Kodi Community Forum
v17 Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Video Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=264)
--- Thread: v17 Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds (/showthread.php?tid=311073)

Pages: 1 2


Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - primaeval - 2017-04-02

Krypton takes about 10 seconds to display a stream correctly after freezing the video and only playing audio.
The same stream takes less the 2 seconds on Jarvis.
This is consistant on Windows and Nvidia Shield.

I know there was a lot of changes to the VideoPlayer in Krypton.

I have tried all variations of Hardware Acceleration and there is no difference.

The timing from starting a stream to it becoming stable can be found for searching for the 2 matches of "OnKey" in the following logs.
This example switches from TV Guide Fullscreen, but it is the same straight from a url shortcut in an addon.

Jarvis debug log
https://pastebin.com/BPAMQa9W

Krypton debug log
https://pastebin.com/Hedj4jbJ

[EDIT] Here is another example using the Danish Live TV addon.
Jarvis
https://pastebin.com/KT1Z4j78
Krypton.
https://pastebin.com/T0xDdUbR


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - MikeKL - 2017-04-02

@primaeval, I quickly tested with Leia #0401 nightly build I have currently installed on rpi2

Using iplayer www directly via the addon and via TV guide Full Screen through EPG..From point of selecting live stream to start of playback Video/Audio combined, I estimated was approx 5 seconds.

Kodi.log


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - primaeval - 2017-04-03

(2017-04-02, 21:13)MikeKL Wrote: @primaeval, I quickly tested with Leia #0401 nightly build I have currently installed on rpi2

Using iplayer www directly via the addon and via TV guide Full Screen through EPG..From point of selecting live stream to start of playback Video/Audio combined, I estimated was approx 5 seconds.

Kodi.log

Thanks. It was 13 seconds between Play and Stop. Did you stop when it was just stable?


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - sizz - 2017-04-03

Same problem log


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - primaeval - 2017-04-04

I've opened up a bug report on trac and FernetMenta is making some progress with fixing it on his branch.
http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/17422
Thanks FernetMenta.


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - MikeKL - 2017-04-04

(2017-04-04, 10:21)primaeval Wrote: I've opened up a bug report on trac and FernetMenta is making some progress with fixing it on his branch.
http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/17422
Thanks FernetMenta.
Thanks for update and apologies for not responding to previous comments. No i did not ensure that my manual keypress to stop stream occurred at exactly the moment video/audio was aligned.

I am keeping updated with latest nightly builds of Leia, just let me know if you want more tests to be performed with iplayerwww and itv player.
(I always assumed overall delays related to change to kodi videoplayer in Krypton+ and combination of overall internet speed at time of live playback and need to buffer prior to playback etc)


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - primaeval - 2017-04-04

(2017-04-04, 20:11)MikeKL Wrote:
(2017-04-04, 10:21)primaeval Wrote: I've opened up a bug report on trac and FernetMenta is making some progress with fixing it on his branch.
http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/17422
Thanks FernetMenta.
Thanks for update and apologies for not responding to previous comments. No i did not ensure that my manual keypress to stop stream occurred at exactly the moment video/audio was aligned.

I am keeping updated with latest nightly builds of Leia, just let me know if you want more tests to be performed with iplayerwww and itv player.
(I always assumed overall delays related to change to kodi videoplayer in Krypton+ and combination of overall internet speed at time of live playback and need to buffer prior to playback etc)

Thanks. The thing I could do with is finding the worst German stream you can find in terms of delay before the picture is watchable.
The worst FernetMenta can find only have about a 4 second delay so he had difficulty testing this. He can't access the UK streams in Germany.

If you watch my videos in the trac thread you'll see that the streams are almost instantaneous in Jarvis but very delayed in Krypton. Not very good for channel surfing.
http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/17422#comment:22


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - Qwijibo - 2017-04-05

(2017-04-04, 20:20)primaeval Wrote:
(2017-04-04, 20:11)MikeKL Wrote:
(2017-04-04, 10:21)primaeval Wrote: I've opened up a bug report on trac and FernetMenta is making some progress with fixing it on his branch.
http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/17422
Thanks FernetMenta.
Thanks for update and apologies for not responding to previous comments. No i did not ensure that my manual keypress to stop stream occurred at exactly the moment video/audio was aligned.

I am keeping updated with latest nightly builds of Leia, just let me know if you want more tests to be performed with iplayerwww and itv player.
(I always assumed overall delays related to change to kodi videoplayer in Krypton+ and combination of overall internet speed at time of live playback and need to buffer prior to playback etc)

Thanks. The thing I could do with is finding the worst German stream you can find in terms of delay before the picture is watchable.
The worst FernetMenta can find only have about a 4 second delay so he had difficulty testing this. He can't access the UK streams in Germany.

If you watch my videos in the trac thread you'll see that the streams are almost instantaneous in Jarvis but very delayed in Krypton. Not very good for channel surfing.
http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/17422#comment:22



Just tested using the CometTV addon which is available in the Kodi Repo so should be able to be reproduced. Both tests on Windows.

4 seconds in Jarvis
16 seconds in Krypton

Also tried the Nasa live stream - http://d2ai41bknpka2u.cloudfront.net/live/iss.stream_source/playlist.m3u8

Produces exactly the same results.


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - Atreyu - 2017-04-05

Having the same experience with v17, up to the latest nightly.
Switching back&forth for this reason, since live TV is really fluid in v16 and earlier.

Tried several other backends (using dvblink on a main system), all are slower to respond.
Most noticable to me, though is it takes several seconds for a recorded stream played through a livetv addon vs instant when played using file lists. The same frontend will play instantly when skipping in v16.

Just enough delays to have me go back again after testing nightlies.


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - MikeKL - 2017-04-07

I performed another play/stop test on my rpi2 (#0406 nightly build of Leia) and added short summary report with kodi debug log to trac ticket. http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/17422#comment:40


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - primaeval - 2017-04-08

mglae has found a fix. Let's hope it gets into Krypton 17.2

http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/17422#comment:43


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - FernetMenta - 2017-04-08

(2017-04-08, 06:56)primaeval Wrote: mglae has found a fix. Let's hope it gets into Krypton 17.2

http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/17422#comment:43

This is not a fix. It is the old code that was removed for good reason. THe issue has to be fixed in ffmpeg.


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - FernetMenta - 2017-04-08

I opened a ticket at ffmpeg
https://trac.ffmpeg.org/ticket/6295


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - primaeval - 2017-04-08

It's good to know that all the complaints about Krypton being slow weren't hallucinations. Wink

The best advice to anyone reading this that uses hls streams is probably to stick to Jarvis until ffmpeg is fixed if you want to quickly change channels.


RE: Krypton 10 seconds to switch stream, Jarvis 2 seconds - primaeval - 2017-04-08

From: http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/17422#comment:48

I've made a windows build with mglae's patch and it works as fast as Jarvis again. Here is just the kodi.exe for Krypton 17.1 ​https://github.com/primaeval/builds/raw/master/kodi.zip

Looking at the code and the m3u8 files I can see why that solution would fail sometimes. It just checks for the BANDWIDTH= field to choose the sub-stream. There are usually more than one stream in the file with the same bandwidth. If they correspond to different audio languages or sign language versions of the file I can see when they would pick the wrong stream. We have some code in plugin.video.iplayerwww to deal with that.

So, in an ideal world the addon or pvr component should really choose the best stream based on some higher level criteria including audio language etc.

A simpler user solution is to pre-process the m3u8 list of channels that something like PVR IPTV Simple Client takes in and just add the required bandwidth sub-streams.

I think ffmpeg might be doing the right thing: robustly checking the type of each sub-stream rather than relying on the #EXT-X-STREAM-INF information.