Kodi Community Forum
[CLOSED] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Game Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=291)
+---- Thread: [CLOSED] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC (/showthread.php?tid=85724)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2012-06-03

(2012-06-03, 10:21)bzim Wrote: Hey Angelscry,

What are your thoughts on having %rombasename% filter info between brackets [], even if not part of a multi-disc selection? To me, it feels more consistent to have it filter regardless of whether it is single or multi-disc.
Except for disc numbers (for multi-disc games), that's not actually the case?




RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2012-06-03

(2012-06-03, 13:37)g.scholtens Wrote: does soneone else know ho to open a .exe always in fullscreen?.

I got a windows 7 machine, with local apps en games. But i can't figure out how to open them into fullscreen. When i start the apps or games local they just open into fullscreen. But when i start them from advanched launcher to always open in window moded. I check the option to open in full.

Is there something i must enter at the command line from the .exe.?
Huuuu... There in no dedicated option into Advanced Launcher to open an application into fullscreen. Advanced launcher just "start" the application. So if as stand alone it start automatically into full-screen mode, it MUST be the same from XBMC/Advanced Launcher.

First, be sure that the "Use a fullscreen window rather than true fullscreen" option is activated into XBMC settings and that the "Toogle XBMC fullscreen" option is activated (default value) into launcher configuration. It MUST works. If not, the problem is not Advanced Launcher related but something on your system that avoid application to be started into full-screen from from XBMC. AND IT IS NOT NORMAL.

One thing you can check is if screen resolutions for XBMC, your desktop and your application are the same. Using different screen resolution could generate problem sometime. It could also be due to graphic resources incompatibility between XBMC and started application. I that case you can try to use a small script that will close XBMC before starting application : http://www.gwenael.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=6




RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - bzim - 2012-06-03

(2012-06-03, 20:47)Angelscry Wrote:
(2012-06-03, 10:21)bzim Wrote: Hey Angelscry,

What are your thoughts on having %rombasename% filter info between brackets [], even if not part of a multi-disc selection? To me, it feels more consistent to have it filter regardless of whether it is single or multi-disc.
Except for disc numbers (for multi-disc games), that's not actually the case?

No. Currently the base_filename method looks like this:
Code:
def base_filename(filename):
    basefilename = filename
    ext3s = ['.cd1', '-cd1', '_cd1', ' cd1']
    for ext3 in ext3s:
        if ( filename.lower().find(ext3) > -1 ):
            basefilename = clean_filename(filename.replace(ext3, ""))
    return basefilename

So, if Castlevania - Symphony of the Night [SLUS-00067] gets passed in, nothing changes (because it doesn't have a .cd# extension).

I propose the change below:
Code:
def base_filename(filename):  
    filename = re.sub('(\[.*?\]|\(.*?\))', '', filename)
    filename = re.sub('(\.|-| |_)cd\d+$', '', filename)
    return filename.rstrip()

Using the proposed change, if we passed Castlevania - Symphony of the Night [SLUS-00067], we would be returned with Castlevania - Symphony of the Night, which seems more consistent to me.

Also, using clean_filename in the current method is causing some side affects. For example, passing in:
Oddworld - Abe's Exoddus [SLUS-00710].cd1 would return Oddworld Abe's Exoddus (missing the dash, with three spaces between Oddworld and Abe's).


Version 1.8.5 - Angelscry - 2012-06-04

Version 1.8.5 : Yes... another version of Advanced Launcher. This one is again dedicated to multi-disc support, alternative title and the %rombasename% parameter. With this new version alternative title must be put between {} and not anymore between [] to be recognized by Advanced Launcher. It will avoid conflict with other filename information generally contained under []. So, for example if you have several multi-disc items named :

Code:
Final Fantasy VII-cd1.iso
Final Fantasy VII-cd2.iso
Final Fantasy VII-cd3.iso
Gran Turismo 2 [SLUS-00748]{Arcade} cd1.iso
Gran Turismo 2 [SLUS-00748]{Simulation} cd2.iso
Resident Evil 2 {Claire's}[SLUS-00748].cd2.iso
Resident Evil 2 {Leon's}[SLUS-00748].cd1.iso
Rival Schools {Arcade}_cd1.iso
Rival Schools {Evolution}_cd2.iso
Etc...

Returned disc titles will respectively be :

Code:
Disc 1
Disc 2
Disc 3
Arcade Disc
Simulation Disc
Claire's Disc
Leon's Disc
Arcade Disc
Evolution Disc
Etc...

This new version of Advanced Launcher also fix the %rombasename% parameter returned value and apply also now for single and multi-disc items. Thank to bzim for codes and suggestions. So, for example if you have several multi-disc items named :

Code:
Castlevania - Symphony of the Night [SLUS-00067].iso
Crash Bash.iso
Final Fantasy VII-cd1.iso
Final Fantasy VII-cd2.iso
Final Fantasy VII-cd3.iso
Gran Turismo 2 [SLUS-00748]{Arcade} cd1.iso
Gran Turismo 2 [SLUS-00748]{Simulation} cd2.iso
Metal Slug X.iso
Resident Evil 2 {Claire's}[SLUS-00748].cd2.iso
Resident Evil 2 {Leon's}[SLUS-00748].cd1.iso
Rival Schools {Arcade}_cd1.iso
Rival Schools {Evolution}_cd2.iso
Etc...

Returned %rombasename% parameters will be :

Code:
Castlevania - Symphony of the Night
Crash Bash
Final Fantasy VII
Final Fantasy VII
Final Fantasy VII
Gran Turismo 2
Gran Turismo 2
Metal Slug X
Resident Evil 2
Resident Evil 2
Rival Schools
Rival Schools
Etc...

Changelog :
  • Change alternative title support : use now {} instead of [].
  • Fix %rombasename% returned value.



RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - bzim - 2012-06-04

Hey Angelscry,

Thanks again for taking the time to make these updates! You've really put a lot of effort (and many revisions) into making this add-on truly great.

I did end up making one more small change to 1.8.5 (I know, I just can't leave things be). In your last few revisions, when you started matching names in-between [], it had a side effect of filtering out my SLUS/SCUS info. This was nice because each disc technically has its own ID, so that info has to be removed to match correctly. For example, here is my FF7 directory:

Code:
Final Fantasy VII [SCUS-94163].cd1
Final Fantasy VII [SCUS-94164].cd2
Final Fantasy VII [SCUS-94165].cd3

I had to change line 1269 to be:
Code:
cleanromname = re.sub('(\[.*?\]|\{.*?\})', '', romname)

and line 1281:
Code:
searchname = re.sub('(\[.*?\]|\{.*?\})', '', filesname)
(I just added back in the filtering of the other bracket type [])

This matches much closer what %rombasename% is outputting, and allows my (complicated) multi-disc games to be matched correctly.

That being said, you've already put in a lot of overtime (and several revisions!) into this project this weekend, so I completely understand if you want to leave things be for a bit. I just wanted to give you a heads up on my overall status, and thank you again for your hard work.



RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - g.scholtens - 2012-06-04

(2012-06-03, 21:01)Angelscry Wrote:
(2012-06-03, 13:37)g.scholtens Wrote: does soneone else know ho to open a .exe always in fullscreen?.

I got a windows 7 machine, with local apps en games. But i can't figure out how to open them into fullscreen. When i start the apps or games local they just open into fullscreen. But when i start them from advanched launcher to always open in window moded. I check the option to open in full.

Is there something i must enter at the command line from the .exe.?
Huuuu... There in no dedicated option into Advanced Launcher to open an application into fullscreen. Advanced launcher just "start" the application. So if as stand alone it start automatically into full-screen mode, it MUST be the same from XBMC/Advanced Launcher.

First, be sure that the "Use a fullscreen window rather than true fullscreen" option is activated into XBMC settings and that the "Toogle XBMC fullscreen" option is activated (default value) into launcher configuration. It MUST works. If not, the problem is not Advanced Launcher related but something on your system that avoid application to be started into full-screen from from XBMC. AND IT IS NOT NORMAL.

One thing you can check is if screen resolutions for XBMC, your desktop and your application are the same. Using different screen resolution could generate problem sometime. It could also be due to graphic resources incompatibility between XBMC and started application. I that case you can try to use a small script that will close XBMC before starting application : http://www.gwenael.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=6

I'm sure about the option "Use a fullscreen window rather than true fullscreen"

I've tested the games local on my 22inch pc monitor (resolution 1650x.....) and the media center i am using on a 37inch full hd tv screen.

Does i now need to start every game or app with a batch file, isn't there a other solution.
How does that batch file look like for a games like sonic4.exe


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - voyagerxp - 2012-06-04

I'm new to using the app launcher for emulators and roms. Now what i want to know is do i have to manually add the roms,thumbs and fanarts.


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2012-06-05

Version 1.8.6 : This new version of Advanced Launcher fix a small bug occurring for multi-discs with different bracketed [] and () infos. Advanced Launcher was recognized them but only allows to start the first disc. This is now fixed.

Changelog:
  • Fix bug for multi-discs with different bracketed [] & () infos.

(2012-06-04, 21:43)voyagerxp Wrote: I'm new to using the app launcher for emulators and roms. Now what i want to know is do i have to manually add the roms, thumbs and fanarts.
Once your have created and set up your files (roms) launcher, you need to perform a scan to add roms that are located on your local or external drive. Advanced Launcher DO NOT download any roms.
To add roms you have 3 possibles mode : 2 scan modes (automatic and semi-automatic) and 1 manual mode.
  • For the manual mode you select the roms one by one and manually scrap info, thumbs and fanart from internet.
  • For the automatic mode Advanced Launcher scan you roms, add them, and scrap info, thumbs and fanart from internet all automatically.
  • For the automatic mode Advanced Launcher scan you roms, add them, and ask to select the right scraped info, thumbs and fanart from internet.






RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2012-06-05

(2012-06-04, 13:38)g.scholtens Wrote: Does i now need to start every game or app with a batch file, isn't there a other solution.
Reinstall all your windows system to make it work correctly? Rofl

I repeat it again. What happen actually on your system with Advanced Launcher, XBMC and your started application is not normal. Best choice will be to try to found WHY is is not working correctly instead of trying to bypass this problem with batch scripts.

Another solution that you can try is to use .lnk shortcut instead of .exe file. See a tutorial here : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyfRa7gygEc
Using .lnk file you have the possibilty to force the application to start maximized as described here : http://www.pcworld.com/article/172884/force_programs_to_run_fullscreen.html

Maybe it will solve your problem.

BTW, for PC games, I strongly recommend to use .lnk support of Advanced Launcher. Put all the lnk files into the same folder and manage them as roms files. It is more easy : all the corresponding .nfo, thumbs and fanart files will be located into regrouped folders and not into the games folders, then you will have the possibility to define exactly how to start the application form its .lnk file properties (command line, windows status, users rights, etc...)


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - bzim - 2012-06-05

(2012-06-05, 03:28)Angelscry Wrote: Version 1.8.6 : This new version of Advanced Launcher fix a small bug occurring for multi-discs with different bracketed [] and () infos. Advanced Launcher was recognized them but only allows to start the first disc. This is now fixed.

Changelog:
  • Fix bug for multi-discs with different bracketed [] & () infos.

Everything is working great in 1.8.6. Thanks for the speedy updates. Amazing work!


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - voyagerxp - 2012-06-05

Thanks Angelscry, i have all my rom but it kept asking me every time to select thumbs or arts.


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2012-06-05

(2012-06-05, 10:33)voyagerxp Wrote: Thanks Angelscry, i have all my rom but it kept asking me every time to select thumbs or arts.
Info, thumbs and fanarts scrapers are independent. So that's mean that you have to setup them independently. Into Advanced Launcher settings select option like this to automatically scrap info thumbs and fanarts :

Data & Infos :
Collecting method : scraper
Import Mode : automatic
Source : what you want

Thumbs :
Collecting method : scraper
Import Mode : automatic
Source : what you want

Fanarts :
Collecting method : scraper
Import Mode : automatic
Source : what you want


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - g.scholtens - 2012-06-05

Strange problem in advanched launcher.

When i want to create a standalone .exe or file launcher. I can only browse to my f: disc (this is a virtual disc from deamon tools) I cannot go a level up to go to my c drive.
When i go to configure my advanced launcher to set nfo files etc. i just see the c drive.

Please help


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2012-06-05

(2012-06-05, 17:49)g.scholtens Wrote: Strange problem in advanched launcher.

When i want to create a standalone .exe or file launcher. I can only browse to my f: disc (this is a virtual disc from deamon tools) I cannot go a level up to go to my c drive.
When i go to configure my advanced launcher to set nfo files etc. i just see the c drive.

Please help
Directly from the Advanced Launcher user Guide :
Quote:Add Network or Local drives: It will be possible that, for your first use of Advanced Launcher, you will be not able to see or access any of your network or local drives. To solve this you will have to do the following: Go back to the XBMC home-screen and select the "System" item (assuming you are using the "Confluence"-Skin which is default) - do not open the menu-item! -and press the down arrow to select the "File Manager" submenu. In the next screen add a source via the "Add Source" entrie. Now technically it does not matter what you add as a source. In order to use your whole hard-drive just add the whole hard drive to the sources, you won’t have any side-effects (except you will have to navigate more while creating new launchers).
User guide : http://www.gwenael.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3

And that's not a problem... that's how XBMC works. You want to add movie, you need to add a movies source. You want to add music, you need to add a musics source. You want to add programs, you need to add a programs source.



RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - gfur732 - 2012-06-05

Thank you so much for this addition Angelscry Smile

I tested it out last night and everything seemed to be working as I'd hoped. I'm actually really excited for all the possibilities this feature will add, from grouping different versions of the same game together (either hacks or different releases), launching games in different ways (with different control schemes, emulator settings or emulators entirely) and even the addition of extras like manuals, guides, etc. I really appreciate the work you've put in here.

The one further request I do have though would be the removal of "disc" after the custom menu entries. It's not a huge deal, as it doesn't prevent anything from working, but it does impact the presentation a bit. If you'd rather keep it as is, I absolutely understand. For most people, I expect this feature will primarily be used to differentiate between discs, not for launching other custom menu entries. The only exception I can think of might be grouping different versions of cartridge based games together (like rom hacks and/or translations).

Anyways thanks again for all of your hard work. This is awesome.