Kodi Community Forum
Release TVDB - TV Show scraper (XML) - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Information Providers (scrapers) (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=147)
+----- Forum: TV Show Scrapers (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=305)
+----- Thread: Release TVDB - TV Show scraper (XML) (/showthread.php?tid=349385)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - rpgmaker - 2020-11-19

Will this still work after the changes that are coming to the tvdb API?


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - Karellen - 2020-11-20

(2020-11-19, 23:46)rpgmaker Wrote: Will this still work after the changes that are coming to the tvdb API?
No


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - rpgmaker - 2020-11-20

(2020-11-20, 00:01)Karellen Wrote:
(2020-11-19, 23:46)rpgmaker Wrote: Will this still work after the changes that are coming to the tvdb API?
No
Any alternatives? Will suck to go back to browsing plain folders lol.


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - Karellen - 2020-11-20

(2020-11-20, 05:03)rpgmaker Wrote: Any alternatives? Will suck to go back to browsing plain folders lol.
Yes, there are a few.

1. Switch over to the new Python version of TheMovieDB TV Show scraper... https://kodi.wiki/view/Add-on:TMDb_TV_Shows
2. Switch to TV Maze scraper... https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=349813
3. Wait until somebody creates a new scraper for the v4 API and Paywall at TVDB


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - rpgmaker - 2020-11-20

(2020-11-20, 05:40)Karellen Wrote:
(2020-11-20, 05:03)rpgmaker Wrote: Any alternatives? Will suck to go back to browsing plain folders lol.
Yes, there are a few.

1. Switch over to the new Python version of TheMovieDB TV Show scraper... https://kodi.wiki/view/Add-on:TMDb_TV_Shows
2. Switch to TV Maze scraper... https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=349813
3. Wait until somebody creates a new scraper for the v4 API and Paywall at TVDB
Thanks, will be installing those soon but this development has highlighted a weak link on our media setups. There's no guarantee that tvmaze or themoviedb won't pull the same 💩 in the future.


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - ashlar - 2020-11-21

(2020-11-19, 21:16)Karellen Wrote:
(2020-11-19, 16:57)ashlar Wrote: Underneath that there are "letters folders" (A, B, C, etc.) that contain the shows in alphabetical order, one folder per show, named as the show itself
Do you mean like this e:\TV Shows\A\American Gods\ where all tv shows starting with A are in the A folder?

Yes, exactly like that. It works perfectly with the way I've set up the scraper. I have added each "letter folder" separately to the source.
 
(2020-11-19, 16:57)ashlar Wrote: (Don't know if this is offtopic here but a complete explanation of the procedure would be a good candidate for a sticky post somewhere, I suppose)
(2020-11-19, 21:16)Karellen Wrote: Similar to this... https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=323588

Yeah, conceptually something like that. But explicitly targeted towards helping people for the transition. I think it would save the staff a lot of repeating the same answers over and over.


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - cage - 2020-11-25

Having an odd issue here with a tv series not scraping the banner file.  Multiple other series scrape with the provided banners without issue except for this one.

Series is located here: https://thetvdb.com/series/the-most-dangerous-animal-of-all

The banner doesn't seem to be returned according the logs
Code:
 DEBUG: scraper: ParseArt returned <details>
<fanart url="https://artworks.thetvdb.com/banners/">
<thumb dim="1920x1080" preview="series/375356/backgrounds/62102342_t.jpg">series/375356/backgrounds/62102342.jpg</thumb>
<thumb dim="1920x1080" preview="series/375356/backgrounds/62092323_t.jpg">series/375356/backgrounds/62092323.jpg</thumb>
</fanart>
<thumb aspect="poster" language="en">https://artworks.thetvdb.com/banners/series/375356/posters/62091986.jpg</thumb>
<thumb aspect="poster" language="en">https://artworks.thetvdb.com/banners/series/375356/posters/62092322.jpg</thumb>
<thumb aspect="poster" type="season" season="-1" language="en">https://artworks.thetvdb.com/banners/series/375356/posters/62091986.jpg</thumb>
<thumb aspect="poster" type="season" season="-1" language="en">https://artworks.thetvdb.com/banners/series/375356/posters/62092322.jpg</thumb>
</details>



RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - hans.olo - 2020-11-27

Lets assume there are 2 tvshows in a year where the name of one of the tvshows is a substring of the name of the other tvshow.
Example: 2020, "Utopia", and, "Pop Utopia"
Lets assume you have the tvshow with the substring name, as in the example "Utopia (2020)". Then there seems to be no way to properly name the tvshow folder, the tvdb scraper will always use the longer name, here "Pop Utopia"

You would assume you could guide the process by using a tvshow.nfo file in the tvshow folder ("Utopia (2020)"). However, it seems the tvshow.nfo file is never being read.
I did enable library specific logging and debug logging, but there is nothing in the log about that tvshow.nfo (it is the one and only such file on the whole disk).

In the given example the tvshow.nfo probably would need to look like this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes" ?>
<tvshow>
<uniqueid type="tvdb" default="true">
361002
</uniqueid>
<episodeguide>
<url post="yes" cache="auth.json">
https://api.thetvdb.com/login?{&quot;apikey&quot;:&quot;439DFEBA9D3059C6&quot;,&quot;id&quot;:361002}|Content-Type=application/json
</url>
</episodeguide>
</tvshow>

Alas, as I said, the does not seem to be used.
What am I missing here?


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - Karellen - 2020-11-27

(2020-11-27, 01:52)hans.olo Wrote: Example: 2020, "Utopia", and, "Pop Utopia"
I would name my folders as follows
Utopia (2020)
Pop Utopia (2020)

(2020-11-27, 01:52)hans.olo Wrote: In the given example the tvshow.nfo probably would need to look like this:

xml:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes" ?>
<tvshow>
<uniqueid type="tvdb" default="true">361002</uniqueid>
<episodeguide>
<url post="yes" cache="auth.json">https://api.thetvdb.com/login?{&quot;api...ation/json</url>
</episodeguide>
</tvshow>
That won't do anything and won't work anyway.

I assume you want the tvshow.nfo to simply find the correct tv show. If yes, then what you are after is a Parsing NFO file... https://kodi.wiki/view/NFO_files#Parsing_nfo

Delete what is inside your nfo file and place the following and nothing else into it... https://www.thetvdb.com/series/pop-utopia. That's it, just a single URL.

Make sure the file is called tvshow.nfo. That is the actual file name, so don't change it to anything else and save it inside your Pop Utopia (2020) folder.


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - hans.olo - 2020-11-27

(2020-11-27, 02:06)Karellen Wrote:
(2020-11-27, 01:52)hans.olo Wrote: Example: 2020, "Utopia", and, "Pop Utopia"
I would name my folders as follows
Utopia (2020)
Pop Utopia (2020)
Sure, but in this example there is only content for Utopia (2020), and Pop Utopia (2020) is of no interest, it is just a nuisance because it exists in TVDB.
(2020-11-27, 02:06)Karellen Wrote:
(2020-11-27, 01:52)hans.olo Wrote: In the given example the tvshow.nfo probably would need to look like this:

xml:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes" ?>
<tvshow>
<uniqueid type="tvdb" default="true">361002</uniqueid>
<episodeguide>
<url post="yes" cache="auth.json">https://api.thetvdb.com/login?{&quot;api...ation/json</url>
</episodeguide>
</tvshow>
That won't do anything and won't work anyway.

I assume you want the tvshow.nfo to simply find the correct tv show. If yes, then what you are after is a Parsing NFO file... https://kodi.wiki/view/NFO_files#Parsing_nfo

Delete what is inside your nfo file and place the following and nothing else into it... https://www.thetvdb.com/series/pop-utopia. That's it, just a single URL.

Make sure the file is called tvshow.nfo. That is the actual file name, so don't change it to anything else and save it inside your Pop Utopia (2020) folder.
Good to know. I obviously misunterstood the documentation for fiel naming and tvshow.nfo in the Wiki.

Important: In my last post I forgot to mention that I am using a remote MariaDB for the library DB.

So for this example it is about Utopia 2020. The according URL at TVDB would be: https://www.thetvdb.com/series/utopia-2020

I did as you suggested, and moved Utopia 2020 out of the library path, cleaned the library, moved Utopa 2020 back into the library path and updated the library.

Unfortuantely the TVDB scraper still scrapes Pop Utopia 2020, not Utopia 2020, as was desired.
There is no mention in the debug log that the tvshow.nfo is being used.
It can be seen that episode matches are found, but in the TVDB URLs being used the unique ID is always the one of Pop Utopia 2020 (not Utopia, as it should be).

So I created an additional folder Pop Utopia (2020) with a tvshow.nfo with the URL you mentioned above. Note that there are no media content files in folder Pop Utopia (2020).
Then I cleaned the library as described above (both folders moved out of the library path).
After moving both folders back into the library path I updated the library.

The result unfortunately was still the same.
Still lost - whats happening?


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - hans.olo - 2020-11-27

I even tried to use the IMDB URL in the tvshow.nfo (as mentioned here: https://kodi.wiki/view/NFO_files#Parsing_nfo). Same result.
To me it looks like Kodi is just ignoring the tvshow.nfo file.
The file permissions and ownership of tvshow.nfo look good (same as the media content files).


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - Karellen - 2020-11-27

(2020-11-27, 11:44)hans.olo Wrote: To me it looks like Kodi is just ignoring the tvshow.nfo file.
Ok, then there is a problem with the NFO file. You have named it tvshow.nfo and you have placed it in the Utopia (2020) folder. The only other problem I can think of is the file encoding which should be UTF-8. If that is not it, then I will need a Debug Log which captures you attempting to scrape the show.

Also, you keep giving me TVDB links. So check you actually have the TVDB scraper set.

Image


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - hans.olo - 2020-11-27

(2020-11-27, 11:48)Karellen Wrote:
(2020-11-27, 11:44)hans.olo Wrote: To me it looks like Kodi is just ignoring the tvshow.nfo file.
Ok, then there is a problem with the NFO file. You have named it tvshow.nfo and you have placed it in the Utopia (2020) folder. The only other problem I can think of is the file encoding which should be UTF-8. If that is not it, then I will need a Debug Log which captures you attempting to scrape the show.

Also, you keep giving me TVDB links. So check you actually have the TVDB scraper set.

Thanks for coming back so quickly.
Yes, the scraper is set to use TVDB.
Yes, the encoding is UTF-8.
So the reason must be something else.

I tried the refresh button in the info view of the tv show and ansered NO to it would use the local information. Et voila, it scraped Utopia (2020) now! Love
So we learn that the method I used to refresh the information for a selected folder does NOT work properly.

This is of course no proper solution, since I happend to completely refresh the library items for that path sometimes.
It is not user friendly to have to refresh selected tv shows manually each time that happens.

So I ran a complete refresh of that path to see whether Kodi would then pick up the tvshow.nfo file.
And so it does.

Thanks for your help. I know now how to handle it.


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - Karellen - 2020-11-27

(2020-11-27, 12:20)hans.olo Wrote: I tried the refresh button in the info view of the tv show and ansered NO to it would use the local information.
Ok, your tv show was still in the library when you were trying to do this. Update Library ignores anything in your library, its sole purpose being to look for new items to add to the library.

Refresh is used to update items already in the library. There is no mass Refresh option. To do that you would need to delete all the movies out of your library then run an Update Library.


RE: TVDB - TV Show scraper - pletopia - 2020-12-25

(2020-11-20, 05:40)Karellen Wrote: 1. Switch over to the new Python version of TheMovieDB TV Show scraper... https://kodi.wiki/view/Add-on:TMDb_TV_Shows
2. Switch to TV Maze scraper... https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=349813
3. Wait until somebody creates a new scraper for the v4 API and Paywall at TVDB

I'm assuming I will have to go thru my TV library and update my parsing nfo's for TheMovieDB or TVMaze as they currently are setup for TVDB ?


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.