Trying to Setup a Linux home server
hey i have spare old computer sitting in my garage and i was thinking of installing and testing a linux distro as i am planning to redo my home server network soon

i am currently running Windows Home Server 2011 and i have not complaints it does everything i want it to and is reliable but i have always been curious about builds were people use linux for their home server so thought i might mess around with an old PC and see if i can get it working

I have no experience with linux over the years i have installed Distro's like ubuntu or linux mint on my systems (mostly through Virtualbox) but got frustrated pretty quick at how much more complicated it was to install any programs so went back to windows

can anyone recommend a good distro to try for a home server i am not sure if possible but seeing as all my drives are in ntfs format a distro that can be setup or can straight out of the box detect those would be best as i want to be able to have dual compatibilty between windows and linux
I use UnRAID :) check it out
I like mythbuntu. Its a lightweight distro that makes it suitable for being used as a server. I don't remember if it supports NTFS out of the box but even if it doesn't its a simple apt-get away.
http://www.freenas.org/

• Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH ~ Crucial DDR3L SO-DIMM 4GB ~ SanDisk ReadyCache 32GB SSD ~ Microsoft MCE model 1039 RC6 remote
(2013-04-03, 10:49)xbs08 Wrote: http://www.freenas.org/

can you use freenas with JBOD and without having to format them to something other than NTFS as i have terabytes of stuff on these drives and don't want to have to copy off onto another drive then copy back on again after format plus if needed want to be able to put into my windows 7 machine
If you want to use NTFS then I think it's better to keep WHS.

• Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH ~ Crucial DDR3L SO-DIMM 4GB ~ SanDisk ReadyCache 32GB SSD ~ Microsoft MCE model 1039 RC6 remote
For me, I use Linux Mint and FlexRAID