Kodi Community Forum
AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Kodi Application (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=93)
--- Thread: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS (/showthread.php?tid=78289)



RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - tripkip - 2012-11-19

AE devs, please take a look at: http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/13578


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - Mettbrot - 2012-11-19

(2012-11-19, 10:27)tripkip Wrote: AE devs, please take a look at: http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/13578

See 1779 (PR)


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - Ghostdivision - 2012-11-28

Would their be any consideration to putting the advanced settings options in the new audio engine into the gui itself?


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - auszig - 2012-12-09

Hi Devs,

Logged a ticket in regards to HDMI being removed as an audio output device by AE.

http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/13702


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - versus_rob - 2012-12-13

Hi Devs,

First i`d like to say that XBMC(+OpenElec) is the greatest! Thank you for building this fine piece of software. There is an issue though:

When playing movies I`m getting audio issues, it`s like crackling/popping sound. It`s not always there, seems it has to do with louder passages. I was not having this issue in Eden.

When playing music everything is GREAT! bitperfect...

Settings:
AC3 & DTS (both have issues), set to downmix to 2 channel PCM
System: Zotac Zbox ID84, OpenElec 3.0 (tried latest beta`s)
USB Audio device: M2Tech HiFace2 (coax SPDIF)
->also tried onboard optical SPDIF
advancedsettings.xml: audio.audiophile = 1 (and also tried 0)
Amp: Harman Kardon HK990

Is this a known issue?

Regards, Rob

**EDIT**
When I turn off the "boost volume level on downmixing" function everything is okay!



RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - versus_rob - 2012-12-14

Hi Devs,

I`m having diffeculties with my USB audio device (M2Tech HiFace2). When plugging in, it is not detected immediately. After rebooting and plugging in and out the device, it will be detected and does work. This is a problem I have for all releases so far. Since RC1 I noticed another problem; when I put the system into sleep and resume back then there is no sound, although the USB audio device is selected in the system audio settings. I can fix it by switching back and forward to another audio device and then back to the USB audio device. I cannot learn my girlfriend to do this everytime ;-)

I think the order at which the audio devices are initialized at boot/resume is causing this problem. It`s like xbmc thinks the USB audio device is located at "hw:1,0" but after resume/reboot the system located it at "hw:2,0" (for example).

Please feel free to contact me for more information about this issue.

Is this a known issue?

Can I create a ticket in the bugtracker?

Regards, Rob


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - florian77 - 2012-12-15

I am very excited about the new Adio Engine. I read in an announcement, that AE supports digital signal processing. I would love to write a bunch of DPS for different steroe effects (stereo widening, stereo equalizer, head related transfer functions), but I don't have a clue where to start. Can you give me a hint or even provide some API documentation or the like?


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - jjd-uk - 2012-12-15

I don't think the DSP support made it into Frodo, the work has been completed I believe by Damain and just needs to be merged into the XBMC code, but it seems it was deemed too much change for Frodo. This and other AE improvements will come in the development cycle for the next XBMC release V13 Gotham.


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - florian77 - 2012-12-16

Thank you very much for your reply. Well, then, I am waiting impatiently for RC V13 Big Grin


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - ashlar - 2012-12-19

Tried Frodo RC1 with DTS files inside a FLAC container (WAVs don't allow for tags). They still do not playback gaplessly, like they do perfectly using Squeezebox units.


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - Thrillh0use - 2012-12-20

Hi there,

on the Wiki page of AE there is a TODO "rules-based decisions for output formats based on hardware capabilities". This sounds like there will be an auto-detection mechanism so that an user doesn't have to configure the hardware caps in the settings gui anymore. If so, is anyone already working on that feature? Are there any rough thoughts on the exact feature set or any discussion inside this thread? I'm just starting to working on a similar feature as I need this on my HTPC anyways...


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - tudstudent - 2012-12-27

I will cross post my message, since I obviously missed this main treath (admins pls feel free to move my question to here -> where I think it belongs):

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=149721

I have an error with Audio engine which result in dropping of Bitstream on my receiver. In my xbmc log a clear error is defined.
Hope someone can help.


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - DDDamian - 2012-12-28

@Thrillh0use - it's back-burner as we sort through the known issues and inevitable new ones as Frodo is released, and then roll in other features like DSPs. But yes, the idea is to automate the settings selections as much as possible.


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - Thrillh0use - 2013-01-07

@DDDamian: thanks for the reply. I did some hacking on that topic and added some code that does the trick for DSound/WASAPI with a fairly standard HDMI A/V setup but seems to be unreliable as soon as some on-the-fly mode switches occur (turning the A/V receiver on and off for example). I'll pursue this feature and I'll let you guys know as soon as I have something that I consider stable enough for a merge/review.


RE: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - dsim - 2013-01-11

mac mini late 2012, 2.6 ghz, 4gb ram. osx 10.8.2. frodo rc3, nightly 10.1.2013, rc3 64-bit. all used. connected to onkyo 609, jamo 608 5.0. all clean install, new mac, no other programm was installed.

1. i choose hdmi, dts, ac3 capable. IF LPCM IS CHECKED, the the next song do not play automatically. tested with flac, alac, aac, alac 24/96. so the LPCM must be unchecked.

2. on the begining 2.5 sec after start there is a cut on every song!!!

3. alac24/96 is very bad. after playing alac 24/96 and play aac or normal alac, the songs are played with very fast tempo, very, very, very fast. when i go back on alac24/96 the songs play very, very, very slow. very slow tempo.

could you please be so kind and make the basics working and then truehd and dtsma, because now is imposible listen to music.

4. the gui sounds sometimes i can hear sometimes not.

as i can see, frodo is only windows linux media center. in the wiki there is no comment about osx. alac 24/96 dont work as should. in itunes there are no problems.

edit: if in osx midi settings i set hdmi output to 16bit 44 khz, then hdtracks play ok. but this is not the solution.

the stream silence doesnt work for me. onkyo searches for signal between songs.

BUT... if i tell in advancedsettings.xml, audiophile 1, than i get to onkyo the right sample rates for every song, 16/44, 24/88, 24/96... i can not understand this. is this pass through?. on osx?