updating library without restart?
Question 
I'm very new to XBMC and so far I like what I see. I run Windows Vista, XBMC 10.1, Neon skin, in case that helps with my problems.

The two thing I haven't yet figured out are:

1. How to get it to refresh the tv show list when I add files to that folder
  2. How to get it to show movies in sub folders

The first issue is that when my downloader (a remote linux box) puts a new show into the tv folder, it doesn't just show up in XBMC right away. It will if I close the program and open it again - but I really NEVER restart the program; it runs on a computer that has no keyboard or mouse and only runs the TV. I noticed that different skins seem to offer different tools, and I use the Neon skin. I also played around looking for a "plug in" that refreshes things for me, but didn't really know what to look for... I looked around here on the XBMC site and read the advancedsettings.xml file but didn't see an obvious choice about an auto-refresh tool, and I'm not really sure what I'm looking for with "scripts" that some people talk about.

The second issue is that my movie collection folder is organised as one big list of all the movies and they are not all in sub folders. Movies that are made up of more than one file (e.g. cd1, cd2, cd3 etc) are in folders; movies that are only a single file are all in the main folder itself. I can see all the "main" movies but not the ones in sub-folders. Is this a known thing?

Any tips or links to previous posts on this matter would be appreciated.
1 - You can either press "C" in files and select "scan for new content" or "C" in library and choose "Update Library" you can also have "Update Library" on a remote key

There is also a addon in addons that will run Update Library at time intervals your find it in

Addons > Get Addons > XBMC.org Addons > Program Addons, XBMC Library Auto Update

2 - You need to select "Scan recursively" in "Set Content"