Kodi Community Forum
One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: PVR & Live TV Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=167)
+---- Forum: Enigma (Dreambox/Vu+) (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=226)
---- Thread: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes (/showthread.php?tid=357204)



One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - Hasbean - 2020-09-21

Kodi and the Enigma VU+ addon is my favourite means of setting and managing my zgemma h2s box recordings from my Linux laptop. I have now bought a second box and was hoping to manage both boxes via Kodi but maybe it is not possible to have more than one PVR box available at a time. I can manage with OpenWebif or from the box itself but it would be nice if I could choose boxes from the Kodi PVR plugin. Running Kodi v18.8


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - phunkyfish - 2020-09-22

For what purpose would you want to access two STBs?

The PVR addon is bound to a single backend.


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - Hasbean - 2020-09-22

(2020-09-22, 15:19)phunkyfish Wrote: For what purpose would you want to access two STBs?

The PVR addon is bound to a single backend.
Most of my Internet time is spent on my Linux laptop where I use Kodi to set up and manage my recordings on my h2s STB. I also scrape recordings into my laptop Kodi Library. I had a humax box which has failed twice within a year so I decided to replace it with an h9twin. I have been looking forward to having the better LAN access and flexibility with my Humax replacement.


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - phunkyfish - 2020-09-22

If multiple backends were supported you would just end up with every channel listed twice. I’m not sure you would want that.

And supporting multiple backends would be a huge task.

So if you can detail your use case maybe there is a better way to solve your problem.


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - emveepee - 2020-09-23

If the multiple instance feature of Matrix ever allows it I would move Radio (internet) and Recordings (via export/import) to my always-on NAS.  My PC with multiple PCI tuners and USB devices still could be turned on with WOL for recording, live tv and comskip  but it would be off much more during the day.  I prefer PVR for multi device over MySQL.

Martin


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - Hasbean - 2020-09-23

(2020-09-22, 22:59)phunkyfish Wrote: If multiple backends were supported you would just end up with every channel listed twice. I’m not sure you would want that.

And supporting multiple backends would be a huge task.

So if you can detail your use case maybe there is a better way to solve your problem.
Thanks for your interest plunkyfish. I was not really thinking of managing 2 backends at the same time. I was thinking more of a selection and changeover function - basically to choose between different IP addresses. With a multi STB option set up, a menu (with a default and timeout delay like grub) could be offered at PVR startup. I would also need an easy method to restart PVR for a changeover.


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - phunkyfish - 2020-09-23

Why not just manually change the IP each time? I’d say that would work as it would trigger a restart of PVR


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - Hasbean - 2020-09-24

(2020-09-23, 23:42)phunkyfish Wrote: Why not just manually change the IP each time? I’d say that would work as it would trigger a restart of PVR
Yes that does change over OK and restarts ok - thanks


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - emveepee - 2020-09-24

The issue on Matrix with changing the IP is it loads the default channels, and then it deletes the channels  (@ksooo delete  is still very slow) and then Kodi read the channels.

Martin


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - phunkyfish - 2020-09-24

On my device which is only approx 150 channels it does not take long.


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - Hasbean - 2020-09-24

I use my Favourites (TV) which only has 20 channels so does not take long.
I am thinking of having a desktop launcher and a script to toggle the PVR settings file. I would then only need a PVR restart.


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - emveepee - 2020-09-25

(2020-09-24, 20:15)phunkyfish Wrote: On my device which is only approx 150 channels it does not take long.
Mine is about  2 channels a second for 3 days https://paste.kodi.tv/xedociyazi.kodi.  I guess will create an issue if that wasn't expected.

Martin


RE: One Kodi - two Enigma2 boxes - phunkyfish - 2020-09-25

Whoa, definitely not @emveepee.


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.