Kodi Community Forum
[LINUX] HOW-TO install XBMC for Linux on Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy) and 8.10 (Intrepid) - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: [LINUX] HOW-TO install XBMC for Linux on Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy) and 8.10 (Intrepid) (/showthread.php?tid=44019)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44


- molesza - 2009-03-25

im using the P5N7A-VM
ubuntu 8.10
Usb keyboard connected
No Remote at the moment


- molesza - 2009-03-25

Got resume working. Another reboot seems to have fixed it.

The only thing I cant get working now is graphics and cpu temp display.

If I go to Hardware Information it says

CPU Temperature : ?

and video says

GPU Temperature : ?


If i run "sensors - u" in terminal I get

CPU Temp:
temp2_input: 1.00
temp2_max: 80.00
temp2_max_hyst: 75.00
temp2_alarm: 0.00
temp2_type: 1.00

and

im not sure which heading is the gpu temp?

A temp of 1 on the CPU is not right. Am I doing something wrong. I created the advancedsettings.xml under userdata folder with the lines as per guide.


- olympia - 2009-03-25

molesza Wrote:Got resume working. Another reboot seems to have fixed it.

The only thing I cant get working now is graphics and cpu temp display.

If I go to Hardware Information it says

CPU Temperature : ?

and video says

GPU Temperature : ?


If i run "sensors - u" in terminal I get

CPU Temp:
temp2_input: 1.00
temp2_max: 80.00
temp2_max_hyst: 75.00
temp2_alarm: 0.00
temp2_type: 1.00

and

im not sure which heading is the gpu temp?

A temp of 1 on the CPU is not right. Am I doing something wrong. I created the advancedsettings.xml under userdata folder with the lines as per guide.

Did you save advancedsettings.xml to /home/xbmc/.xbmc/userdata folder?
... and it also requires a restart of xbmc.

sensors -u does not provide you with the gpu temp, you need nvidia-settings.


- molesza - 2009-03-25

Thanks!

I did not realise there was another xbmc folder within the xbmc folder Rolleyes

CPU temperature is working now but still no gpu

Here is my advancedsettings.xml

"

<advancedsettings>
<cputempcommand>echo "$(sensors | grep "Core 0" | sed -e 's/[a-z]*..............\([0-9].\)\..*/\1/') C"</cputempcommand>
</advancedsettings>

<advancedsettings>
<gputempcommand>echo "$(nvidia-settings -tq gpuCoreTemp) C"</gputempcommand>
</advancedsettings>

"

Its right isn't it?


- molesza - 2009-03-25

also... nvidia-settings is installed.


- olympia - 2009-03-25

molesza Wrote:Thanks!

I did not realise there was another xbmc folder within the xbmc folder Rolleyes

CPU temperature is working now but still no gpu

Here is my advancedsettings.xml

"

<advancedsettings>
<cputempcommand>echo "$(sensors | grep "Core 0" | sed -e 's/[a-z]*..............\([0-9].\)\..*/\1/') C"</cputempcommand>
</advancedsettings>


<gputempcommand>echo "$(nvidia-settings -tq gpuCoreTemp) C"</gputempcommand>
</advancedsettings>

"

Its right isn't it?

use this:

Code:
<advancedsettings>
<cputempcommand>sensors|sed -ne "s/Core 1: \+[-+]\([0-9]\+\).*/\1 C/p"</cputempcommand>
<gputempcommand>echo "$(nvidia-settings -tq gpuCoreTemp) C"</gputempcommand>
</advancedsettings>



- Ticko - 2009-03-25

Hi! I decided to go for it and try your excellent guide since i messed up my ubuntu/xbmc.

I'm quite new on linux but isn't one row wrong?
Can't get this line to work:
#ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/185.13/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.37-pkg1.run

Shouldnt it be 185.13 on the end?

The next command in your guide is:
# sudo sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-185.13-pkg1.run

So i think that the first line should download the 185.13 pkg right?
Or am i doing something wrong?
Cant get the first line to work, the terminal says that it doesnt exist.


- fasteddy - 2009-03-25

Ticko Wrote:Hi! I decided to go for it and try your excellent guide since i messed up my ubuntu/xbmc.

I'm quite new on linux but isn't one row wrong?
Can't get this line to work:
#ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/185.13/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.37-pkg1.run

Shouldnt it be 185.13 on the end?

The next command in your guide is:
# sudo sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-185.13-pkg1.run

So i think that the first line should download the 185.13 pkg right?
Or am i doing something wrong?
Cant get the first line to work, the terminal says that it doesnt exist.

Yes, the wiki is inconsistent. 185.13 is the latest beta, while (180.37 is already outdated) 180.41 is the latest prerelease. 180.29 is the latest official release. See here.


Official release - stable (180.29):
Code:
wget ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/180.29/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.29-pkg1.run

Prerelease - more recent, reasonably stable (180.41):
Code:
wget ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/180.41/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.41-pkg1.run

Beta release - bleeding edge (seems stable for me, but YMMV) (needed for vdpau - 185.13):
Code:
wget ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/185.13/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-185.13-pkg1.run



- olympia - 2009-03-25

Sorry. My bad. Fixed.


- Ticko - 2009-03-25

The guide almost worked :-)
I installed the Nvidia 185.13.
But after i was complete with the guide and reboot i can se the pulsating logo and after that it keeps resyncing in a loop to my tv (Pioneer plasma 1920*1080). So no Xbmc starts up.
The tv says "no signal" and after about 1s it says "1920*1080 50Hz" and its keeps doing that in a loop.

Should i use another Nvidia release?

I have a Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H motherboard and it doesnt have support for VDPAU since it is a onboard geforce 7100.

I will try the 180.41 and se if it will work.

How do i uninstall the 185.13?
When i try to install the 180.41 it says that X server is running and won't install.
I tried the command - sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop but it doesnt work.
Anyone knowing the right command to stop X server or anything that can help?
Thanks!


- olympia - 2009-03-26

Ticko Wrote:The guide almost worked :-)
I installed the Nvidia 185.13.
But after i was complete with the guide and reboot i can se the pulsating logo and after that it keeps resyncing in a loop to my tv (Pioneer plasma 1920*1080). So no Xbmc starts up.
The tv says "no signal" and after about 1s it says "1920*1080 50Hz" and its keeps doing that in a loop.

Should i use another Nvidia release?

I have a Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H motherboard and it doesnt have support for VDPAU since it is a onboard geforce 7100.

I will try the 180.41 and se if it will work.

How do i uninstall the 185.13?
When i try to install the 180.41 it says that X server is running and won't install.
I tried the command - sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop but it doesnt work.
Anyone knowing the right command to stop X server or anything that can help?
Thanks!

There is no gdm...

I don't think it will be the nvidia driver. I think you missed something in the guide or xbmc not compiled correctly.
First, check if you have a /usr/share/xbmc folder.

If you want to stop trying to start xbmc, together with X, rename runXBMC.sh:

Code:
sudo mv /usr/bin/runXBMC.sh /usr/bin/something

then reboot with sudo reboot. (then you can try to downgrade your nvidia driver as well)

You can also try from the console
Code:
startx

Then

Code:
xbmc
from within x

and see what happens.

But again, I think you missed something.


- Ticko - 2009-03-26

Thank you for your help, i really appreciate it!

I didn't have a xbmc folder in /usr/share/
Folder doesn't exist when i tried to "cd" into it, cant see it either with "ls".
What does it mean? :-)


- olympia - 2009-03-26

Ticko Wrote:Thank you for your help, i really appreciate it!

I didn't have a xbmc folder in /usr/share/
Folder doesn't exist when i tried to "cd" into it, cant see it either with "ls".
What does it mean? :-)

it means you missed the step

sudo make install

Or maybe xbmc was not compiled successfully.

try to

Code:
cd /home/xbmc/XBMC

Code:
sudo make install



- Ticko - 2009-03-26

Wowh! You were ofcourse right! It works nowBig Grin
I'm really happy now.
You should have a linux/xbmc black belt in your avatar or something!

Thank you soo much for your time and effort in this guide and thanks for helping me and all xbmc fans out there!

My XBMC htpc that you helped me with :-) http://www.minhembio.com/Ticko

Ted(Ticko) from sweden http://www.xbmc.nu is the swedish fansite.


- queeup - 2009-03-26

Note for common and noob linux users:
If you are update Xorg you must recompile nvidia kernel module. Dont forget that.
Simply just install nvidia driver gain. Use @olympia nvidia driver install section Smile