reports here. Thanks for the patience!


RE: Spotify for Kodi - coleteo - 2017-01-12

This Spotify addon is working well for me in Kodi but is there a way to get lyrics on the screen while playing music? I can see lyrics from CU LRC lyrics when I play music from my own library but I'd love to be able to see them when listening from Spotify too.


RE: Spotify for Kodi - Wanilton - 2017-01-12

@coleteo, here work ok with local files or streaming audio via spotify and with others audio addons too.

Image


RE: Spotify for Kodi - horstepipe - 2017-01-12

after copying the userdata from a Kodi installation with browser to Raspberry Pi/libreelec, can I change the Spotify password or will it force a recreation of the token?
You mentioned that the tokens are being refreshed from time to time, so in Raspberry Pi/Libreelec the addon will only work for a limited time, then I need to replace the files again, manually? Or does this refresh process work without a browser?

Best regards


RE: Spotify for Kodi - rollcry - 2017-01-12

Hello is there a chance to use a parameter for adjusting the audio quality like in spotimc:
class StreamQuality:
Low = 0
Medium = 1
High = 2


RE: Spotify for Kodi - rollcry - 2017-01-12

Hello is there a chance to use a parameter for adjusting the audio quality like in spotimc:
Quote:class StreamQuality:
Low = 0
Medium = 1
High = 2
within the setting with:
Quote:<setting value="2" id="audio_quality"/>