Updating video scrapers for Frodo

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,216
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 185
Post: #1
Hi all,

Scrapers can now optionally provide an "aspect" flag on the <thumb> URLs they provide XBMC. At the moment "banner" and "poster" are supported. i.e. instead of:

<thumb>url</thumb>

you should return (when you know the aspect ratio of the image, ofcourse)

<thumb aspect="poster">url</thumb>

TheTVDB.com scraper has been updated, but this doesn't just apply to tv - movies scrapers could return different image types, though I suspect they'll all be returning "poster" in general. Music scrapers will probably just return thumb sized images (album cover, artist art tends to be square) so in that case using "thumb" is preferable.

So:

"banner" if it's a wide banner image, like thetvdb.com uses for show banners.
"poster" if it's a tall poster image, like thetvdb.com's posters or themoviedb.org.
"thumb" for everything else typically - this is optional, you don't need the aspect flag present - if it's not present, XBMC will assume it's a thumb.

Cheers,
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
zag Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,006
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 75
Location: UK
Post: #2
Great improvement!

Music banners are available on fanart.tv and theaudiodb.com metadata sites.

Movie Banners are available on fanart.tv

The aspect ratio for all banners should be 5.4 and is usually 1000x185px at source
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-16 23:49 by zag.)
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 17,010
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 311
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #3
(2012-10-16 23:38)zag Wrote:  Great improvement!

Music banners are available on fanart.tv and theaudiodb.com metadata sites.

Movie Bannders are available on fanart.tv

uhm those can't be scraped because banners is only for tvshows or did i miss the fact they are globally added?

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-17 00:05 by Martijn.)
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,216
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 185
Post: #4
Yes, tvshows only atm for banners. poster is supported by movies.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
un1versal Offline
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,134
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Binary Pulsar
Post: #5
Your tvdb scraper with the updated code form your repo is version 1.2.5 however the wiki page and the addon says its at 1.3.1 in trunk says its at 1.2.4, just thought I would mention this, because somewhere either by my PEBCAK or someone else this is going to cause some confusion/issues.

no disruption meant.

idk if the versions even matter but if you compile form git the addon repo is tvdb 1.3.1 if override with jmarshall addon to get proper data the autoupdate will override it, solution is to disable it or change the version nr.

uNi
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,216
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 185
Post: #6
Noone should be using my repository as everything is in the main repo. I simply supplied it temporarily until it was in the repo.

Further, anything in mainline master is overridden by everything in the main repo.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
un1versal Offline
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,134
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Binary Pulsar
Post: #7
compiling from git, and using as is will not supply the updated addon, the repo version is not updated to include these "enhancements" if it is its not working, so alternative is to override

so if not using your addon (not repo) i still only get old addon and incomplete data, since Im on pre frodo

The discrepancy exists even if not using your addon, not your repo

So yes your correct, mainline master is getting overridden with old version, now I dont want or am using old version. SO how can one use new version?

uNi
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-22 13:41 by un1versal.)
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,216
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 185
Post: #8
Again, the scraper is available in the main Xbmc add on repository. Just wait for it t update, or grab the update directly through the add on manager,

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
un1versal Offline
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,134
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Binary Pulsar
Post: #9
it updates to 1.3.1 (which is older addon version) and then all improvements are lost. manually or automatically.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 17,010
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 311
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #10
(2012-10-23 07:59)uNiversal Wrote:  it updates to 1.3.1 (which is older addon version) and then all improvements are lost. manually or automatically.

wrong. scraper have been updated like it should!

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
find quote
un1versal Offline
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,134
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Binary Pulsar
Post: #11
ok, can you post a link to that repo where this is happened please?

uNi
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 17,010
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 311
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #12
http://mirrors.xbmc.org/addons/eden/

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
find quote
un1versal Offline
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,134
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Binary Pulsar
Post: #13
ok thanks
find quote
Bozan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Hi,

How I have to set the <thumb>url</thumb> with its aspect and ratio to be displayed as background image?

The aspect="poster" attribute is working fine for me, but background images are not shown.
find quote