Back-to-basics interface design
Hi,

I've been using XBMC for over five years (XBMP before) and have really enjoyed seeing it develop over the years. I've got a lot of admiration for those good people who have put in the hours and created such a good piece of software.

I feel though that the interface could be better. For me personally, I want my media centre to be quick and easily accessibly. I don't need sliding windows, transparency everywhere and layer-on-layer of menus which I agree look very nice, but really don't help me listen to music or watch a film.

The main limitation for me is that the Apple TV remote has only 7 buttons, of which 4 are directional. So for this reason the interface should be easily accessible with only a few button presses.

So, my back-to-basics concept! Laugh if you like, it's just a concept which took minutes to put together...

You may recognise the file list from the ye olde WinAmp days, I pulled it straight from a screenshot. But after consideration of all the GUI's I've used in the past for exploring files, I consider the early WinAmp's to be one of the best. It is quick and functional.

The idea is that the menu at the top (Videos, Music etc.) is always on-screen, only the content of the main area changes. Switching from the menu to files is toggled with one button, while directional buttons navigate the menu/files/window panes.

I would very much like to know what other peoples' opinions are on this. Do you think XBMC could use a simpler front-end such as this? What do you consider to be the main drawbacks of the current skins out there now?
using that with a remote would give a new definition to PITA.
gingerbiscuit Wrote:I feel though that the interface could be better. For me personally, I want my media centre to be quick and easily accessibly.