Cablevision support?
I am currently thinking about building a new HTPC for my livingroom. I want to include PVR support on the new machine. I have never tried setting up a system with PVR before. I am curious if anyone lives in the new york area and has Cablevision as their provider. I am current thinking that i am going to use Openelec PVR build as the OS and purchasing an "SiliconDust HDHR3-CC HDHomeRun PRIME CableCARD TV tuner".

Has anyone with cablevision used the HDHR3, and if so, have you set it up with Windows 7 or Openelec?

Thanks for your help and any input.
I'm on Cablevision and I use an HDHR3-CC. Unless you use Windows Media Center, you will not be able to tune any of the premium channels (HBO, SHO, etc.) or anything marked something other than copy-freely. We've found that those seem to be limited to channels found between 100 and 199. I don't do Windows so I can't help you there.

XBMC's PVR feature isn't there yet and plugin support for the Prime is lacking. Since MythTV has direct drivers for HDHR's the Prime will work with it. Everything else treats it like a DVB device and that doesn't work so well (see below for details).

My current setup (and the user experience is very spit-and-baling-wire) is an XBMC frontend with tsp's Eden-PVR build on top of a MythBuntu distro. While this is "good enough" to watch some recordings if I'm around to manage things, it is not wife-ready (Not mine anyway).

I need a 2nd and probably a 3rd XBMC device. I tried OpenELEC_PVR 1.99.8 (Aug 4) but its MythTV plugin isn't working so I'm debating my next steps. InoD just posted an OpenELEC build with tsp's plugin so I might give that a shot. http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1181966

Why the HDHR DVB hack doesn't work for the Prime