Can't Find USB Drive Connected to Computer
Greetings and thanks in advance for any help. I am new to XBMC (11.0) and a novice Ubuntu user (12.10). I thought it would be a great idea to use an inexpensive computer as a media box. So far, not so good.

Ubuntu, runs, installs, as does XBMC. However, XBMC won't find any of my media locations. I store media on 2 large USB hard drives. Both are NTFS formatted, if that makes a difference. Ubuntu itself can locate both drives in the file explorer and I can play media off both of them.

When I am in XBMC, I going to Add Media Source and click on Browse, I get the window where you can chooses sources. The only sources I get that are on my computer is one partition of an NTFS drive inside the PC case and the Ubuntu Home folder. I can't see anything else useful aside from network locations.

I am really at a loss here as I can't find a solution from search.

Please save me from being a douche playing files using VLC using my wireless mouse Tongue I would really like to use XBMC and the lovely phone remote which works, even though I can't add media.

Once again, thanks in advance.
Looks like you have to mount them via XBMCBUNTU.. Good luck
Thanks for the reply. I am not sure/convinced how XBMCbuntu will make a difference. Is XBMCbuntu not just XBMC running in a slimmed linux shell which no accessible background OS? How would I mount those drives in XBMCbuntu rather than XBMC for Linux?

I will try XBMCbuntu. I chose the setup I have in order to run a browser and torrent client in the background as well.

Cheers
Your USB drives should be listed automatically when you select Videos > Files or Music > Files. If not, then try adding a new source and, on the Browse list, select "Root filesystem", then scroll down, locate and select "media" and your USB drives should be listed there.