Kodi Community Forum
Official Kodi RemoteAPP error (VideoLibary.GetMovies) when refreshing movie libary - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Supplementary Tools for Kodi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=116)
+---- Forum: Kodi Remote for iOS Official Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=193)
+---- Thread: Official Kodi RemoteAPP error (VideoLibary.GetMovies) when refreshing movie libary (/showthread.php?tid=361661)



Official Kodi RemoteAPP error (VideoLibary.GetMovies) when refreshing movie libary - mcm1975 - 2021-03-24

Hi
After the Apple IOS Official Kodi Remote APP was updated I keep getting an error when refreshing my video libary in the remote control APP. I have multiple Kodi's on Raspberry pi 4 some of the kodi's are ver 18.9 (LibreELEC (Leia) 9.2.6) and some are fresh installed 19 (LibreELEC (Matrix) 10.0 BETA1) and all go the same error. The Error are this:

The data couldn’t be read because it isn’t in the correct format.
METHOD
VideoLibrary.GetMovies
PARAMETERS
{properties=(year,playcount,rating,thumbnail,genre,runtime,trailer,file,dateadded,art);sort={"available_methods"={label=(Title,Year,Rating,Duration,"Dateadded","Playcount");method=(label,year,rating,runtime,dateadded,playcount);};ignorearticle=0;method=label;order=ascending;};}

I have local NFO files in the movie libary but it also make this error on a fresh installed 19 (LibreELEC (Matrix) 10.0 BETA1) where it takes the movie info from TMDB/IMDB. I have tired from multiple iphones with the kodi remote but it is the same problem. The movie list is totally empty and come with the above error, but if I look under "Movies sets" or "Added Movies (25)"  then I can see the movies there.
Hope someone can point me in the right direction to solve this.


RE: Official Kodi RemoteAPP error (VideoLibary.GetMovies) when refreshing movie libary - Buschel - 2021-03-24

(2021-03-24, 19:23)mcm1975 Wrote: The data couldn’t be read because it isn’t in the correct format.
METHOD
VideoLibrary.GetMovies
PARAMETERS
{properties=(year,playcount,rating,thumbnail,genre,runtime,trailer,file,dateadded,art);sort={"available_methods"={label=(Title,Year,Rating,Duration,"Dateadded","Playcount");method=(label,year,rating,runtime,dateadded,playcount);};ignorearticle=0;method=label;order=ascending;};}

Hi,

this sounds like the problem described by another user (https://github.com/xbmc/Official-Kodi-Remote-iOS/issues/164) and might be caused by UTF8 issues (see especially this comment). Since the migration to iOS 14 a less error resilient iOS implementation for JSON (de)serialization is used. This cannot be rolled back as otherwise the whole App does not work properly anymore.

Regards,
Buschel


RE: Official Kodi RemoteAPP error (VideoLibary.GetMovies) when refreshing movie libary - kambala - 2021-03-28

@Buschel you could implement encoding fix manually - convert incoming data to string, remove/replace broken characters, decode JSON from that


RE: Official Kodi RemoteAPP error (VideoLibary.GetMovies) when refreshing movie libary - Buschel - 2021-03-29

(2021-03-24, 19:23)mcm1975 Wrote: Hope someone can point me in the right direction to solve this.
Do you by chance have the possibility to build the App yourself for your iPhone or the simulator?


RE: Official Kodi RemoteAPP error (VideoLibary.GetMovies) when refreshing movie libary - mcm1975 - 2021-03-29

I checked all my nfo files and there was UFT-8 issues in some of them. After they was corrected it works again with the ISO kodi remote. Thanks for putting me in the right direction, the problem is now solved.