Kodi Community Forum
[LINUX] HOW-TO install XBMC for Linux on Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy) and 8.10 (Intrepid) - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: [LINUX] HOW-TO install XBMC for Linux on Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy) and 8.10 (Intrepid) (/showthread.php?tid=44019)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44


- olympia - 2009-02-01

butchjr Wrote:Thanks a lot whoever you are who made this How-to. I could never get the xsession to work without you!

Concerning the xsession, we have to say thanks to Luigi (L.capriotti), developer of XBMC Live, as this xsession is extracted from the Live version.

Regarding the new kernel. What're the benefits of that?


- butchjr - 2009-02-01

I needed ext4, that's the primary reason, and a vanilla kernel boot much faster, and this far I have no problems with my tiny kernel running xbmc.


- olympia - 2009-02-01

butchjr Wrote:I needed ext4, that's the primary reason, and a vanilla kernel boot much faster, and this far I have no problems with my tiny kernel running xbmc.

Have you read this thread: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=43075

Are you experiencing the same with your kernel?

Thanks for the feedback!


- butchjr - 2009-02-01

No, I have even cpuload. Its around 40-50% on both cores when i decode 720p material with my 1,8ghz dual-core.


- alanwww1 - 2009-02-01

The problem only really comes out when you decode something which is eating up at least 100% of one core.

Could you try killasample.mkv ? and see the utilizations.

I have already tried Jaunty alpha 2 with latest kernel. It does NOT make a difference. Only the load sharing is better, but the sum of the two cores never goes up to 120-130% ! So the decode is still going sequential ! (in Hardy it reaches 190 or 195% when decoding killasample)


- butchjr - 2009-02-02

ofcourse. I'll do anything to contribute and/or help.
Where do I find the killasample.mkv?


- olympia - 2009-02-02

butchjr Wrote:ofcourse. I'll do anything to contribute and/or help.
Where do I find the killasample.mkv?

The torrent file is here: http://tracker.hatters.org.uk/torrents/

However, I am not sure, that with an 1.8GHz CPU, it could be representative.


- alanwww1 - 2009-02-02

butchjr Wrote:ofcourse. I'll do anything to contribute and/or help.
Where do I find the killasample.mkv?

Or alt least you could try any 1080p sample. That should show if decoding goes parelell- or sequential threaded.

Thanks for testing !


- danode - 2009-02-02

Hello, thank you Olympia (and other contributors) for this excellent guide, it saved me from going insane trying to get 24hz / auto refreshrate in my old intrepid full installation :-) (i even reverted to XP xbmc with terrible results)

Everything i want works perfect, i get good playback with 1080p .mkv and auto refreshrates.

BUT! for some reason, xbmc menu is slow. the yellow lights that are supposed to pulse next to Videos, Pictures, etc not so much pulse but stutter. And its a bit jerky going between pages.

Anyone got a clue why? Its not terribly important as i have full funcionality, but it would be nice for impressing my mates Wink

I do not use powernow (since i did not find any mention of CPU scaling in my bios) and i have applied Arons patch. Installed SVN xbmc since saturday 23:30 GMT+1.

I use a MSI K9AGM motherboard with AMD2 2400+ cpu and a geforce 8500gt, 2gb ram and a 120gb 2.5" hdd.

Thanks in advance!


- butchjr - 2009-02-02

alanwww1 Wrote:Or alt least you could try any 1080p sample. That should show if decoding goes parelell- or sequential threaded.

Thanks for testing !

I played Death Race 2008 1080p sample, and i played nicely on my htpc, no lost frames, but the cpu-usage was sometimes CPU1 60% CPU2 60% and sometimes CPU1 80% CPU2 30%. But playback was smooth.

When I tried the killasample i experienced the exact same thing, CPU1 80% CPU2 80%, and a couple of seconds later CPU1 90% and CPU2 20%. But with the killasample, ofcourse, I hade lots of lost frames Wink


- olympia - 2009-02-02

The GUIDE HAS BEEN MOVED TO THE WIKI!

You can find it here:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=HOW-TO:_Install_XBMC_for_Linux_on_Ubuntu_8.10_(Intrepid)_step-by-step

In the future you will only find the changelog in this post.

Changelog:
02/02/2009
- The guide moved to the wiki
- Changed back to the "official" ALSA upgrade script from Ubuntuforums Thanks for the script to soundcheck
- Modified nvidia xorg.conf to work with any compatible nvidia card (detect native resolution and 24p support. Thanks to alanwww1
- Added Ati driver upgrade
- Added splash install
- Added Thermal monitoring
- Added BIOS OEM splash
- Added DVD eject button trick
- Added some boot time reducement trick
- Added Wake On Lan configuration


- olympia - 2009-02-02

danode Wrote:BUT! for some reason, xbmc menu is slow. the yellow lights that are supposed to pulse next to Videos, Pictures, etc not so much pulse but stutter. And its a bit jerky going between pages.

Anyone got a clue why?

I think XBMC started with 24Hz refresh rate. You have to change it to 60Hz (or the native resolution of your panel) at XBMC settings/appearance....


- danode - 2009-02-02

Thank you for quick reply, but my display is (like yours) native 1080p 24/50/60

But i will try [email protected] as start refreshrate instead of 24 (as i know i have now)

And btw, the link for wiki dont work?


- olympia - 2009-02-02

danode Wrote:Thank you for quick reply, but my display is (like yours) native 1080p 24/50/60

But i will try [email protected] as start refreshrate instead of 24 (as i know i have now)

And btw, the link for wiki dont work?

Link fixed. Thanks.

Regarding the refresh rate: even if you have 24p support, XBMC interface has to run at 60Hz. Then if autorefresh is enabled, it will change to 24/50Hz according to your media source.


- alanwww1 - 2009-02-02

Or your hardware can't keep up the 60fps.

This was my case with my integrqated 9400 nvidia. I had to use the memories in dual channel mode to get it working.