Updating my build - stick with Linux or switch to Windows?
I've been running XBMC on Linux successfully for the last 2 years. First XBMCLive and then with the full Linux install. Was running off a USB stick and playing mostly local content (on a NAS) - DVD isos and MKV files.

My motherboard went bad so I took the opportunity to upgrade my hardware. Bought an i3 3225 with 8GB RAM. Now I'm trying to decide if I want to switch over to Windows or stick with the Linux version. If I go with Windows I'll probably stick in a 64GB SSD.

Are there any inherent advantages to going with Windows vs Linux? Given this CPU does one OS work better than the other?

A few things that irked me with my Linux build was that there was no support for Netflix, Amazon On Demand, couldn't put in a blu-ray player, etc. I think most of these are solved if I go with Windows, but I understand there is still no direct integration for these in XBMC yet.

I like having XBMC function as an appliance rather than a computer. Is it easy to achieve this feel with the Windows version? Essentially I would like to never see any signs of Windows. I know I can disable updates, but what about coming out of sleep mode, etc? I don't want to be constantly dealing with fixing focus issues and that sort of thing.

Thanks in advance for any insights.

H
AFAIK, there is a few ways to make the windows one more "appliance like', one of them is changing the default shell. I use XBMC on windows, no problems coming out of sleep, I have however sen if i let the machine sleep, whilst playing a video, it causes some problems waking up (Not Responding), but it might just be related to me.

My thing is just, Linux, once again, AFAIK, is faster and more stable, and the biggest reason why most people go the Windows route, is for the dear of the unknown, seeing as you are already used to the linux build, I would suggest, staying with it?