Kodi Community Forum
[WINDOWS] External Player Support Thread - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Windows (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=59)
---- Thread: [WINDOWS] External Player Support Thread (/showthread.php?tid=43511)



- spiff - 2009-04-22

just take contact any way you see fit moby-uk, however i think trac is the obvious spot as that would allow others in the discussions as well


- Savage1701 - 2009-04-22

OK, what am I doing incorrectly? All I want to do is play my DVD's with CyberLink.

Under XP, this is my directory path:
C:\Documents and Settings\Steve Savage\Application Data\XBMC\userdata

This is the .XML text I have (I removed all the fullscreen arguments, etc - I just want it to launch)

<advancedsettings>
<launchplayer>
<defaultplayer>true</defaultplayer>
<filename>C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PowerDVD.exe</filename>
</launchplayer>
</advancedsettings>

When I go into my DVD folder or my MPEG folder, I don't have any choice to launch. It just starts in XBMC.

Sorry if I am going against the grain of this forum, which seems to be slanted towards the attitude that the built-in player is good enough, but it's not what I want to do.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.


- tiben20 - 2009-04-22

syntax error
Code:
<advancedsettings>
  <video>
    <defaultplayer>externalplayer</defaultplayer>
  </video>

<externalplayer>
  <filename>C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PowerDVD.exe</filename>

</externalplayer>
</advancedsettings>



- tiben20 - 2009-04-22

spiff Wrote:yes, there is no reason to limit the configuration file to externalplayers. i have always wanted this functionality in general to rid the code of a nasty function. instead we can configure using an xml file, set a default and override where we see fit.

so tiben20, not a slamming of your stuff, just think it can be more

If we do that. That mean we could have onaction function included in an xml file for each player?


- Savage1701 - 2009-04-24

tiben - I pasted in your code. No change. Only launches XBMC player still. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for any help.


- Savage1701 - 2009-04-24

tiben - upgraded to latest XBMC and it works. Thanks for your time and help. It is appreciated.


- ashlar - 2009-04-24

Just wanted to thank moby-uk for his continuing work on this, much appreciated. Even though I'm not using external player, it's refreshing to see such dedication to the project.
Thank you.


- Savage1701 - 2009-04-28

Yes, again, thanks to everyone for all of the help and hard work on getting an external player to integrate into XBMC. It is appreciated.


- Wizard1969 - 2009-04-28

Just wondering if anyone has successfully setup Arcsoft TMT as the externalplayer? If so would you mind sharing your setup info? Here is what I have in advancedsettings.xml in the userdata folder...

<advancedsettings>
<loglevel>1</loglevel>
<video>
<defaultplayer>externalplayer</defaultplayer>
</video>
<externalplayer>
<filename>C:\Program Files\ArcSoft\TotalMedia Theatre\uDTStart.exe</filename>
<forceontop>false</forceontop>
<hidexbmc>true</hidexbmc>
<hideconsole>false</hideconsole>
<hidecursor>false</hidecursor>
</externalplayer>
</advancedsettings>

If I play a DVD (ripped to HDD) without selecting via context menu it still plays using the internal dvdplayer. If I context menu, I get the "play using..." option which brings up choices for dvdplayer (default) and externalplayer. If I chose externalplayer nothing happens. I'm running in windowed mode so I can see that TMT never gets fired up. Any help/input appreciated. Cheers.


- jondr13 - 2009-04-28

Wizard1969 Wrote:Just wondering if anyone has successfully setup Arcsoft TMT as the externalplayer? If so would you mind sharing your setup info? Here is what I have in advancedsettings.xml in the userdata folder...

<advancedsettings>
<loglevel>1</loglevel>
<video>
<defaultplayer>externalplayer</defaultplayer>
</video>
<externalplayer>
<filename>C:\Program Files\ArcSoft\TotalMedia Theatre\uDTStart.exe</filename>
<forceontop>false</forceontop>
<hidexbmc>true</hidexbmc>
<hideconsole>false</hideconsole>
<hidecursor>false</hidecursor>
</externalplayer>
</advancedsettings>

If I play a DVD (ripped to HDD) without selecting via context menu it still plays using the internal dvdplayer. If I context menu, I get the "play using..." option which brings up choices for dvdplayer (default) and externalplayer. If I chose externalplayer nothing happens. I'm running in windowed mode so I can see that TMT never gets fired up. Any help/input appreciated. Cheers.

I would like to 2nd this request.

Also would like to know if will mount my ISO to Virtual Clone Drive so that it will start playing in TMT?
And can the external player be set as the default player so that the user doesnt always have to go through some menu to use the external player?

THANKS and eagerly waiting on info


- christerron - 2009-04-29

moby-uk Wrote:5) Added a mechanism to make some (regexp-driven) changes to the filename. This is
for those of you that wanted support for your externalplayers playing DVD folders, rars
and whatever else, however, you will have to do some legwork for this.
...

Got MPC HC to play rars. Made sure to install RARFileSource (from http://www.v12pwr.com/RARFileSource/).
And then used the replacer to edit the filename sent to the external player.

Doesn't look very pretty, but at least its functional :p

Code:
<advancedsettings>
<video>
  <defaultplayer>externalplayer</defaultplayer>
</video>
<externalplayer>
  <filename>C:\Program Files (x86)\MPC HC\x86\mplayerc.exe</filename>
  <args>/fullscreen /close</args>
  <forceontop>true</forceontop>
  <hidexbmc>false</hidexbmc>
<replacers action="prepend">
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%3a</pat>
   <rep>:</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%20</pat>
   <rep>\1 \1</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%5c</pat>
   <rep>\</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%5f</pat>
   <rep>_</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%28</pat>
   <rep>(</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%29</pat>
   <rep>)</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%7b</pat>
   <rep>{</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%7d</pat>
   <rep>}</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%5b</pat>
   <rep>[</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%5d</pat>
   <rep>]</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%2e</pat>
   <rep>.</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%2d</pat>
   <rep>\1-</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>.rar/.*</pat>
   <rep>.rar</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>%2f</pat>
   <rep>\</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer global="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>smb:\\</pat>
   <rep>\\</rep>
  </replacer>
  <replacer stop="true">
   <match>rar://.*</match>
   <pat>rar://</pat>
   <rep>\1</rep>
  </replacer>
</replacers>
</externalplayer>
</advancedsettings>

It works quite well and I think I covered most of the "strange" characters :p
Only negative thing I have found is that RARFileSource isn't as efficient in reading from rar as the one found in XBMC...


- mojario - 2009-05-01

i've noticed theres a addon called pick player that lets you chose different players for different extensions. is it possible though to use the internal player of xbmc as one of those players? and have an external player play mkv's or something similar?


- jondr13 - 2009-05-01

mojario Wrote:i've noticed theres a addon called pick player that lets you chose different players for different extensions. is it possible though to use the internal player of xbmc as one of those players? and have an external player play mkv's or something similar?

Been looking for info on this for awhile:

- when a movie is selected, it mounts the ISO file to Virutal Clone Drive

- open up TotalMedia Theatre (automatically as default plater) on top of XBMC to play the movie

- when the backspace (return) button is pressed, it goes back to XMBC

This is about the only thing that is prohibiting me from using XMBC effectively and independently. Thanks for any help you can provide.


- jondr13 - 2009-05-05

jondr13 Wrote:Been looking for info on this for awhile:

- when a movie is selected, it mounts the ISO file to Virutal Clone Drive

- open up TotalMedia Theatre (automatically as default plater) on top of XBMC to play the movie

- when the backspace (return) button is pressed, it goes back to XBMC

This is about the only thing that is prohibiting me from using XBMC effectively and independently. Thanks for any help you can provide.

I have yet to get an answer to this and would like to ask if ANYBODY can help me with this. Im basically dead in the water if I cant get this to work!!!
I have created the advancedsettings.xml file and placed it where Jester says it goes, but nothing happens. See my previous entry quote above to see that Im looking for.

Appreciate any info anyone can provide.


- ashlar - 2009-05-05

You are looking for a configuration that allows you to do what you stated in post #448? Do I get that correctly?


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.