[WINDOWS] Deband filter (ala ffdshow or flash3kyuu_deband)
I would be interested in a deband filter like ffdshow has one, or like e.g. flash3kyuu_deband() for Avisynth.
I have already done some research, and the implementation should be possible in a D3D9 pixel shader without stressing the GPU too much.

I could provide the filter implementation itself, and if someone takes the time to give me some pointers I think I should also be able to figure out how to integrate the setting in the settings menu.

However, before hacking away, I want to make sure that such a patch would be welcome and be accepted if I submit it (provided the implementation quality meets your standards of course, but I don't expect a problem there).

Since I only have a Windows box, and have no experience with linux/... I would only be able to provide a Windows implementation. The only thing that I might be able to provide in addition to a D3D9 implementation is one for DXVA(2), but since I have no experience with DXVA I don't want to promise anything.
That would be a nice feature.

The difficult part is the shader itself, the rest is mostly plumbing. The "XBMC Development" forum is there for the help you may need.

Roughly, adding a shader requires creating an additional render target and adding a step in CWinRenderer::RenderPS() to call a new class based on CWinShader. That class would be pretty similar to the other children of CWinShader.
Integrating with dxva would be more complicated, don't worry about it. Same for GL.

A thread in the Development forum to discuss the debanding algorithm would be a good idea. bobo1on1 is the team's video processing guy and may already have an idea or two about this and it's best to get some agreement early on.

edit: actually for prototyping purposes, it may be possible to add the debanding code at the end of an existing shader and avoid writing the C++ code initially.
Always read the Kodi online-manual, the FAQ and search the forum before posting.