Kodi Community Forum
RetroPlayer / PS1 controller issue - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Game support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=292)
--- Thread: RetroPlayer / PS1 controller issue (/showthread.php?tid=340404)



RetroPlayer / PS1 controller issue - SimonC - 2019-02-06

I have a wired 360 controller which has worked fine with RetroPlayer for NES/SNES/GENESIS and MAME but today I tried loading a Playstation 1 ROM and I get nothing.  Strange thing, I can access the RetroPlayer menu but I can't start a game.  I went into the Controller option where I get a list of controllers and even went as far re-configuring the Playerstation gamepad but still nothing.  Is there an extra step that needs to be done that I'm missing?  Also, when the game loads I see a couple of messages about dual shock controllers.  Maybe its trying to locate them?


RE: RetroPlayer / PS1 controller issue - SimonC - 2019-02-10

I made a little progress.  Some games I can get the controller working and others I cannot.  The first game was Command & Conqueror which I tried both Beetle & Rearmed with the same result.  I was able to get Asteroids to play in Beetle.  Is there controller issue with some games and RP when emulating the PS1?  

Here is a log of my experiments:
https://pastebin.com/zdFWkKpu


RE: RetroPlayer / PS1 controller issue - SimonC - 2019-02-10

I got it worked out!  After I enabled DualShock Analog button toggle in PSX Beetle settings everything is working.  The button mapping changed but that is a problem for another day.


RE: RetroPlayer / PS1 controller issue - grendizer - 2019-02-10

Hello, how do you map an old console's virtual controler to a real Xbox controler?
Thanks
Gz


RE: RetroPlayer / PS1 controller issue - SimonC - 2019-02-10

When your in-game you can press select + X to bring up the RetroPlayer settings, in there you can get to the Controls menu to configure the buttons.


RE: RetroPlayer / PS1 controller issue - grendizer - 2019-02-10

X does not work on my Xbox One controller but I got it with the escape button of my keyboard. Thanks.

Then I have the Colecovision controller but a text says "nothing to map". Any idea?


RE: RetroPlayer / PS1 controller issue - SimonC - 2019-02-10

Sorry, I have not messed with the Coleco yet.  If I get a chance today I will try and report back my results.  I would suggest creating a new thread for this so your question doesn't get lost in this thread.


RE: RetroPlayer / PS1 controller issue - Kataliyst - 2019-09-18

I installed the Colecovision Controller add on, but still no way to "map" keys - as it just says "Nothing to map"


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.