Kodi Community Forum
[CLOSED] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Game Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=291)
+---- Thread: [CLOSED] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC (/showthread.php?tid=85724)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453


- danz0l - 2011-05-14

htpc guy Wrote:First off, don't forget to make the .sh file excicutable. I'm running a full linux install w/ gui so I right clicked on the file and checked the box in the properties. For a live install there is a command you could run:

Code:
chmod +x applaunch.sh
(I'm almost certain that that should work. May have to be run as sudo.

Code:
<launcher>

    <name>Nintendo 64 (N64)</name>
        
    <application>/home/htpc/applaunch.sh</application>
        
    <args>/usr/games/mupen64plus --nogui --fullscreen --noask</args>
    <rompath>/home/htpc/Documents/N64_Roms</rompath

        <thumbpath>/home/htpc/Documents/N64_Roms</thumbpath>
    
        <fanartpath>/home/htpc/Documents/N64_Roms</fanartpath>
        
    <romext>z64|n64</romext>
        
    <platform>Nintendo 64</platform>
        
    <thumb>/home/htpc/Documents/647px-nintendo_64_logo.png</thumb>    
        
        <fanart>/home/htpc/Documents/N64_fanart.bmp</fanart>
        
    <genre>3D Console</genre>
        
    <release>1997</release>
        
    <publisher>Nintendo</publisher>
        
    <launcherplot></launcherplot>
        <rom></rom>
</launcher>

So if you take a look at the xml file you can see that ALA launches applaunch.sh
It in turn closes XBMC and then uses the arguments passed to it from ALA.
The arguments launch Mupen without a gui and fullscreen. When you close the emulator applaunch.sh will reopen XBMC.

Im wondering did anyone ever get this working on a xbmclive version ? If i launch from adl it executes the applaunch.sh, quits xbmc, then reloads xbmc. If i do it from command line it stops xbmc, loads up the rom, plays then runs xbmc (i can hear the n64 audio playing but no picture). Any ideas ? Tried with and without sudo


- aptalca - 2011-05-14

Amazing script, excellent wiki and user guide.

Kudos Angelscry

(I remember when I first tried out "Launcher" over a year ago, it took me a while to set it up w/ roms. There was no documentation)


- ^FrEaK^ - 2011-05-14

but i can have both xbmc AND minecraft running at the same time if i just do it manually (minimize xbmc and then starting minecraft from windows)


- danz0l - 2011-05-14

Ok to add further to my post i have found the mupen64emu works perfectly ONLY if xbmc is quit, putting xbmc in pause mode doesnt help.

I quite xbmc-live with

Quote:sudo /etc/init.d/xbmc-live stop

Then invoked mupen64emu via xinit, resulting in perfect sound and perfect emulation

Quote:xinit /usr/bin/mupen64plus --saveoptions --nogui --noask --noosd --fullscreen /pathtoroms

So tried a bash script that should exit xbmc, invoke the rom and run and upon exit relaunch xbmc. However its not working

Quote:#!/bin/bash
sudo /etc/init.d/xbmc-live stop

xinit /usr/bin/mupen64plus --saveoptions --nogui --noask --noosd --fullscreen "$1"
sudo /etc/init.d/xbmc-live start

So anyone any ideas how to proceed ? mupen64 is pretty unplayable for most roms using the method launcher is invoking currently on xbmc-live and xinit offers a solution for us xbmc-live users


- Angelscry - 2011-05-14

^FrEaK^ Wrote:but i can have both xbmc AND minecraft running at the same time if i just do it manually (minimize xbmc and then starting minecraft from windows)
Ok... so another possibility if that minecraft cannot been started directly from XBMC due to a problem of use rights. The same problem occur when we want to start the Boxee from XBMC. Here are different example how to bypass this problem, using the small CPAU application : http://www.gwenael.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=25


- Angelscry - 2011-05-14

danz0l Wrote:So tried a bash script that should exit xbmc, invoke the rom and run and upon exit relaunch xbmc. However its not working
What is not working with your script? XMBC did not close? Mupen64 did not start? Or XBMC do not restart? As often for me, do you not forget to make your script executable (chmod +x)? Wink


- lightshow12 - 2011-05-15

In your script, you perhaps do a ps -aef | grep emulatorprocess and when there is not a process running you can have it launch xbmc.

Or add a new cronjob with crontab -e

and tell it to run this script every 5 sec

#!/bin/bash


#variables
# wc -l will give you a result in numbers; normally when you grep a process you get one result for your actual search process pid and then another one for the process running
xbmcrunning=`ps -aef | grep xbmc | wc -l`
emulatorxrunning=`ps -aef | grep xbmc | wc -l`

#psuedo code

# xbmc is runing and emulator is running
if xbmcrunning = 2 and emulatorxrunning = 2
kill xbmc or minimize or something

# emualtor is not running and xbmc is not running -> case when you exit emulator
if xbmcrunning = 1 and emulatorxrunning = 1
start xbmc


Of course, you'd add better syntax, but this is just an idea of one way you can do it.


- danz0l - 2011-05-15

Angelscry Wrote:What is not working with your script? XBMC did not close? Mupen64 did not start? Or XBMC do not restart? As often for me, do you not forget to make your script executable (chmod +x)? Wink

xbmc doesnt force close, so the emulator doesnt start Sad


- danz0l - 2011-05-15

lightshow12 Wrote:In your script, you perhaps do a ps -aef | grep emulatorprocess and when there is not a process running you can have it launch xbmc.

Or add a new cronjob with crontab -e

and tell it to run this script every 5 sec

#!/bin/bash


#variables
# wc -l will give you a result in numbers; normally when you grep a process you get one result for your actual search process pid and then another one for the process running
xbmcrunning=`ps -aef | grep xbmc | wc -l`
emulatorxrunning=`ps -aef | grep xbmc | wc -l`

#psuedo code

# xbmc is runing and emulator is running
if xbmcrunning = 2 and emulatorxrunning = 2
kill xbmc or minimize or something

# emualtor is not running and xbmc is not running -> case when you exit emulator
if xbmcrunning = 1 and emulatorxrunning = 1
start xbmc


Of course, you'd add better syntax, but this is just an idea of one way you can do it.

Thanks mate, understand that. It appears however that sudo /etc/init.d/xbmclive stop doesnt close X and xbmc when run through a bash script. I cant just kill xbmc.bin as it automatically reloads as its classed as the x windows manager in xbmclive. Im seriously thinking that the best way is re-install using ubuntu desktop and remove xbmclive. This will allow me to kill xbmc.bin, run the emu then reload xbmc using malte's script.


- Angelscry - 2011-05-15

danz0l Wrote:Thanks mate, understand that. It appears however that sudo /etc/init.d/xbmclive stop doesnt close X and xbmc when run through a bash script. I cant just kill xbmc.bin as it automatically reloads as its classed as the x windows manager in xbmclive. Im seriously thinking that the best way is re-install using ubuntu desktop and remove xbmclive. This will allow me to kill xbmc.bin, run the emu then reload xbmc using malte's script.
Best way will be to install a light linux distribution (Debian or ArchLinux) that will only contain necessary packages, and using a light windows manager (like openbox) for X start and then start XBMC at openbox start. XBMCLIve is great, but have less flexibility than a personal linux+XBMC installation.


- ^FrEaK^ - 2011-05-16

Angelscry Wrote:Ok... so another possibility if that minecraft cannot been started directly from XBMC due to a problem of use rights. The same problem occur when we want to start the Boxee from XBMC. Here are different example how to bypass this problem, using the small CPAU application : http://www.gwenael.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=25

it sadly isnt that either, because i have changed the windows settings to that minecraft have admin rights, then i never get the "start/stop" dialog in windows


- Angelscry - 2011-05-16

^FrEaK^ Wrote:it sadly isnt that either, because i have changed the windows settings to that minecraft have admin rights, then i never get the "start/stop" dialog in windows
Ok... So... Post the content part of your launchers.xml file corresponding to the minecraft launcher (using pastebin service for exemple)


- Angelscry - 2011-05-17

^FrEaK^ Wrote:it sadly isnt that either, because i have changed the windows settings to that minecraft have admin rights, then i never get the "start/stop" dialog in windows
I have just take a look at the minecraft application today and I do not understand what is your problem :

Image

Code:
    <launcher>
        <id>ebc78e8caa46aeeb4ea4725b1d6d687e</id>
        <name>Minecraft</name>
        <application>C:\Users\gwenael\Desktop\Minecraft.exe</application>
        <args></args>
        <rompath></rompath>
        <thumbpath>E:\launchers\thumbs\</thumbpath>
        <fanartpath>E:\launchers\fanarts\</fanartpath>
        <extrafanartpath>E:\launchers\fanarts\</extrafanartpath>
        <romext></romext>
        <platform>IBM PC Compatible</platform>
        <thumb></thumb>
        <fanart></fanart>
        <genre></genre>
        <release></release>
        <publisher></publisher>
        <launcherplot></launcherplot>
        <minimize>true</minimize>
        <lnk>true</lnk>
        <roms>
        </roms>
    </launcher>



- ^FrEaK^ - 2011-05-17

hm....strange....do you use 64bit or 32bit java? i use 64bit, can that be why?

EDIT: okay....just tested it on my laptop, and there it works fine.....weird.....


- Angelscry - 2011-05-17

^FrEaK^ Wrote:hm....strange....do you use 64bit or 32bit java? i use 64bit, can that be why?

EDIT: okay....just tested it on my laptop, and there it works fine.....weird.....
I do not take attention. I'm on Windows 7 64 bits and have have downloaded an installed the java version minecraft ask me to install.Oo But, yes it is possible that it could be related to the java version installed on your Windows system (too old or not the right 32/64bit version).