Kodi Community Forum
Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Hardware (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
--- Thread: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware (/showthread.php?tid=294312)



RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - tzouvar - 2016-12-18

(2016-12-18, 12:10)piotrasd Wrote:
(2016-12-14, 18:39)tzouvar Wrote: Hi I am about to order the new beebox 7100. Is it ok to use it as an htpc? Does is it capable to stream 4k videos and h.265 ?what about hd passthrough? I want to use it with openelec setup.
thank you

HD passthrough workin only with DVI or native HDMI/DP without conversion chip like using moste mainboard/boxes to get HDMI 2.0 working
about 4K, H.265 from yesterday HW decoding working in LibreELEC Smile

thank you!


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - raidflex - 2016-12-19

Has the Gigabyte Brix been released yet? Do not see them for sale but they were announced 2 months ago.


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - jaydee99 - 2016-12-19

(2016-12-19, 16:40)raidflex Wrote: Has the Gigabyte Brix been released yet? Do not see them for sale but they were announced 2 months ago.

Yup, i have one running since 2 weeks Wink


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - raidflex - 2016-12-19

(2016-12-19, 17:48)jaydee99 Wrote:
(2016-12-19, 16:40)raidflex Wrote: Has the Gigabyte Brix been released yet? Do not see them for sale but they were announced 2 months ago.

Yup, i have one running since 2 weeks Wink

Ah found them on Newegg, was originally checking amazon which does not seem to have them yet.


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - raidflex - 2016-12-20

Anyone attempt to output both 4k and 1080p? I have an older Pioneer AVR that is only 1080p. In order to get loseless audio I need to output the sound to the AVR and the 4k signal to my Samsung JS8500. Also do these boxes support 4k 60Hz 4:2:2?


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - Dr.Feelgood - 2016-12-20

(2016-12-20, 17:01)raidflex Wrote: Anyone attempt to output both 4k and 1080p? I have an older Pioneer AVR that is only 1080p. In order to get loseless audio I need to output the sound to the AVR and the 4k signal to my Samsung JS8500. Also do these boxes support 4k 60Hz 4:2:2?
It works for me with the Apollo Lake so it should work fine with Kaby Lake also. I have same config as you, Pioneer receiver connected via DVI->HDMI and the HDMI direct to my Samsung 4K TV.


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - raidflex - 2016-12-20

(2016-12-20, 17:52)Dr.Feelgood Wrote:
(2016-12-20, 17:01)raidflex Wrote: Anyone attempt to output both 4k and 1080p? I have an older Pioneer AVR that is only 1080p. In order to get loseless audio I need to output the sound to the AVR and the 4k signal to my Samsung JS8500. Also do these boxes support 4k 60Hz 4:2:2?
It works for me with the Apollo Lake so it should work fine with Kaby Lake also. I have same config as you, Pioneer receiver connected via DVI->HDMI and the HDMI direct to my Samsung 4K TV.

Nice, didn't think it was possible with Apollo Lake also, that is even better. So the DVI connection actually passes audio also? I didn't think that was possible. Which Apollo Lake system do you have?


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - Dr.Feelgood - 2016-12-20

(2016-12-20, 19:32)raidflex Wrote:
(2016-12-20, 17:52)Dr.Feelgood Wrote:
(2016-12-20, 17:01)raidflex Wrote: Anyone attempt to output both 4k and 1080p? I have an older Pioneer AVR that is only 1080p. In order to get loseless audio I need to output the sound to the AVR and the 4k signal to my Samsung JS8500. Also do these boxes support 4k 60Hz 4:2:2?
It works for me with the Apollo Lake so it should work fine with Kaby Lake also. I have same config as you, Pioneer receiver connected via DVI->HDMI and the HDMI direct to my Samsung 4K TV.

Nice, didn't think it was possible with Apollo Lake also, that is even better. So the DVI connection actually passes audio also? I didn't think that was possible. Which Apollo Lake system do you have?

I use Asrock J4205-ITX , i believe all Apollo Lake have the same hardware configuration, might be that it's same on Kaby also.


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - tzouvar - 2016-12-21

My new Beebox-s (7100u) is already here!! BUT I failed to start openelec or libreelec to it. Always get a massage about xorg server and after that “is your gpu supported”. I am using generic build. Any ideasHuh??
Thank you!


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - fritsch - 2016-12-21

Use Milhouse build of OE 8 ... everything else is too old


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - movie78 - 2016-12-26

Intel Nucs added


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - movie78 - 2016-12-28

Quote:@Caramba69
It will be interesting to see if the 3D version works on this device as the NUC6CAYH has one HDMI 2.0 port only. With the Beebox 7100s the 3D movies work with the second HDMI 1.4 port only.

I have decided to go with the Asrock Beebox Kaby lake since this is the only Kaby Lake device that has 2 HDMI port (1.4 & 2.0), will received it tomorrow and do some testing with @afedchin MVC build and also test playback with 4k (HDR)

Image


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - zbigzbig20 - 2016-12-28

@movie78, maybe you have dvb-s2 usb tuner? Maybe you can test it with le ? I wonder how it works with tvheadend


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - movie78 - 2016-12-29

(2016-12-28, 22:10)zbigzbig20 Wrote: @movie78, maybe you have dvb-s2 usb tuner? Maybe you can test it with le ? I wonder how it works with tvheadend

Sorry, I only used Kodi for my movies, Wife likes her OnDemand on cable.


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - P.Kosunen - 2016-12-29

(2016-12-26, 22:43)movie78 Wrote: Intel Nucs added

No ir receivers this year?

(Just installing Gentoo to my new Beebox 7100...)


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.