Posts: 6,255
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation:
115
da-anda
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 6,255
Can we use/show the OS keyboard instead of our custom OSD keyboard just like we do on iOS IIRC?
Posts: 5,184
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation:
131
AFAIK it depends on how it has to be done. I don't have any iOS device so not a clue how it's done there but IIRC Memphiz design the underlying API to not be iOS specific.
I looked into this once and opening the keyboard isn't very difficult but it doesn't seem to be easy (or maybe not even possible at all) to then intercept/catch the pressed keys/buttons unless we could somehow overlay an (android) input box, let the user type whatever he wants and then on pressing "OK" (or Enter or whatever) take that input and pass it on to the focused text/input box in xbmc. Either way it would probably require Java code and not some JNI magic.
Always read the
online manual (wiki),
FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the
forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on
troubleshooting (wiki) and
bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
Posts: 5,952
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation:
201
Koying
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 5,952
Indeed, in Qt, they force the keyboard on/off, then intercept the key and send it to native, all in the java wrapper.
Unfortunately, our use of a pure NativeActivity do not make matter easier in those instance where we have to interact with the OS.
Posts: 5,184
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation:
131
@Memphiz: Yeah but how do you actually use the native keyboard? Do you get every single key press and hand it over to XBMC or do you let the user type in a native input box and then pass on the whole text to xbmc?
Always read the
online manual (wiki),
FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the
forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on
troubleshooting (wiki) and
bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
Posts: 16,946
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation:
256
2013-01-17, 12:40
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-17, 12:40 by Memphiz.)
Both. I have a native inputbox so the user sees what he types and i get a callback on each press. On that callback i adapt the currently visible text in the nativetextbox and also fire the char_callback_t with the current string the user typed (so xbmc can adapt filters in realtime).
You also can do your 2nd approach. Let the user type the complete string and when he is ready fire the callback with the complete string. This will of course prevent any live filtering - but it would work.
AppleTV4/iPhone/iPod/iPad: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much:
click here
HowTo setup NFS for Kodi:
NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf):
Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!:
iOS FAQ (wiki)
Posts: 974
Joined: May 2006
Reputation:
10
I'd love for this to work. Right now I'm having trouble with XBMC if I try to use an external keyboard, which makes entering source paths much easier. The shift button cause the cursor to move backwards, which, in turn, prevent a lot of special characters needed for paths e.g. the colon symbol.
Posts: 5,184
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation:
131
As a reminder, this is part of the development forum so please only post in these threads if you have some related work/hints/solutions to show. We are not looking for +1's.
Always read the
online manual (wiki),
FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the
forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on
troubleshooting (wiki) and
bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.