Kodi Community Forum
Let me understand audio passthrough please - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: OS independent / Other (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=228)
+---- Thread: Let me understand audio passthrough please (/showthread.php?tid=365822)

Pages: 1 2 3

Let me understand audio passthrough please - jarosujo - 2021-12-04

Hello,
I have been using Kodi for many years, always using audio passthrough to my AVR. If I understand it properly, in this mode Kodi just send data 1:1 to AVR for decoding. What if I disable passthrough - is Kodi decoding audio instead of AVR ? I will not get "DTS:X" or "Dolby Atmos" message on AVR anymore, but something like "Multi channel". I don't really care about AVR display message as long as I get proper sound from speakers. But do I get it ? Is it exactly the same regarding sound quality and proper surround positioning ? Are built-in Kodi decoders same as those in AVR ? What about HD audio (TrueHD/HD Master), can Kodi decode those as well ?
Thanx a lot :-)

RE: Let me understand audio passthrough please - LongMan - 2021-12-04

If your AVR says Multichannel then Kodi is decoding it and sending it to the AVR. This is a discussion that has been had many times on this forum, it might help to do a quick search.

As to whether you are getting the same sound out of your AVR if the decoding is done in Kodi or the AVR is a bit of a religious argument which I won't get into. However, if you want The AVR to do the decoding, the key settings are:

Settings>System>Audio
Audio output device - HDMI (capable receiver, cable etc)
Number of Channels - 7.1 (or whatever setup you have)
Allow Passthrough - Enabled
 ...other settings probably should all be enabled since a receiver capable of HD audio usually can do everything else.