Need advice on XBMC/NAS setup
Hey guys,

I need some advice on what I should do cause im pretty new to all this. I just purchased this:- HP ProLiant Microserver (Specs - http://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/44381) just cause i thought it was a good bargain and i hope it can do what i need it for. I bought this intending for it to be both a NAS server and a HTPC.

I currently have all my media in my Desktop computer which is next to my TV (Sony Bravia with DLNA). My current setup is a direct HDMI connection from my TV to my computer as a 2nd monitor. I mainly bought this server to store all my media, and be able to download torrents/nzbs remotely using my iphone, and watch them on my TV without going through my computer preferably.

Questions i have:-
1 - Is the 1GB ram on that server enough?
2 - I believe i need to purchase a graphic card for this to get HDMI as i dont have any audio output. Once again, this is my HTPC and file server, is this recommended? This HP Proliant Micro-server has a graphic card slot and is i dont mind spending to buy one as it's on board VGA wont do due to no audio output.
3 - Did i buy the right hardware as someone told me im not making full use of the server if i setup XBMC alone. How well does XBMC manage files and what can a NAS OS (like FreeNAS) do over XBMC alone?
4 - From what i understand, i can just unplug my hard disk from my desktop running Win XP that has all my multimedia files, and XBMC will be able to read them?
5 - What are recommended hard disk based on my HP Micro-server? Does it matter if its SATA2/3? Should i go for a higher or lower RPM?

Appreciate any help i can get, and apologise once again for any silly questions. cheers.
kalamingo Wrote:this is my HTPC and file server, is this recommended?

not at all...
whats recommended is having a seperate HTPC and a seperate NAS...
idea is always to have a single central media storage
that feeds HTPC's around your house...
thanks for the reply.