Win "Error: Unable to create GUI. Exiting"
Hi All

Please help steer a newbie down the right path. I am brand new to XBMC (...excited to get it running), and cannot get the program to start successfully. A search of the Windows Support forum does not yield answers to the issue (although there are hits on the text of the error message).

Launching the program results in this error message:

Reading the log (link below) shows debug logging is off... How can I enable this, if I cannot get to the GUI in the first place ? Is there a preference file I can edit manually ?

XBMC: Frodo v12.2
Windows XP-Pro/SP3+ all security updates (32-bit)
mobo: Intel DP55WG
CPU: Intel i7 860 @ 2.80 GHz
RAM: 4 GB Micron (DDR3 1333)
video: Asus EN9600GT Silent-HTDI-512M, dual DVI out (driver: NVIDIA v301.42 [2012-06-04])
monitor: 2 x Dell 1905FP (19-inch, 4:3) connected via DVI
audio: ESI Juli@ PCI, M-Audio Delta 1010 PCI, onboard Intel audio
- no TVtuner card -

xbmc.log: http://pastebin.com/mL0gMZ3Y
crashlog: https://www.dropbox.com/s/zubsp8yugm34oo...dmp?v=0rc-
stacktrace: https://www.dropbox.com/s/l1bh99e4srozmn...235241.txt

Thank you in advance for any and all suggestions.
Cheers,
Grant
::  LibreELEC 9.2.6 RELEASE - Generic x86_64  ::  Intel 847 NUC  ::  KVR1333D3S9/4G  ::  Kingston SMS200S3/30G mSATA  ::  MS 1044 MCE keyboard  ::  GP-IR02BK remote  ::  Xonfluence  ::  10.9TiB on FreeNAS v11.3-U5 (RAID-Z2)  ::
Update the gpu driver and try.

Read http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Log_file/Advanced to know how to enable debug log.
Hi baijuxavior

Thanks for your quick reply. I followed the link you supplied (thanks for that), and created the entry to enable debug logging.

I also updated my nVidia drivers to the current stable release from GeForce.com (ie: v320.18_WinXP WHQL [2013-05-23]).

All this done to say: I receive the same error when XBMC is launched.

xbmc.log: http://pastebin.com/au5zb5Cw
crashlog: http://db.tt/FJBKKQbh
stacktrace: http://db.tt/KTHhqj2z