Kodi Community Forum
[RELEASE] Rom Collection Browser - Browse and launch emulator game ROMs - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Game Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=291)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] Rom Collection Browser - Browse and launch emulator game ROMs (/showthread.php?tid=70115)



- Eldorado - 2010-10-27

Can add-ons call other add-ons?

If so, would it make more sense to split out the game scrapers to be separate add-ons that can be individually updated and possibly used by others?

The way this add-on is growing, it's soon going to be a full fledged games library like we have been waiting for Smile


- malte - 2010-10-27

@dunz0r: Yes, it is extra work to make RCB-skins for other XBMC-skins. This is the difference between a plugin (like Launcher) and scripts (like RCB): A plugin has no own GUI, it just uses the default views that the current skin provides. Pro: You will have a seamless look and feel in all skins, Contra: Extra functionality that is not included in the skins views must be implemented as Mods of the skin (like Angelscry or butchabay did for Launchers fanart support). A script has to provide its own GUI independant from the current skin. Pro: All extra functionality is available in all skins, Contra: RCB for example does always look like Confluence or you have to build extra skins like mcborzu did for his Night skin. Thanks again for doing this!Smile

If you want to take a look at skinning RCB you could start here. You will find the skin files in the scripts install directory RCB/resources/skins. You don't need to change anything in the python code, "just" add new xml files that define the look and feel for other skins. If you need help doing this, just let me know. I am an awful skinner, but I could show you some basics.


@Eldorado: I started to extract my scraping code, not as a separate addon but as a separate python module. It should be possible to use it from other addons with a simple one-liner. If anyone is interested, I am happy to share.


- hikaricore - 2010-10-27

malte Wrote:@hikaricore: Favourites are on my list since the first release but they have always been displaced by other issues. But I am sure they will come one day.

There's not a doubt in my mind. ^_^
I was just kinda thinking outloud with my fingers.


- hikaricore - 2010-10-29

Is there any sensible ways to handle mame/arcade collections yet with a scraper?


- malte - 2010-10-29

No, I don't think so. None of the scraped sites has MAME info afaics. I did not set it up myself but I think there are some specialities with handling MAME roms that RCB does not support until now. But it is on my list (one entry behind favourite functionSmile)

Do you know any good (and scrapable) MAME/Arcade sites? Scrapable means that it must be possible to get info about one certain game with a name (or crc) search and there should not be any terms of use that forbid scraping explicitly. But I will check scrapability and permission on my own, just let me know if you know any sites with good info.


- ameinild - 2010-10-29

Thanks for the link Jason, this will make it much easier to get started using ROMs...


- hikaricore - 2010-10-30

There's no special support needed, they're just launched with mame or sdlmame, the emulator handles the extra romsets and such. Smile

As far as scrapeable sites, I'll look into that and see what I can find then relay the info to you.
At the very least there are info sets for roms for use with frontends but I've not messed with them for years.


- malte - 2010-10-30

Just for descriptions RCB can already handle these info sets, at least the xml files: http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=605101&postcount=518.

A better choice could be the description file that spyvsspy has compiled for us: http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=612640&postcount=580. ParseInstruction is included.

You can add these files as you would do with scrapers.

In RomCollection:
Code:
<scraper name="MAME" />

In Scrapers:
Code:
<Site name="MAME">
    <Scraper parseInstruction="F:\Emulatoren\MAME\parserConfig.xml" source="F:\Emulatoren\MAME\mame.txt"/>
</Site>

If we find a site that is scrapable you can also combine both infos: using the description from the files and additionally scrape online. RCB will merge both results together.


- smithr99 - 2010-10-30

im getting black screens when trying to run any of my emus through RCB. I recently updated to Dharma Beta3 and also updated my kernel via dist-upgrade.

Here's my log file ...

Code:
14:57:34 T:2877606768 M:1658454016  NOTICE: RCB_INFO: cmd: /usr/bin/zsnes -m "/media/roms/SNES/Roms/ActRaiser 2 (U) [!].smc"
14:57:34 T:2877606768 M:1658454016  NOTICE: RCB_INFO: launchEmu on non-xbox
14:57:34 T:3077859200 M:1658454016   DEBUG: HttpApi Start command: GetSystemInfoByName  paras: GetSystemInfoByName; system.screenmode
14:57:34 T:2877606768 M:1658454016  NOTICE: RCB_INFO: screenMode: 1920x1080 @ 60.00 - Full Screen
14:57:34 T:2877606768 M:1658454016  NOTICE: RCB_INFO: Toggle to Windowed mode
14:57:34 T:3077859200 M:1658454016   DEBUG: HttpApi Start command: Action  paras: Action; 199
14:57:34 T:2877606768 M:1658454016  NOTICE: RCB_INFO: launch emu
14:57:52 T:3077859200 M:1626898432   DEBUG: SECTION:UnloadDelayed(DLL: special://xbmcbin/system/ImageLib-i486-linux.so)
14:57:52 T:3077859200 M:1626898432   DEBUG: Unloading: ImageLib-i486-linux.so
14:57:52 T:3077859200 M:1626898432   DEBUG: SECTION:UnloadDll(libcurl-gnutls.so.4)
14:57:52 T:3077859200 M:1626898432   DEBUG: Unloading: libcurl-gnutls.so.4

any ideas ?

thanks

EDIT: I also get these problems when trying to run znes through ssh ...
Code:
Starting Mouse detection.
ManyMouse: 3 mice detected.
Using ManyMouse for:
Mouse 0: MCE Remote Keyboard
Mouse 1: Microsoft Microsoft Wireless Optical Mouse® 1.0A
File opened successfully !
init kbd.

Audio Opened.
Driver: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (ALSA) output
Channels: 2
Rate: 32000

Device 0 Xbox Gamepad (userspace driver)
  5 axis, 15 buttons, 0 hats, 0 balls
Device 1 Xbox Gamepad (userspace driver)
  5 axis, 15 buttons, 0 hats, 0 balls
ALSA: underrun, at least 0ms.
ALSA: underrun, at least 0ms.
ALSA: underrun, at least 0ms.
ALSA: underrun, at least 0ms.



- malte - 2010-10-30

At the first glance it does not look RCB related. Are you on XBMC Live?

I did not update my Linux environment to Dharma and the latest RCB version until now. So I can't test it here atm.


- smithr99 - 2010-10-30

yep on xbmc live on a ASRock ION 330HT. Let me know if i need to repost this in linux only forum and not RCB


- draggy - 2010-10-30

How can I add more then one rompath to your new 0.7.4 version?

I need something like:
<romPath>PathToRoms\*.img</romPath>
<romPath>PathToRoms\*.bin</romPath>

but having two entries didn't seem to work.

On another note I really like the new version. I'm happy that there's now scrapers Wink


- malte - 2010-10-30

@smithr99: Maybe a good idea to repost it in a more general thread.

When you try it per ssh and get these ALSA underrun errors, zsnes also won't start, right? If so, then I think this error is your problem in RCB, too. You just don't see the error message in XBMC log because they happen "outside" of XBMCs control.

@draggy: Tested it here and it works as expected. You could try to set RCBs Log Level to INFO (now accessible via Settings UI) and scrape again. Search for your romPaths in the log and see what happens there or pastebin the log to let me check it.


- hikaricore - 2010-10-31

I completely forgot to mention before that I was never able to get fallback images working.
Tried both variations of the xml you gave me originally to no avail, and now with the new config layout I'm not sure how I should go about it.
Gonna keep messing with it but if you have any ideas on how to get it working properly let me know. ^_^


rcb help pls - ali2k1 - 2010-11-01

hi to all, im very new to this and been trying and reading and searching for hours but i cant seem to get it right . can you please have a look at the logs and advise me.

xbmclog:

http://tinypaste.com/300bc


rcb config:

http://tinypaste.com/6971f

thank you