Kodi Community Forum
Linux Silicon Dust HDHomerun ATSC 3.0 tuner, Tvheadend and Kodi, anyone have them working? - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: PVR & Live TV Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=167)
+---- Forum: Tvheadend (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=168)
---- Thread: Linux Silicon Dust HDHomerun ATSC 3.0 tuner, Tvheadend and Kodi, anyone have them working? (/showthread.php?tid=362436)



Silicon Dust HDHomerun ATSC 3.0 tuner, Tvheadend and Kodi, anyone have them working? - oldtvwatcher - 2021-05-05

I am just wondering if any LINUX users in the land of ATSC 3.0 where you actually have stations on the air have been able to record programs in ATSC 3.0 using Tvheadend and then successfully play them using Kodi (with the Tvheadend PVR plugin).  ATSC 3.0 has recently arrived in my area but those HDHomeRun devices are pretty pricey at $200 a pop, and although they have four tuners, only two of them will receive ATSC 3.0.  But maybe it would be worth it IF they work okay with Tvheadend and Kodi, but I have been reading comments about it either not working at all, or that the video freezes and there is no sound (because they use AC-4 audio and apparently ffmpeg can't handle that yet?).  But those comments were from about four months ago.  So what I am asking is, are there any ATSC 3.0 viewers here that have recent experience using this combination (without having to futz around with it), and if so does it work well for you or not?

Also, just to be clear, if you were able to get it to work but only after jumping through all kinds of hoops that included compiling software from scratch, then the answer is no, and for me you could just leave it at that.  I'm not a programmer or a developer or a Linux expert.  I just run Kodi in Ubuntu Linux because in the past it has worked pretty well (other than the problems getting the remote to work after they came out with that godawful new version of lirc, until I found the article that shows how to revert to the old version), so anything that involves that extra level of expertise is beyond me.  The last thing I need is any more problems, and my fear is that if I try to move to ATSC 3.0 too early that's exactly what I am going to get.


RE: Silicon Dust HDHomerun ATSC 3.0 tuner, Tvheadend and Kodi, anyone have them working? - emveepee - 2021-05-05

(2021-05-05, 01:57)oldtvwatcher Wrote: Also, just to be clear, if you were able to get it to work but only after jumping through all kinds of hoops that included compiling software from scratch, then the answer is no, and for me you could just leave it at that.

No.

Martin


RE: Silicon Dust HDHomerun ATSC 3.0 tuner, Tvheadend and Kodi, anyone have them working? - oldtvwatcher - 2021-05-05

(2021-05-05, 05:08)emveepee Wrote:
(2021-05-05, 01:57)oldtvwatcher Wrote: Also, just to be clear, if you were able to get it to work but only after jumping through all kinds of hoops that included compiling software from scratch, then the answer is no, and for me you could just leave it at that.

No.

Martin
Thanks, no point in wasting any money then until they get it worked out.  Much appreciated!


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.