Release - Plugin Slideshow Screensaver

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Leopold Offline
Fan
Posts: 358
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 14
Location: UK
Post: #46
Another error with the Helix Beta 1 happens when you try to set the plugin path

Code:
11:53:42 T:72888   ERROR: RunScript called for invalid add-on id 'screensaver.plugin.slideshow'. Not a script.

It's caused by PR 5563. It should work again in Beta 2 now that PR 5663 has been merged. It's deprecated though so you might want to fix it now if possible.

Leopold's Repository: Home of LibreELEC Dev Updater ...
find quote
ruuk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,217
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 199
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #47
(2014-11-13 13:46)Leopold Wrote:  By the way, do you know how to make an image plugin itself display a caption, or just the item's label?
Unfortunately I don't think that is possible for a plugin. I believe images are displayed directly by XBMC/Kodi and I don't think there is any way to tell it to show a caption, though I could be wrong Smile
The screensaver does this by creating a skin with an image filling the whole window and putting a label over the image.
(2014-11-13 15:44)Leopold Wrote:  Another error with the Helix Beta 1 happens when you try to set the plugin path

Code:
11:53:42 T:72888   ERROR: RunScript called for invalid add-on id 'screensaver.plugin.slideshow'. Not a script.

It's caused by PR 5563. It should work again in Beta 2 now that PR 5663 has been merged. It's deprecated though so you might want to fix it now if possible.
Thanks for pointing that out. I actually saw this message when I was messing with another addon and didn't know what the heck was going on.
find quote
Leopold Offline
Fan
Posts: 358
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 14
Location: UK
Post: #48
(2014-11-13 20:18)ruuk Wrote:  
(2014-11-13 13:46)Leopold Wrote:  By the way, do you know how to make an image plugin itself display a caption, or just the item's label?
Unfortunately I don't think that is possible for a plugin. I believe images are displayed directly by XBMC/Kodi and I don't think there is any way to tell it to show a caption, though I could be wrong Smile
The screensaver does this by creating a skin with an image filling the whole window and putting a label over the image.
OK thanks. I thought that was the case.

Leopold's Repository: Home of LibreELEC Dev Updater ...
find quote
Leopold Offline
Fan
Posts: 358
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 14
Location: UK
Post: #49
This addon seems to be another one broken by PR #5201. Try it in Helix Beta 3 with Break Pictures and you should get "no module named requests".

Hopefully there's a way to work around this but it could be a tricky one.

Leopold's Repository: Home of LibreELEC Dev Updater ...
find quote
ruuk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,217
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 199
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Information  v0.0.14
Post: #50
Version 0.0.14

Changes:
  • Fix for modules not being added to import path on Helix causing import errors

On my REPO.
find quote
ruuk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,217
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 199
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #51
(2014-11-17 14:59)Leopold Wrote:  This addon seems to be another one broken by PR #5201. Try it in Helix Beta 3 with Break Pictures and you should get "no module named requests".

Hopefully there's a way to work around this but it could be a tricky one.
The new version should fix this. This one was a little tricky, but I managed to pull it off Smile
find quote
Leopold Offline
Fan
Posts: 358
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 14
Location: UK
Post: #52
(2014-11-19 02:04)ruuk Wrote:  
(2014-11-17 14:59)Leopold Wrote:  This addon seems to be another one broken by PR #5201. Try it in Helix Beta 3 with Break Pictures and you should get "no module named requests".

Hopefully there's a way to work around this but it could be a tricky one.
The new version should fix this. This one was a little tricky, but I managed to pull it off Smile
Working perfectly in Beta 3. Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

Leopold's Repository: Home of LibreELEC Dev Updater ...
find quote
cgmille2 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #53
I am trying to use this with your picasa plugin and it doesn't seem to be displaying images recursively. It will display if I pick a specific album but not if I set the path to "albums" in general.
Also, trying to select the source path in Helix from a new installation doesn't pop up a selection window. The only way I can get it to work is to copy settings over from Gotham.
Any advice?
Thanks
find quote
ruuk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,217
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 199
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Information  v0.0.15
Post: #54
Version 0.0.15

Changes:
  • Fix for source path not being selectable on Helix

On my REPO.
find quote
ruuk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,217
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 199
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #55
(2014-12-12 05:26)cgmille2 Wrote:  I am trying to use this with your picasa plugin and it doesn't seem to be displaying images recursively. It will display if I pick a specific album but not if I set the path to "albums" in general.

That's because it currently doesn't do that. It just displays the images in the selected folder. Adding recursive display is something I may add in the future.

(2014-12-12 05:26)cgmille2 Wrote:  Also, trying to select the source path in Helix from a new installation doesn't pop up a selection window. The only way I can get it to work is to copy settings over from Gotham.

The new version should fix this.
find quote
Jasper2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #56
This screensaver was working great for me up until about 1 week ago (on a gbox midnight mx2) in combination with the flickr plugin. Symptoms: now instead of pictures I just get the "loading images" text indefinitely, and when I check the screensaver settings, I can't access them (greyed out). The flickr plugin still works well on the same system. Updated to the latest version above, but it did not help.
find quote
ruuk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,217
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 199
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Information  v0.0.16
Post: #57
Version 0.0.16

Changes:
  • Fix for settings being grayed out
  • Fix for broken 'Source Path' selection in settings

On my REPO.
find quote
ruuk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,217
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 199
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #58
(2014-12-16 08:16)Jasper2000 Wrote:  This screensaver was working great for me up until about 1 week ago (on a gbox midnight mx2) in combination with the flickr plugin. Symptoms: now instead of pictures I just get the "loading images" text indefinitely, and when I check the screensaver settings, I can't access them (greyed out). The flickr plugin still works well on the same system. Updated to the latest version above, but it did not help.

I fixed the settings issue, but I can't duplicate the flickr issue. Try the new version and if you still have an issue I will need an error log.
find quote
Jasper2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #59
Working again...thanks very much!
find quote
Leopold Offline
Fan
Posts: 358
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 14
Location: UK
Post: #60
Could you increase the maximum value for the the time to show each image? I'd like to set something like 20 seconds.

Leopold's Repository: Home of LibreELEC Dev Updater ...
find quote
Post Reply