Win Moving & Cleaning Up Library
Complete noob to XMBC, please excuse my ignorance!

Situation: I am planning to move my Movies/Shows from my current PC to my new HTPC. I am planning on going 100% XMBC on the HTPC, however the current PC is WMC with Media Browser metadata. All of my movie folders have .xml and .nfo files scattered about, as well as banner.jpg and folder.jpg files for the thumbnails. I have XMBC setup on the current PC as well (for practice, I guess you could say), and have let XMBC grab it's own metadata as well.

Question 1 - When I move the folder structure and movie files to the new HTPC, will it be safe to remove all of the .jpg / .xml / .nfo files from the movie folders themselves? I am assuming yes because XMBC keeps all of it's data central in the AppData area of my Windows profile, but would rather take word from someone more experienced.

Question 2 - Is there a way to move the XMBC metadata / settings over to the new PC so I don't have to scan / fix my library a second time when it is on the new PC? The folder structure will not have the same drives - it will be going from D:\ to E:\.

Hope that makes sense!
Welcome the forums, we're all noobs at one point.

-kinda messy set-up, some users can keep both WMC and XBMC co-habituating, I never could. I did run WMC with Media Browser until I saw the errors of my ways.... Now definitely a reformed XBMC player with the skin Transparency!

1- You can remove all the extraneous data from the folder if you wish. The .nfo files in all likelyhood are not XBMC compatable and will screw things up (unless they were scraped by XBMC) The Jpeg files can be used as backdrops or cover art if named "folder.jpg" or "fanart.jpg", but they will be constrained to fit the aspect. (banners are not officially supported but some skins can use them) And while the .xml files should not be an issue, I did find issue in the past. Best suggestion, just copy over the files and see what comes, delete as needed.