Kodi Community Forum
Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Hardware (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
--- Thread: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware (/showthread.php?tid=294312)



RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - movie78 - 2017-04-04

ATMOS and DTS:X works in Kodi without any Addon needed, check your setting if ATMOS and DTS:X is not working.


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - p750mmx - 2017-04-04

(2017-04-04, 14:41)movie78 Wrote: ATMOS and DTS:X works in Kodi without any Addon needed, check your setting if ATMOS and DTS:X is not working.
Well, what could be a internal Kodi audio setting that plays DTS-X and all the other HD-audio formats just fine but not Atmos?


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - movie78 - 2017-04-04

(2017-04-04, 15:59)p750mmx Wrote:
(2017-04-04, 14:41)movie78 Wrote: ATMOS and DTS:X works in Kodi without any Addon needed, check your setting if ATMOS and DTS:X is not working.
Well, what could be a internal Kodi audio setting that plays DTS-X and all the other HD-audio formats just fine but not Atmos?

Are you saying that ATMOS is not working for you in Kodi?


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - meeotch - 2017-04-04

Thanks for the replies. Some quick responses: @quacked - I think the Intel NUC i5/i7's have slightly upgraded graphics, but I don't see a reason to buy anything beefier than the i3. @deaerator - yes, the IR port seems like a plus. The Intel NUCs also have IR (CIR) ports, but don't come with a remote.

Does anybody know how easy it is to get either the Beebox or Intel IR ports working with an arbitrary remote? I'd like to use the existing remote that came with my t.v. if possible. (Would rather not have to buy a second remote, even if it replaces the one I already have.) I'm pretty sure I read that Kodi has a remote keymapping feature, but I don't know if it works with any old remote. And I think the CIR port on the Intel box requires a remote that adheres to a particular standard?

I'm not sure whether it'll be a bigger hassle to try and figure out an existing port, or just go with a flirc, which is well supported. (In which case, there's no point choosing a box with an IR port.)


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - p750mmx - 2017-04-04

(2017-04-04, 16:18)movie78 Wrote:
(2017-04-04, 15:59)p750mmx Wrote:
(2017-04-04, 14:41)movie78 Wrote: ATMOS and DTS:X works in Kodi without any Addon needed, check your setting if ATMOS and DTS:X is not working.
Well, what could be a internal Kodi audio setting that plays DTS-X and all the other HD-audio formats just fine but not Atmos?

Are you saying that ATMOS is not working for you in Kodi?
I thought I did Wink All my Atmos media, demos and full media, is not displayed as "Atmos" in the receiver display. Outside Kodi it is.


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - movie78 - 2017-04-04

(2017-04-04, 16:57)p750mmx Wrote:
(2017-04-04, 16:18)movie78 Wrote:
(2017-04-04, 15:59)p750mmx Wrote: Well, what could be a internal Kodi audio setting that plays DTS-X and all the other HD-audio formats just fine but not Atmos?

Are you saying that ATMOS is not working for you in Kodi?
I thought I did Wink All my Atmos media, demos and full media, is not displayed as "Atmos" in the receiver display. Outside Kodi it is.

Is DOLBY TRUEHD content playing back?


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - dexter98 - 2017-04-04

No problem with atmos & dts:x passthrough in kodi here as well. It even already worked in kodi 16 as well with nvidia & Linux.

Now running kodi 17 on win10 & Apollo Lake. Make sure though that you select wasapi hdmi out (or something like that). On directsound it doesn't work.

Sent from my HTC One_M8


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - PLAY911 - 2017-04-05

(2017-04-03, 19:32)movie78 Wrote:
(2017-04-03, 18:21)PLAY911 Wrote: Hi there, does anyone know if the BRIX does support HDR?

https://www.alternate.de/GIGABYTE/BRIX-GB-BKi3HA-7100-inkl-Intel-Core-i3-7100U-Barebone/html/product/1309977

Thank you!!

Not on Windows and not sure with Linux.

Many thanks....so the only NUC that support HDR is the beebox?

Many thanks again


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - movie78 - 2017-04-05

(2017-04-05, 09:36)PLAY911 Wrote:
(2017-04-03, 19:32)movie78 Wrote:
(2017-04-03, 18:21)PLAY911 Wrote: Hi there, does anyone know if the BRIX does support HDR?

https://www.alternate.de/GIGABYTE/BRIX-GB-BKi3HA-7100-inkl-Intel-Core-i3-7100U-Barebone/html/product/1309977

Thank you!!

Not on Windows and not sure with Linux.

Many thanks....so the only NUC that support HDR is the beebox?

Many thanks again

No HDR on any Kaby Lake or Apollo Lake Hardware


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - HDGMA - 2017-04-05

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26669/

Intel 21.20.16.4627 graphics driver for Kaby Lake.


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - PLAY911 - 2017-04-05

(2017-04-05, 14:52)movie78 Wrote:
(2017-04-05, 09:36)PLAY911 Wrote:
(2017-04-03, 19:32)movie78 Wrote: Not on Windows and not sure with Linux.

Many thanks....so the only NUC that support HDR is the beebox?

Many thanks again

No HDR on any Kaby Lake or Apollo Lake Hardware

But in the website they mention that supports HDR

http://www.asrock.com/nettop/Intel/Beebox-S%20Series%20(Kaby%20Lake)/


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - deaerator - 2017-04-05

(2017-04-05, 20:50)PLAY911 Wrote:
(2017-04-05, 14:52)movie78 Wrote:
(2017-04-05, 09:36)PLAY911 Wrote: Many thanks....so the only NUC that support HDR is the beebox?

Many thanks again

No HDR on any Kaby Lake or Apollo Lake Hardware

But in the website they mention that supports HDR

http://www.asrock.com/nettop/Intel/Beebox-S%20Series%20(Kaby%20Lake)/


I'm actually trading dialogue on this issue directly with Asrock Support.
Been waiting for a response for about 3 days.


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - movie78 - 2017-04-05

(2017-04-05, 20:50)PLAY911 Wrote:
(2017-04-05, 14:52)movie78 Wrote:
(2017-04-05, 09:36)PLAY911 Wrote: Many thanks....so the only NUC that supports HDR is the beebox?

Many thanks again

No HDR on any Kaby Lake or Apollo Lake Hardware

But on the website, they mention that supports HDR

http://www.asrock.com/nettop/Intel/Beebox-S%20Series%20(Kaby%20Lake)/

Image

Fake advertisement, time for to take a class action against ASRock, to get some refund on the product we purchasedAngry


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - PLAY911 - 2017-04-05

(2017-04-05, 21:17)movie78 Wrote:
(2017-04-05, 20:50)PLAY911 Wrote:
(2017-04-05, 14:52)movie78 Wrote: No HDR on any Kaby Lake or Apollo Lake Hardware

But on the website, they mention that supports HDR

http://www.asrock.com/nettop/Intel/Beebox-S%20Series%20(Kaby%20Lake)/

Image

Fake advertisement, time for to take a class action against ASRock, to get some refund on the product we purchasedAngry
Incredible Sad


RE: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware - baba420 - 2017-04-05

So I also mailed Asrock Support about heir false HDR advertisement:
Q:
Quote:You advertised the Beebox-S series as a capable device for playback of HDR video files.

Supports HEVC 10-bit and HDR (High Dynamic Range ) video playback to provide substantially improved video quality and higher bit depth video experience. The 10-bit content supports up to 1.07 billion color palette, it can have more detail of image, and greater range between the brightest and darkest part of the image.

http://www.asrock.com/nettop/Intel/Beebox-S%20Series%20(Kaby%20Lake)/

However, when I try to play a HDR video demo, my HDR TV doesn't go into HDR mode. When I play the same video demo on the internal media player of my TV, the TV does go into the HDR modus.

This is the test file: http://demo-uhd3d.com/fiche.php?cat=uhd&id=145

What software player do I need to use to playback HDR video files?

A:
Quote:Hello,

You could try a nightly build of the upcoming VLC 3.0.0:
https://trac.videolan.org/vlc/roadmap
https://nightlies.videolan.org/index.html

And maybe the upcoming Cyberlink PowerDVD 17 (Ultra? - not sure about the version) can support it.

Kind regards,
ASRock Support

They haven't any clue themselves about their own product. VLC not working and PDVD 17 has yet to be released and according to their test program the Beebox-S isn't capable.


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.