Kodi Community Forum
Help for a total Newbie - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Skinning (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Help for a total Newbie (/showthread.php?tid=333824)

Help for a total Newbie - Joe1RI - 2018-07-19

I have been trying to teach myself some skinning for Kodi.  I have used an existing module  script-xxx.xml -- I have learned a ton by tweaking here and there, and am at a point where I am trying to make my own skin.  Here is my question.  I have a label control with the following syntax:
         <label>$INFO[Control.GetLabel(3998)]</label>
The value within the Control.GetLabel(3999) is the value that I want to use... however, I only want to use the first value from that variable.  the variable contains a number followed by a space and them some other text.  I am looking for a way to extract only the number part. Example: "23 pants ordered", I would want the value of only "23" (ultimately I would love to format it as "0023") -- Example: "750 items ordered" , I would want to extract the value "750" (ultimately would love to format it as "0750").  I think that this may need to use some sort of Split command and extract only the first value, but I have no idea how that syntax works.  I've been trying and searching web for 2 days now.  I know this is an easy one for you more advanced skinners.  Please help out a newbie... 
Thanx in advance.

RE: Help for a total Newbie - Hitcher - 2018-07-19

What info does the actual label contain?

RE: Help for a total Newbie - Joe1RI - 2018-07-19

it is a number value followed by a space and some text... i wan to simply extract the number portion of the text

The value is for a duration : "23 min remaining" or "173 min remaining" ... the literal after the number will always be the same.  Maybe there is a way to replace the literal value will nulls?