not really a support question. just me sayin...
i got ahead of myself and did a complete installation of XBMC on my PC in the living room.
I did the installation from a stick and wiped out my old OS. Didn't care really.

XBMC Loving it. My wife was like "what did you do!" She was used to Windows and having her windows media center.
It will be a slow process getting the live tv working again because im trying to educate myself on how to get it up and running.

However, now im reading that XBMC can run on top of an operating system (Windows, Ubuntu, etc).
Did i jump the gun by not having XBMC run on top of an OS? Will it be a headaches getting hardware running?

looking for opinions. not really a support question.

Again, I like it! Blush
What did you install, Openlec? Mine runs on a Win 7 OS and the only reason it stays that way is the simplicity of video drivers with my AMD APU. Tried Ubuntu, wanted something leaner, but was a headache for me since I am a complete Linux newb. I haven't played with Openlec, but it seems from the recent announcements on the homepage that it supports PVR addons. So you might be good with what you have. Here is why I like an OS to fall back on.

1. Addons can sometimes have problems, so Pandora and Amazon content can always be reached via a browser. (Hulu and Netflix as well as other add ons can have issues as well, but these are the only ones I really use)

2. I am familiar with Windows, so driver issues are less of a hassle for me.

3. Ability to load applications like unified remote, so it is easy to use my android tablet as a KB and Mouse.
with that said, the xbmc remote applications work great on android based phones and tablets. Assume these would work for openlec as well.