Kodi Community Forum
XBMC Remote for Android - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Supplementary Tools for Kodi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=116)
+---- Forum: Kodi Remote for Android Official Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=129)
+---- Thread: XBMC Remote for Android (/showthread.php?tid=55346)



WOL Integration - zippelmann - 2009-09-13

Hello,

I wrote the WOL integration myself. Here it is: http://pastebin.com/m4b1f5b9a

The problem is, that my xbmc pc (zotac ionitx A) does not want to wake up via LAN. So I am not able to test it at the momoent. I activated it at the bios, but it does not work.


- Jonny_137 - 2009-09-13

Hi,

first: A very good JOB! It looks great!

But i have a Problem:
When i want to open everything else than Remote i get a "Unknown I/O Exception" error or a forceclose, which depends on the Version.
(2.3 "Unknown I/O Exception"
2.4 ForceClose)
Remote Works.

My hardware:
G1 with JacxHero 2.0 if it helps.

Plz help, i'm searching for an XBMC remote since a long time xD
THX
Jonny


- zippelmann - 2009-09-13

Jonny_137 Wrote:Hi,

first: A very good JOB! It looks great!

But i have a Problem:
When i want to open everything else than Remote i get a "Unknown I/O Exception" error or a forceclose, which depends on the Version.
(2.3 "Unknown I/O Exception"
2.4 ForceClose)
Remote Works.

My hardware:
G1 with JacxHero 2.0 if it helps.

Plz help, i'm searching for an XBMC remote since a long time xD
THX
Jonny

Did you controll the settings ? Do you see the version of xbmc in the first view ?


- Jonny_137 - 2009-09-13

Hi
The settings are correct.
Do you mean the xbmc version?
It is: xbmc svn 20948 (babylon release)


- topfs2 - 2009-09-13

zippelmann Wrote:Hello,

I wrote the WOL integration myself. Here it is: http://pastebin.com/m4b1f5b9a

The problem is, that my xbmc pc (zotac ionitx A) does not want to wake up via LAN. So I am not able to test it at the momoent. I activated it at the bios, but it does not work.

Neat, I have just glanzed at it but I don't really see the need for the ConnectionThreadClass since the code feels much more suited in the view instead, as all the members are there already.

And mostly nitpicks
The wakeuplistener could perhaps be made simpler like this (or close enough, haven't compiled and tried)
Code:
        final Button button = (Button) findViewById(R.id.WakeUpButton);;
        button.setOnClickListener(new View.OnClickListener() {
                public void onClick(View v) {
                ((Button) v.findViewById(R.id.WakeUpButton)).setVisibility(android.view.View.INVISIBLE);
                Thread thread = new Thread(new WakeUpThread(this.activity, v.getContext(), connectRetries, homeHandler));
                 thread.start();
            }
        });

The WakeUpThread is it really needed since it's just a quick send? if it is I'd say it's probably easier to extend thread instead, less code.

Anyways, nice otherwise, if you could check over this it would be really awesome to have WOL in the remote!

Cheers,
Tobias


- zippelmann - 2009-09-14

Jonny_137 Wrote:Do you mean the xbmc version?
It is: xbmc svn 20948 (babylon release)
Yes, it indicates that the remote established a connection.

You can try some older versions of the remote. Maybe there are some critical changes. Sry, I do not have other ideas.


- zippelmann - 2009-09-14

Topfs2 Wrote:Neat, I have just glanzed at it but I don't really see the need for the ConnectionThreadClass since the code feels much more suited in the view instead, as all the members are there already.
I sourced the code out to three own classes because of the rule: one class one job. But you are right. Your way would use less code.
Topfs2 Wrote:The WakeUpThread is it really needed since it's just a quick send? if it is I'd say it's probably easier to extend thread instead, less code.
The WakeUpThread controlls if the XBMC is realy online. It is similary to the other thread, that is correct. With some if-clauses it would be possible to have one Thread-class.
Topfs2 Wrote:The wakeuplistener could perhaps be made simpler like this.
Hm.. I already mailed it to freezy. I do not like inline definition. I suggested one internal class (http://pastebin.com/m70f2c320). That would make the code clearer in my opinion. The WakeUpListener could be implemented in a second internal class.

I wrote the full instantiation of the WakeUp-Button not in the OnCreate-Method, because it is not needed, if there is no network connection.


- revned - 2009-09-17

This a fantastic application, using it on my HTC Hero right now. Nod


- Adman65 - 2009-09-19

Im confused on the 'Remote' functionality. I can connect and do everything else. When I use the remote nothing happens. Shouldn't I be able to use the remote to navigate within xbmc?


- topfs2 - 2009-09-19

Adman65 Wrote:Im confused on the 'Remote' functionality. I can connect and do everything else. When I use the remote nothing happens. Shouldn't I be able to use the remote to navigate within xbmc?

Remote part uses EventServer which is closed to local only access by default, the rest uses httpapi which is open by default (if activated) so please check your eventserver settings. Allow acces from other computer should be on.


Zeroconf Support - NetHunter - 2009-09-19

I have added some Zeroconf support, wasn't sure where to post the patch, so I posted it here:

http://code.google.com/p/android-xbmcremote/issues/detail?id=3

Cheers,
Dave


- coredalae - 2009-09-19

I really dig this app, works great.

Just 2 things i'd change (not sure its possible though..)

1: add volume controll support to the now playing screen. because when i'm listening to music with my tv turned off i'd basicaly only have to use that screen then
2: change the volume control so it doesnt control the phone audio as well, because now we have a beeping remote every time we change the volume.

^^ other then that, VERY nice work!


- nurriz - 2009-09-19

Great app! You really should release it to the market. It beats the socks of Boxee remote. I like that you have the context menu buttons. Thanks again!


- freezy - 2009-09-20

Volume control will be available on all screens obviously and will not control the phone audio as well, that's a bug. Wink

I will look at the zeroconf code too. And at zippelman's WOL patch too of course.

Thanks for all the positive feedback so far although we're not quite yet where we want to be. Smile


- coredalae - 2009-09-20

another bug:

when browsing though music/video's i have added my lib as a source so it shows up on the web interface. for the web interface this works fine, but in this app it just shows me numbers instead of names/taggs