Posts: 6,810
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation:
198
There is a lot of crappy hacks done in the past and I am going to trash them one after another. If some interlaced material is not detected as interlaced, there is a root cause for this that needs to be fixed. Forcing deinterlacing and presenting it as as user option is wrong.
Posts: 353
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation:
6
2016-06-23, 09:54
(This post was last modified: 2016-06-23, 09:55 by willemd.)
Somehow I feel the de-interlacing discussion is off-topic in this thread, but here are my €0,05.
I have some TV channels that 'need' forced de-interlacing. Sometimes Kodi correctly detects it's interlaced material, but sometimes not. Sometimes it helps to change channels back and forth for Kodi to enable de-interlacing. This is with tvheadend and mostly noticable with those '24h news channels' (CNN, Bloomberg etc.), with rolling text bars in the bottom the ones with news, stock prices, etc. They're pretty unintelligible when they're not de-interlaced.
Maybe that's a bug in tvheadend, in the pvr plugin, in the TV data from my satellite LNB, I dunno, but the 'force de-interlacing' button is pretty handy in those cases. And sure, the from upstream the video data should always be presented correctly, but since apparently it's not, I hope you'll not remove the option before the auto detection works better from a user's perspective. If you need anything like debug logs or something, let me know.
Posts: 1,506
Joined: Nov 2013
educated guesses and faint memories;
it's due to the nature of transport streams. they are designed so you can hop in at regular intervals but not all info is in the local headers. if you are unlucky none of the full-info headers end up in the early buffers. with the new reconfiguration capabilities this should be fairly doable. need to monitor for flag changes in the headers and reconfigure if the flag is suddenly enabled.
the second problem, if i recall correctly, is harder to fix. some sources only set the flag at the start of the program and if you hop in midway you are SOL. this is a problem at the source that has to be dealt with at the destination sadly. thus dropping the option will cause unsolvable regressions. we all agree it sucks that is has to be there.
Posts: 6,810
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation:
198
The first iteration is done (code merged). VideoPlayer exposes some video and audio info for skins. Now its on the skinners to give us something to play with.
Posts: 353
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation:
6
I think this is a wise approach.
Is it already in Estuary?
Posts: 519
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation:
9
very good, thanks fernetmenta
Posts: 353
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation:
6
First of all, this looks really neat. It seems complete and is presented in a way nicer fashion than the 'O' debug info!
I'm not sure if my questions are related to the skin or to the data that's fed into the skin, but here goes:
* Is it possible to round to more decimals? The aspect ratio (which is 1.78:1) is shown as rounded 1.8: but 1.78:1 (and often 1.85:1) are the usual denominations for 16:9 videos.
* The same goes for the FPS. Is it possible to change the rounding? It says 24.0 fps, but that makes it unclear whether this is 23.976 fps or 24.000 (or even 23.980). Could it be rounded to 3 digits?
* Are (current or nominal) bitrates (video and audio) still listed in the 'O' information?