Linux Issues not seeing xbmc on tv
Hi all I am new to xbmcubuntu as well as to Linux. I have installed xbmcubuntu onto an older laptop running windows vista. I did the partition and got it installed as a dual boot. I finally with lots of searching was able to figure out how to enable they twinview on my nvidia card so I can directly connect it to my tv via an HDMI cable. I also have the computer connected to the Internet via an Ethernet cable.

Anyway when I turn on the tv and boot up the laptop into xbmc I do NOT see anything on the tv even though on my laptop it shows the xbmc menu and such.

If I boot up into xbmcubuntu I have twinview on and I see the same picture on the tv as what is on the laptop. I am sure it must be a setting that I am missing but if you can help out it would greatly be appreciated. Been frustrating myself to no end trying to figure out what to do and even get this far and to be so close and not there is heartbreaking.

Thank you and if you need specs just ask or logs just tell me how to get them since I am a newbie to Linux and xbmc.
Thanks
I want to make sure I'm understanding correctly

when you boot in to xbmc no video but when you boot in to the desktop view of xbmcbuntu you have video ?

and if you run xbmc from the desktop do you get video where you want it ?
With the laptop running xbmc it only has video (ie movie, music, tv etc) on laptop screen. But if I am in the xbmcbuntu mode where I am in I guess the Linux window to access terminal, nvidia setup, google etc I do get video (twinview clone) on both the laptop and the tv.

The tv is connected with a hdmi cable
in xbmcbuntu mode what if you check on xbmc from the "start" menu do you get it on twinview ?
Does your laptop have hardware keys to toggle your video display from laptop to TV (or both)?
Xbmc doesn't work properly with dynamic twin view. Use hardware keys to switch the output to _only_ the TV