Kodi Community Forum
WDTV Live Streaming replacement. - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Hardware (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
+--- Thread: WDTV Live Streaming replacement. (/showthread.php?tid=301257)

Pages: 1 2

WDTV Live Streaming replacement. - RRaoD - 2016-12-18

I have been using the WDTV Live Streaming Gen3 box for the last 5 years and was happy about it. But it has reached its end of life and I need a replacement box.

I have a large collection of movies and TV episodes on two 4TB external hard disks, and I was using a 10 port USB 2.0 powered hub to connect to WDTV player. My present setup also includes a 55" smart LED TV and a decent home theater system. The WDTV box is still working but has become sluggish with continuous growth of my library over the years. Sad

I normally use my smart TV and Chromecast for watching Netflix, Youtube etc. so streaming apps on Kodi is not very important. I need a Kodi box for playing this collection of offline media, audio files and personal collection of digital photos.

I should also be able to scrap the metadata and images for movies, TV episodes and audio collection similar to WDTV. I also prefer a similar gallery view of WDTV with movie information, wallpapers etc. on Kodi box (not just a file list view).

I am thinking of the Kodi box specs in these lines...

Quad core or preferably Octa core processor 64 bit support
2 or 3GB DDR RAM
16/32GB onboard storage space for OS (android 6.0 or later) and apps.
microSD/SD port for expansion
OS (Android or Android TV?)
3 to 4 USB 2.0 ports (USB 3.0 preferable) for connecting 4TB powered external HDDs
Wifi with b/g/n/ac support
LAN port with RJ45 socket
HDMI 1.2 or better
SPDIF TOSLINK optical port
A good remote control / keyboard should be included.

I have reviewed some boxes on amazon but could not make up my mind. Huh