Kodi Community Forum
guisettings.xml overscan settings reseting - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
---- Thread: guisettings.xml overscan settings reseting (/showthread.php?tid=84181)



guisettings.xml overscan settings reseting - alex84 - 2010-10-27

Hi had this problem for some time now but have not been able to solve it. My htpc is connected with hdmi to recevier and then to tv. If my reciver is not on when i start mediapc the screen and overscan settings will reset itself.

After some searching i found this thread
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=61801

That apply to me exactly, but still it keeps reseting.
This is the resolution and overscan that works for me
Code:
<resolution>
            <description>1280x720 @ 60.00 - Full Screen</description>
            <subtitles>670</subtitles>
            <pixelratio>1.000000</pixelratio>
            <refreshrate>60.000000</refreshrate>
            <output>default</output>
            <xrandrid>0x12b</xrandrid>
            <overscan>
                <left>38</left>
                <top>24</top>
                <right>1243</right>
                <bottom>695</bottom>
            </overscan>
        </resolution>

And after i start my mediapc with recevier off reset and my overscan settings is lost.
Code:
<resolution>
            <description>1280x720 @ 60.00 - Full Screen</description>
            <subtitles>694</subtitles>
            <pixelratio>1.000000</pixelratio>
            <refreshrate>60.000000</refreshrate>
            <output>default</output>
            <xrandrid>0x12b</xrandrid>
            <overscan>
                <left>0</left>
                <top>0</top>
                <right>1280</right>
                <bottom>720</bottom>
            </overscan>
        </resolution>

Any help is higly appriciated


- bobo1on1 - 2010-10-27

Debug log please Smile


- alex84 - 2010-10-27

Sorry for that... here is my debug

http://pastebin.com/piciWrdQ


- MacUsers - 2010-10-28

alex84 Wrote:Any help is higly appriciated
Any chance you are connected to the receiver via HDMI? Cheers!!


- alex84 - 2010-10-28

Hi i have find the solution to my problem woohhoo =)

I did not think that it would apply for me first but it did, and now after i understand why. Solution was find in the sticky: Howto achieve judder free perfectly synced playback. http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=70068

After i done everthing and my xorg.conf was modified with right resolution, in my case force 1080 and let the downscaling be done by the tv, everthing is fine. Done several test and the resolution stick =)

Cheers


- bobo1on1 - 2010-10-28

Interesting, the xrandrid in guisettings.xml doesn't match with the one in the logfile.


- aeiah - 2010-10-28

i have this issue because i have a normal pc monitor and an hdtv attached, and my tv only has 1 hdmi socket. so, if ive forgot to unplug the xbox and put the pc one back in it'll pop up on my monitor, and ill lose my overscan settings.

this method wouldn't work for me because my tv cant accept 1080p.

i was thinking of making a script that overwrites the relevant section of guisettings.xml, but i havent got round to it yet. id launch the script just before launching xbmc. cant see why it wouldnt work. just a simple find-and-replace or something, or even just copying guisettings.xml.backup to guisettings.xml might work.


- alex84 - 2010-10-28

bobo1on1 Wrote:Interesting, the xrandrid in guisettings.xml doesn't match with the one in the logfile.

Well it didn't seem right to me when it keeps reseting. I did solve my problem with the perfect playback sticky. If we are on to any bugg i can send more log files if needed.


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.