"Cleaning database" message pops up in nightly
I stopped using Kodi/XBMC several years ago due to having too many nagging issues, so I'm trying to see if the issues I was having before have been fixed.

This one hasn't either.
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=206927

Or the issue with Kodi sometimes getting stuck as a background process after closing, requiring an end task via task manager to be able to run the program again. That has already happened 3 times in the past 2 days of using V17.

It's free software so I have no room to complain, but it's tiresome waiting for fixes that never come after 5 years and being helpless since I'm not a programmer and can't do anything to fix it.

Sometimes it's just easier to launch the file in MPC-HC and forget about having any kind of media software. It just works.
That's your choice, of course, but if you can't even be bothered to keep on top of a Trac ticket or raise a new one, what makes you think someone else (a developer) is going to sit down for several hours plugging away at fixing the problem?

I don't know about the other issue you linked, it doesn't seem strange or unexpected to me that running an application which utilises the GPU and performs who-knows-how-many background tasks triggered by addons and the core would make Windows think it's not idle.

The issue with not shutting down cleanly is 100% addon related too, all you need to do is identify the culprit (the last one I had that caused it was the Skin Helper Service addon).
(2017-03-14, 12:40)beeswax Wrote: I don't know about the other issue you linked, it doesn't seem strange or unexpected to me that running an application which utilises the GPU and performs who-knows-how-many background tasks triggered by addons and the core would make Windows think it's not idle.