investigating interlacing issue
Running openelec XBMC frodo. Just converted some Dora DVD's using makemkv to get rid of the menu's. Even though deinterlace video and deinterlace method are set to auto I'm still getting interlacing (lines). If I manually enable interlacing picture is better so somehow these files don't seem to trigger deinterlacing and now I'm curious why as I don't want to manually switch it on and off all the time.

I'm a noob when it comes to deinterlacing so not sure if makemkv is doing something wrong causing xbmc to think deinterlacing is not needed or xbmc is somehow not triggering deinterlacing.

Not sure what to look for, are there certain file properties I can check to see if the file presents it needs deinterlacing?

full debug is here:
http://pastebin.com/iUGcpR2i
When you play the DVD does deinterlacing kick in when set to auto?
What setting did you have for the deint settings when you created the provided log? Can you provide a log with auto settings?
Good morning. Sorry for the late reply, my asrock wouldnt take the DVD so had to rip to ISO to play. I just played the ISO and it plays fine - when deint i set to auto it kicks in (at least Image looks fine). So the DVD deinterlaces fine but the same file converted to makemkv doesnt ( I think it doesnt trigger deinterlace). If I'm correct makemkv doesnt change the video itself, it just switches it to another container so maybe that mkv file somehow misleads xbmc into not triggering deinterlace when set to auto.

Just to confirm, with deinterlace set to to manual it looks far better.

The log above was made using deinterlace set to auto/auto. So Deinterlace on/off set to auto and method also to auto. Just to be 100% sure I'll make another later today and post here.
22:36:01 T:2576005952 ERROR: CMixer::InitCycle - interlace method not supported
22:36:02 T:2976721728 ERROR: Previous line repeats 11 times.

the log is full of this. What I don't see is, which method it tries to use.