HELP: Cannot Import Media??
Hi guys,

I am very new to OpenElec/XBMC and I am trying to import my movies from an external hard drive to the internal XBMC hard drive.

I must be doing something wrong.

I go to Videos and I can see my external hard drive there, I can even play movies straight from the hard drive. However, I don't want to have my external hooked up permanently, I purposely put a 1TB drive in my HTPC to host these files!

I figure i need to do to Add Videos at the bottom of the list in Videos, when i do that, my external doesn't show up anymore. I don't get it...

Sad

please help
Assuming you have your new *internal* drive defined as an XBMC source, open the File Manager and select your external drive in panel A and your internal drive in panel B. Copy the files from panel A to panel B.

Or SSH into your OpenELEC system from another PC and issue commands to mount the drives, if necessary, and copy the files from the external drive to the internal.

Or use a flash drive to boot your HTPC with any live Linux distro that offers a full desktop environment (e.g., Ubuntu or variation) and use the OS's full-function file manager to mount the drives, if necessary, and then drag-and-drop the files from the external to the internal drive.

Or move the two drives to another PC where you have a full-function OS installed and use its full-function file manager to copy the files from one drive to the other. For the 1TB drive, you can either install it internally on the other PC or use an external enclosure if you have one.
Thanks Art. For method #1, do i copy them to a specific folder in panel B ?
I'm assuming you want your new 1TB drive to replace your external drive, so use the same folder/file organization.
Something isn't working Art. Sorry.
I have my files organized on Side A
On Side B, I have 4 options
1) External Drive
2) Usb Drive
3) Profile Directory
4) Add Source

When i try to copy things into Profile Directory, I get an error.