Video Lagging at 1080p playback
Hello,

I am a beginner in Home cinema/encoding/decoding...

I have XBMC 10.1 installed on my laptop HP dv5 1130ef:
Intel core duo P7350 2GHz, 4Gb Ram, Nvidia 9600M GT, W7 x 64bit

I always plug the PC to my HDTV Sony Bravia 32BX400 using an HDMI cable (1.4) to watch movies.

Most of my movies are 720p. And the videos plays perfectly even with the DXVA disabled.

I downloaded recently 2 movies at 1080p. The simpson movie and The assault.
The simpsons movie PLayed perfectly without any lag ( DXVA disabled) but the Assault movie lagged... the FPS dropped from 25 to 12 and then went back to 25...it lags 10 seconds then go back to normal...isnt my pc powerful enought to run the 1080p without hardware acceleration ? Why the simpson movie didnt lag at 1080 ?

Thank you
Sorry to answer your question with a question but why dont you want to use DXVA?

Does it play ok with DXVA enabled?
thank you for your replys.
Yes it does work with DXVA...but when make a quick forward some wierd pixels appears... and i dont really understand what is DXVA (hardware acceleration).

But what confused me is that The simpsons 1080p worked without DXVA...
Maybe The Simpsons has a lower bitrate or something else which requires less resources?

As far as i know DXVA uses your GFX card to help play things, so not all the strain is on your CPU. And the Nvidia 9600M GT you have no doubt helps a lot.

I always use DXVA. I dont know much though expect a more helpful response from someone else soon.
I really thank you for the your reply... Smile
Since simposons is a cartoon its WAY easier to encode/decode with a low bitrate without any loss of quality.
Cartoons usually have little detail, large areas of the same color etc, which makes encoding it easy.
I'd go so far to say a normal action movie at 720p requires more power to decode then cartoons at 1080p.
Thank you !