• 30(current)
Live TV doesn't work on Openelec [tvheadend server]
Hi all,

Maybe this has already been solved...

I'm a bit of a noob but, for me at least, I've fixed it.

All i did was disable hardware acceleration for omxplayer in System>Settings>Video>Acceleration.

I'm using an Rpi2
Openelec
Kodi Helix

ps This is the first post I've ever made anywhere :-)
(2015-11-20, 14:42)PiBalding Wrote: ps This is the first post I've ever made anywhere :-)

A good first post was this, young Skywalker...
PiBalding Wrote:All i did was disable hardware acceleration for omxplayer in System>Settings>Video>Acceleration.

That's all very well until you want to play a video and then the RPI's CPU is hitting 90℅+ or even stuttering if it can't be handled without hardware acceleration.

So not really a fix I'm afraid.
I haven't had that problem. I've over clocked the Rpi2 to the Turbo setting using the openELEC config addon.
All my video and streaming plays smoothly.
(2015-11-28, 02:58)doveman2 Wrote:
PiBalding Wrote:All i did was disable hardware acceleration for omxplayer in System>Settings>Video>Acceleration.

That's all very well until you want to play a video and then the RPI's CPU is hitting 90℅+ or even stuttering if it can't be handled without hardware acceleration.

So not really a fix I'm afraid.

I haven't had that problem. I've over clocked the Rpi2 to the Turbo setting using the openELEC config addon.
All my video and streaming plays smoothly.
If you're in the UK and watching SD Live TV or in the US and watching SD or HD OTA TV you'll be watching MPEG2. If you haven't bought the additional MPEG2 licence from the Pi Store you won't be able to use hardware acceleration. The Pi and Pi 2 come with an H264 licence, but the MPEG2 licence is an optional extra. SD can be software decoded (though deinterlacing is not likely to be great) - but it's always advisable to use hardware decoding WITH the licence.