Kodi Community Forum
Some Australian Channels not scanning - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: PVR & Live TV Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=167)
+---- Forum: Tvheadend (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=168)
---- Thread: Some Australian Channels not scanning (/showthread.php?tid=353683)

Pages: 1 2


Some Australian Channels not scanning - gustafarian - 2020-04-20

Hi, I have setup TV headend on Libreelec 9.2.1 on a RPI3. I have used the excellent guide from Mat Huisman here: https://www.matthuisman.nz/2019/02/libreelec-tvheadend-iptv-freeview-au.html?m=1 including his playlist.
I am having trouble with the channels 7two, 7mate, 7 and the SBS channels.

I am located in Victoria Australia and are referencing the files for my capital city, I don't have a VPN so I don't think it is geo-blocking.

They work if I import his raw.m3u8 into VLC which for example has the url line:#EXTINF:-1 tvg-id="tv.101305030533" tvg-logo="http://i.mjh.nz/au/images/tv.101305030533.png",7mate
http://i.mjh.nz/au/Melbourne/tv.101305030533.m3u8

But not is I use the TVH-TV.m3u8 which has the URL #EXTINF:-1 tvg-id="tv.101305030533" tvg-logo="http://i.mjh.nz/au/images/tv.101305030533.png",7mate
pipe://ffmpeg -loglevel fatal -headers X-Forwarded-For:\ 52.62.247.239\r\nUser-Agent:\ FMLE/3.0\ (compatible;\ FMSc/1.0)\r\n -i http://i.mjh.nz/au/Melbourne/tv.101305030533.m3u8 -vcodec copy -acodec copy -metadata service_name=tv.101305030533 -f mpegts pipe:1

The TVH-TV.m3u8 works for all of the other channels with TVheadend. I have tried other playlists such as the one found here; https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1B-1NFj-xO1s6zeiZVCwfrChnu8ANjcfAVMLOU2JmZMY/edit#gid=0 and they fail to scan as well for these channels.
I am by no means an expert using TVheadend and would appreciate any advice if Is there a way I can get these to play. I presume that it is something on their end rejecting the connection, maybe due to the device?


RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - the_other_guy - 2020-04-20

Mat Huisman has past this project on to Jeremy (aka SlyGuy)
https://www.matthuisman.nz/2020/02/bad-news-good-news.html

His repo is now live and you can find instructions on how to install it at link below:
https://www.matthuisman.nz/2020/02/slyguy-kodi-repository.html


He has pushed updates to all of the add-ons so they should auto update once you install his repo.
Once they have all updated, the Matt Huisman Repo and common module can be uninstalled.


RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - gustafarian - 2020-04-20

(2020-04-20, 02:53)the_other_guy Wrote: Mat Huisman has past this project on to Jeremy (aka SlyGuy)
https://www.matthuisman.nz/2020/02/bad-news-good-news.html

His repo is now live and you can find instructions on how to install it at link below:
https://www.matthuisman.nz/2020/02/slyguy-kodi-repository.html


He has pushed updates to all of the add-ons so they should auto update once you install his repo.
Once they have all updated, the Matt Huisman Repo and common module can be uninstalled.
Thank for the info. But I haven't installed any of Mat's addons? I use TVheadend from the Kodi repo. The only reference to him is the IPTV playlist as far as I can see


RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - matthuisman - 2020-04-20

I still do the IPTV stuff

Try increasing the timeout on those muxes in tvheadend. Think its called kill timeout. Default is 5 seconds I think. Try 15


RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - gustafarian - 2020-04-21

(2020-04-20, 11:08)matthuisman Wrote: I still do the IPTV stuff

Try increasing the timeout on those muxes in tvheadend. Think its called kill timeout. Default is 5 seconds I think. Try 15
Thank you very much. Worked for some of the SBS ones, but the channel 7 ones still don't work. Have mucked around with longer times as well. 7, 7Two, 7mate and all fail with that setting.

However, if I tick "respawn pipe" they work. I have no idea what that setting does. But it seems to work. Thanks again.


RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - gustafarian - 2020-04-21

(2020-04-21, 01:10)gustafarian Wrote:
(2020-04-20, 11:08)matthuisman Wrote: I still do the IPTV stuff

Try increasing the timeout on those muxes in tvheadend. Think its called kill timeout. Default is 5 seconds I think. Try 15
Thank you very much. Worked for some of the SBS ones, but the channel 7 ones still don't work. Have mucked around with longer times as well. 7, 7Two, 7mate and all fail with that setting.

However, if I tick "respawn pipe" they work. I have no idea what that setting does. But it seems to work. Thanks again.    
Spoke too soon, they have reverted back to failed! In fact a whole lot more now say failed. Angry
image


RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - McDaz - 2020-05-15

(2020-04-21, 03:17)gustafarian Wrote:
(2020-04-21, 01:10)gustafarian Wrote:
(2020-04-20, 11:08)matthuisman Wrote: I still do the IPTV stuff

Try increasing the timeout on those muxes in tvheadend. Think its called kill timeout. Default is 5 seconds I think. Try 15
Thank you very much. Worked for some of the SBS ones, but the channel 7 ones still don't work. Have mucked around with longer times as well. 7, 7Two, 7mate and all fail with that setting.

However, if I tick "respawn pipe" they work. I have no idea what that setting does. But it seems to work. Thanks again.    
Spoke too soon, they have reverted back to failed! In fact a whole lot more now say failed. Angry
image



RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - McDaz - 2020-05-15

Did you solve this ?
I’m having the exact same issue in victoria with tv headend and kodi


(2020-05-15, 04:59)McDaz Wrote:
(2020-04-21, 03:17)gustafarian Wrote:
(2020-04-21, 01:10)gustafarian Wrote: Thank you very much. Worked for some of the SBS ones, but the channel 7 ones still don't work. Have mucked around with longer times as well. 7, 7Two, 7mate and all fail with that setting.

However, if I tick "respawn pipe" they work. I have no idea what that setting does. But it seems to work. Thanks again.    
Spoke too soon, they have reverted back to failed! In fact a whole lot more now say failed. Angry
image



RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - matthuisman - 2020-05-15

Are you getting "timeout waiting for packets" in the TVH debug window (bottom of screen) when trying to play channel?

Try these settings.

IPTV Network > Maximum timeout: 30

All IPTV Muxes > Respawn Pipe: Enable
                             > Kill Timeout: 30

Config > General > Base > Misc Settings > Packet backlog: Enable

Config > Stream > htsp > Data Timeout: 30  (0 here causes issues)
                                              > Restart on Error: Enable

Config > Stream > pass > Data Timeout: 30  (0 here causes issues)
                                             > Restart on Error: Enable
                                             > Rewrite Service ID: 0
                                             > Rewrite PMT/PAT/SDT/NIT/EIT: All Disabled


Even with these, playing channels via the webplayer / vlc seems unreliable.
Appears there is some hardcoded timeout for the webgui that can't be changed

OK, so playing a channel via "Muxes" seems to have a built-in timeout.
However, if you get them scanned in - playing via the "Services" works much better


RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - McDaz - 2020-05-21

Still no good. Tv headend has become unusable for me. I’ve tried everything i can think of.
It was all working fine until about two weeks ago.
i’ve reverted to previous versions of Librelec and still no joy.
Such a shame i love TVheadend Sad



(2020-05-15, 05:22)matthuisman Wrote: Are you getting "timeout waiting for packets" in the TVH debug window (bottom of screen) when trying to play channel?

Try these settings.

IPTV Network > Maximum timeout: 30

All IPTV Muxes > Respawn Pipe: Enable
                             > Kill Timeout: 30

Config > General > Base > Misc Settings > Packet backlog: Enable

Config > Stream > htsp > Data Timeout: 30  (0 here causes issues)
                                              > Restart on Error: Enable

Config > Stream > pass > Data Timeout: 30  (0 here causes issues)
                                             > Restart on Error: Enable
                                             > Rewrite Service ID: 0
                                             > Rewrite PMT/PAT/SDT/NIT/EIT: All Disabled


Even with these, playing channels via the webplayer / vlc seems unreliable.
Appears there is some hardcoded timeout for the webgui that can't be changed

OK, so playing a channel via "Muxes" seems to have a built-in timeout.
However, if you get them scanned in - playing via the "Services" works much better



RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - matthuisman - 2020-05-27

what changed about two weeks ago is I stopped redirecting to the substreams of the playlist.
Instead now I redirect to the master playlists (that have all the qualities)
ffmpeg takes quite a bit longer to parse these as it checks each substream.

Maybe I'll look into switching back just for the Tvheadend targeted playlist


RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - gustafarian - 2020-05-27

(2020-05-27, 04:17)matthuisman Wrote: what changed about two weeks ago is I stopped redirecting to the substreams of the playlist.
Instead now I redirect to the master playlists (that have all the qualities)
ffmpeg takes quite a bit longer to parse these as it checks each substream.

Maybe I'll look into switching back just for the Tvheadend targeted playlist
Thanks for the input. Have changed the settings as you have listed but still have the same channels failing: SBS Food, Seven, SBS Viceland HD, 7Two, 7mate. Some others seem to scan then drop off after a while. It just seems to be a bit unstable


RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - mrjonesiii - 2020-06-03

I've been having some trouble, but not as much as gustafarian. None of the Ten Network ones are working in the Sydney playlist for me. I've gone through and changed the settings to what Matt's suggested above, set the individual channel scans to active, one at a time, and let them time out, but they all fail. Everything else seems ok for my system, which is running with FFMPEG on a Synology NAS.


RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - mrjonesiii - 2020-06-03

Here's what happens when I go to scan those three Ten Network channels on the Sydney playlist - https://paste.kodi.tv/xizituliso


RE: Some Australian Channels not scanning - mrjonesiii - 2020-06-05

Worked it out with the help of Hiro Protagonist. My NAS running TVH is connected to the Internet using a VPN. All the channels on Matt's Sydney playlist scan fine apart from Ten. When I turn off the VPN, then the Ten channels also scan perfectly. I switch the VPN back on again, and they continue to work. This lead us to understand that the path via the playlist to the actual stream path gets mangled when it has to connect via the VPN, but the stream's actual path works fine. So, I'm good now. 

So, if your channels don't scan, check to see that your system's connection to the Internet is not via a VPN while scanning for channels. Once the channels are scanned and working, you should be ok to turn the VPN back on again.


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.