[WINDOWS] HOW-TO run uTorrent as service without WHS
I have been using XBMC for almost 6 months now and i am very happy with it.
I am using it on my very old Pentium D with 1 Gb RAM PC running on windows 7.
Since it's such an old PC, i deactivated windows 7's GUI and i run directly XBMC as a shell without using eventghost.
This, besides the fact that it makes my media center cleaner and reduces the booting time by almost 10 seconds, it kind of kills utorrent.
So, i search a lot of forums in order to find a way to run utorrent directly as a service.

Below you can find a short tutorial that describes the process i used in order to start utorrent as service and using the WebUI.

HOW-TO:

1. Install uTorrent and the WebUI (i installed it to the default directory).

2. Configure the download and webui parameters to your liking.

3. Install uTorrent as a Windows Service. We need a couple of tools to do this, I downloaded them with the Windows 2003 Resource Kit. The two files are instsrv.exe and srvany.exe (check the end of the post for download links)

4. Copy these files into the program directory you have created for uTorrent.

5. Get an admin command prompt. At the command line get into the uTorrent directory using the cd command. Then run the following command. Where uTorrent is the name of your uTorrent folder in Program Files. If you've installed this elsewhere amend the path accordingly.

6. Type:
Code:
instsrv uTorrent "C:\Program Files\uTorrent\srvany.exe"

7. Create a .reg file with notepad that contains the following (you might need to change the path if you didn't install in the defautl directory) and add it to the registry:

Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\uTorrent\Parameters]
"Application"="C:\\Program Files\\utorrent\\utorrent.exe"

8. Go to windows service, search for utorrent, set it as automatic if it's not already and start it.

9. Enjoy

Required files: