Linux Switched from Windows to XMBCbuntu, lost HDMI video
Hi all,

I think I need more general Linux help than XBMC help, but you be the judge. Basically, all I want to do is switch my video output from VGA to HDMI (with sound).

I've been using XBMC on windows for a few years now, and I finally thought I'd try XBMCbuntu out instead. Running live on CD looked great - much smoother than on Windows - so I went ahead with the install. After installation completed and the computer rebooted, I lost video signal. My TV says "no signal detected" and I don't even get the BIOS splash screen anymore (Zotac splash screen).

After power cycling the computer and trying everything else I could think of, I found a VGA cable and hooked it up to the computer/TV instead. Looks like XBMCbuntu decided to switch me to VGA for some reason. I find it weird that even my motherboard/BIOS suddenly decided to output to VGA instead of HDMI. I went through the whole install process on HDMI, and video/sound were working perfectly on the Live CD.

I don't want to run VGA + audio cables - I want to go back to HDMI. What do I do? I can't find any way to switch to HDMI output. If it was a laptop I would try Fn+F7, but it's a PC (ZOTAC IONITX-D-E) so I don't know what to do.

The Nvidia control panel thing doesn't seem to detect my TV via HDMI - only by VGA. Beyond that, I'm lost.

1. It doesn't seem like an XBMC log file is relevant here, but I can get it if needed. (Will have to go get the VGA cable from my sister, lol).
2. No screenshots needed IMO. With VGA, everything looks perfect. With HDMI, I get nothing.
3. Version? I downloaded XBMCbuntu 12.00 from the main page last night (http://mirrors.xbmc.org/releases/XBMCbun...NVIDIA.iso), and did apt get upgrade/update via remote ssh which I believe put me on 12.10.
4. XBMCbuntu?
5. Architecture: i686 - Intel Atom N330 + Nvidia ION (GeForce 9400M?)
6. Install Method: CD
7. GIT Revision - (edit - it's XBMC 12.1 Git: 0d373cc Compiled: Mar 17 2013)