How to make Several windows user profiles share the same xbmc data
Ok so i have 2 W7 user profiles 1 of which loads up xbmc when i log in and is set up just how i want. the other user profile is set up with the same media sources but it downloads new media info whenever i've got new stuff even if the other one already has the info.
so how do i make them mirror each other, so i do not have duplicate files?
I'm running 10.1 dharma with confluence.
And i'm a noob so i will need step by step instructions.
thanks in advance
You could use portable mode.

By default XBMC stores data in the user profile directories provided by Windows, and each user gets their own separate set of data. If you run XBMC with the argument -p then all the data is stored in "C:\Program Files\XBMC\portable_data" and all users can share the same set of data.

Some notes:

The "C:\Program Files" directories are read-only for non-administrator users. I'd be inclined to do a new clean installation into e.g. C:\XBMC, so the user data would be in "C:\XBMC\portable_data". Then you don't have to worry about the file permissions.

To start XBMC in portable mode right click the XBMC icon (on the Start menu or on the desktop as appropriate) and choose Properties. In the Target field will be something like:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\XBMC.exe"

change this to be:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\XBMC.exe" -p

JR
I've now done this for both, but it has not worked they have just stayed the same.
Oh i've just remembered that i think i had to install XBMC seperatly on both user profiles, i don't know if this somehow effects it.
And both of the windows user profiles are admins.
Please help
DanTheHam Wrote:I've now done this for both, but it has not worked they have just stayed the same.
Oh i've just remembered that i think i had to install XBMC seperatly on both user profiles, i don't know if this somehow effects it.
And both of the windows user profiles are admins.
Please help